We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secrets Maroma - A Relaxation Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greensboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secrets Maroma - A Relaxation Haven”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I enjoyed everything about my stay at Secrets Maroma and only wish it had been longer. The staff is extremely accommodating and do everything possible to make your stay as
enjoyable and carefree as possible. The beach, restaurants, and facilites are all first class and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for an incredible resort in the Mayan Riviera.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,460
    1,592
    443
    140
    64
See reviews for
592
9,246
88
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I normally do not write reviews but felt compelled to write a little about Secrets. I had been planning my wedding/honeymoon for over a year when I came across this resort. I am so glad we chose this place, it was more then we could have ever imagined. The food, beach, pool, room, staff were all amazing! We were in heaven! Pretty much I can say is that all of the positive reviews on here are 100% accurate and all the negative reviews are from people who will never be satisfied in life. However, the thing that stood out the most was the staff here; they truly go out of your way to make you happy…something you do not experience often in the states. We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Before we went to this hotel, I read the reviews on trip advisor and now am wondering how can anyone have a bad thing to say about this place, they must be used to the absolute best money can buy!! This hotel however:- amazing room, amazing staff, amazing food, amazing beach, everything was great. The entertainment staff were really good, you can be as active or relaxed as you want with no pressure, just a good time feeling all day every day. There is 8 resteraunts, all great all different, and the food at the pool or on the beach during the day was excellent too. I used the gym and that was perfectly adequate, and the spa although we never used it looked great. We would definitely return here. The staff could not do enough for us. One thing though it is really hot in June and gets hotter apparently, (we had to buy factor 75!! I didnt even know that existed!!) but a great great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wild_thing1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona Del mar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My new husband and I went June 21-28th for our honeymoon. After extensive research I picked this hotel from all the reviews. The hotel is really nice. The service was above and beyond amazing considering gratuity is included, the staff literally waits on you hand and foot to make sure you are happy and get you anything you ask for and want. If you go to the pool ask for Alejandro.. he was our man the whole trip. He is the best pool waiter you could ask for and we tipped him everyday because honestly he deserved it. Tipping a few dollars here and there really goes along way with the staff although they would still treat you amazing, this just makes them so happy and they really go above and beyond to treat you like royalty. DEFINITELY take mosquito repellant and bug spray. We got bitten all over that was the only downfall ! The mosquitos are tiny so you cant see them and they bite you all over.. whether your in your room or in the lobby bar you will get bit ! The spa was AMAZING !! Its a must !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Make sure to take sunscreen and anything you need because its super expensive to buy in the gift shop. 90 Percent of the hotel guests were honeymooners like we were so that was cool. The secret box for room service was the best invention ever ! I would absolutely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talabala13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My husband & I wanted to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary and indulging in some much needed R & R. Our travel agent actually recommended Secrets Maroma and I was skeptical at first. We were sooo BEYOND, pleasantly surprised! It was a short, direct flight from Charlotte, NC. The transfers went smoothly and were included in our package. The main lobby is really breathtaking and they welcomed us with cool towels and a flute of champagne! The beaches were gorgeous and the rooms were identical to the website photos. The staff were all so wonderful; I don't think the word "no" is in their vocabulary. We traveled during easter/spring break week but never had to listen to crying children (why we left ours with grandma) OR loud, wild spring-breakers. This was NOT a 'cookie cutter' resort. There is a full schedule of events made available but we skipped most of them in favor of laying on the beach or by the pool. Really, its the best of both worlds...you can be as active or relaxed as you'd like. The food was VERY good. I've eaten in NYC and all over Europe and Secrets was on par with my experiences there. None of the restaurants are 'formal.' Most are considered casual. The breakfast buffet at the world cafe is like nothing I've ever seen. We'd eat brunch around 9 or 10, have a cocktail and shrimp cocktail by the pool around 2 or 3 and dinner at 8ish. I think we made reservations twice the whole time we were there. Our package included a $200 spa credit so we had a couples' massage and it was sublime. We toasted our travel agent more than once and agreed the trip was better than our honeymoon. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cal0899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I would've been in heaven...and I nearly was. I was there for a small wedding...everything was gorgeous....the rehearsal, wedding and reception...the room...the beach...the turquoise ocean...the service...the SPA (amazing). It was blissful. I guess my only complaint is one that the resort couldn't possibly help...it was extremely romantic...couples everywhere. They were getting married...or on their honeymoon. For a single woman...it would be kind of disheartening to stay there alone! Still though...I might just have a romance with the ocean itself....this is the most beautiful beach I've ever seen. Sigh...love at first sight.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lumibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is a fantastic resort. All the reviews you read about the outstanding service are true. Food is good, not outstanding, but good. And yes, the ice cream is some of the best you'll have (vanilla particularly!) Rooms are more than big enough with loveseat on the balcony. A highlight of the resort is the food selection and service at lunch time by the pool. You never have to leave your lounge if you don't want to: food carts being pushed around by the staff include sushi, beef and shrimp skewers, onion rings, pork tacos and ice cream. Fantastic. But the best thing, though, by far, is this resort's beach. My husband and I have been to many places, i.e., Paradise Island, Punta Cana, several other resorts in Mexico, and this beach blew them away. Not even so much as a broken seashell when you walk, and with water so clear you won't believe it until you actually see it. Take a walk down the beach about 2 miles and you can check out the Iberostar Grand, another highly-ranked resort on Maroma Beach. Maroma Hotel is directly next door, and it is stunning to see.
Lots to do during the day if you wanted to - activities scheduled every hour. Yoga every morning poolside. Beach bungee trampoline is not to be missed (if you're a chick!) The spa is beautiful. Go an hour before your scheduled appointment to use all the water facilities. Our complaints with this resort: (1) the gym was extremely small and not very well-equipped; (2) when requesting a certain type of liquor, a couple times the bartenders tried to pass off a lower-shelf version instead of what we asked for.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirlsun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,770 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,679 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,290 reviews
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing