We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We visited Secrets back in July for our honeymoon.
It was perfect. If you are looking to relax and be indulged, Secrets is THE place to go.
The beach is stunning- lots going on too.The pools are amazing- we prefered the one closest to the beach as it tended to be quieter.
The food and restaurants were fantastic- although after 14 days we were well and truly stodged!! we eat far too much- we piled 10lb on each!! Room service was also great- there was far too much to eat!!!
The drinks were just as fantastic anything youn wnated- and more-oops!!
The staff at Secrets made it so special, they were always smiling and you felt well and truly looked after.
Entertainment was also good- altho the shows did repeat each week, so after 2 weeks we had seen things twice....
Our room a jnr suite was beautiful, we were glad we didnt upgrade as the swim out suites never seemed to be used much and we think attracted mosquitos. We were careful and used repellent and only got 1 or 2 tiny bites.
The spa was also lovely, we had a couples massage- hihgly recomended.We also had the dinner on the beach- taken just before sunset, the food wasnt as good as the restaurants but the experiance was so romantic.
We took a trip to Chitchen Itza, booked at the desk in reception. Fabtastic experience and great to see beyond the resort. However, driving to every all inclusive in mexico to pick up other tourists- not so great!!! it was a long day!!!!
The guests at Secrets were mainly honeymooners, or couples,all really friendly and wanting to relax, we made soem great friends.. However,during our 2 week stay there were a few days when the resort seemed to be invaded by noisey, loud groups, intent on getting drunk and being obnoxious,the atmosphere totally changed.
Overall, a great place, would go back tin an instant- although probably not for 2 weeks!!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank WifeOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,557 - 9,563 of 12,490 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

We spent alot of time researching where to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We never had a honeymoon & decided we needed our anniversary to be somewhere special. We loved staying there, everyone was very friendly. Service was excellent. Our room was very clean upon arrival & extra touches throughout our stay to surprise us from Conception made us smile. The waitresses & waiters all over the resort were excellent & always a smile, many times they would return with a replacement drink just as we were finishing what we had. Loved the bar on the beach with the swings. The mariachi band was alot of fun each night, most nights we would just follow wherever they were playing & eat there. We had a swim out room, and enjoyed using it, most of time we had it all to ourselves, a few times only another couple was in it. The sand is soft & cool under your feet no matter how hot it was out. The angel fish will swim with you if you remember to bring a bit of bread into the ocean, I enjoyed seeing them everyday. Highly recommend this place, everything was perfect couldn't ask for more. When we got a light sprinkle of rain the staff was apologizing, we were not upset by a little rain, shortly after the sun was out & you could enjoy the pools & beach again.

This was our first trip out of the US & we were nervous, alot of talk about not being able to drink the water & to be careful, yes you can drink the water at the hotel, they filter it very good, we did not get sick at all, and were there for 9 days. As far as being careful, you have to be careful no matter where you go, we did not have any problems at all, and would love to go back again.

At the airport they will try to talk you into seeing another hotel, they will offer you tickets to some type of attraction if you give them some of your time, we didn't want to give up any of our time, so just be aware that you could be asked by the people at the airport. But pretty much anywhere you go these days they try to get you to check out places wherever you stay.

We loved being on the beach, our favorite place, from the great service, the swings at the bar, the great lunch on the beach, we almost never had to go to our room.

The grounds were very pretty, manicured, lovely flowers & plants, everywhere was so lush & tropical.

We would love to go back maybe for our next big anniversary. They deserve 5 stars, I know it's better to critique, but I honestly have no complaints about this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chicapop34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

check in and out went smoothly. first room assigned was not to correct so new one was given. construction outside room for entire stay for new walkway cover was disturbing. could not sleep in due to noise. other rooms closer to the beach were not available.

most of food service was good, this main is area that still needs work.

fantastic service and response to requests. facilities were very great and beach was outstanding

spa service was spotty and availability was not easy. late week arrivals ger left out

a lot of weddings and enjoyed observing from afar

special shows and programs were fun and entertaining

entire group had a very nice time and would return again

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texdocbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We just returned there from our honeymoon and I cannot say a bad thing about this resort. The grounds are beautiful, the pools are nice, and the beach is AMAZING! Our room was an ocean view jr. suite with a wonderful view and a huge jacuzzi on the balcony...it was gorgeous. We are already thinking about going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nallen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed from Oct 14-19 and it was great! The staff was so nice and never expected a tip. Though we did tip often, they were very gracious when we did. The beach, grounds, and room were very clean and well kept. The only thing we would not do again would be to stay in out swimout preferred club. The swimout water was ice cold because the sun never hit it. Also there is only one lounge chair and its not like you can get another one because there is not room for one. I have stayed in many other resorts and upgraded to the preferred club and had ALOT more benefits than what Secrets has. We will be returning to the resort next year and getting a higher up room with a view and not upgrading to the prefered club.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Never been to Mexico before. Never been a Secrets resort. Never been to an all inclusive. We'll be back to all three. We took the USAIRWAYS vacations recommendation to try this resort for a little R&R and it met and exceeeded our expectations in every way. The facility is very nice. Great rooms, pools, restaurants. The beach is incredible as is the spa. But what set this resort apart was the quality of the staff. Everywhere you went you were asked, with a smile, if you needed anything. Their response was consistently -- "my pleasure." The activities and evening programs kept you busy, if you wanted, or you could just lounge and be pampered. A great vacation for this 40 something couple who wanted to relax and be pampered. Mission accomplished.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

The food was great. The service was great. The accommodations were awesome. The beach was incredible. The entire atmosphere was great. My wife and I were there to celebrate our 15 year Wedding Anniversary and everything was PERFECT! There are some folks I would like to name who went above and beyond to make our vacation great: Yessica, Jorge, Valeria, Gabriella.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kidd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,208 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,992 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,530 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: £304 - £665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing