We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit- so many changes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was my 2nd visit with my husband. We came the first time on our honeymoon in May 2009. I'm not sure if this was done on purposes but they put us in the exact same room as our honeymoon stay so that made me quite happy! We stayed in 601- swim up. We actually didn't use the swim up so next time we visit we will probably just do without and save a little money. It's the most beautiful beach I've ever seen. This is a quiet resort so if your looking to party- this is not the resort for you. We LOVE all of the staff! Our favorite friend was Vital. He works so hard to please and is such a sweetheart! We can't wait to go back and visit him. The service was amazing. Anything you want- they will work hard to make it happen. The food is really great and the drinks are good. I'm not a huge drinker so I was fine w the quality. This is a resort for ULTIMATE relaxation. If you want to just unwind and relax, this is your spot. We did several massages and also did the dinner on the beach our last night. It was beautiful!
It bothered me to see people not tipping- these people work so hard to make you feel comfortable and wait on you hand and foot so we tipped every meal and were so happy that we left a large tip on our card at check out for several waiters and staff that helped us. The grounds are beautiful and we did activities at the maroma marina and that is right next to the resort- we had a BLAST! I highly recommend this place for a chill vacation. Do at least one activity with maroma marina like snorkeling, parasailing or jet ski's. It's SO worth it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brooklyn3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,812)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,046 - 3,052 of 3,817 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

The food was average. The wifi is $75 for 6 days. Nice clean pool. Beautiful beach. Over price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for six days in the middle of September for our anniversary. We booked through Mike McHugh at Dream Makers Vacation Services. This is the second time we’ve used Mike and would use his company again. After letting him know what type of resort we were looking for, he suggested El Dorado Maroma. It was exactly what we wanted: on the smaller side, quiet and relaxing.

We stayed in a 4th floor honeymoon suite. The view was very nice. We had a good view of the ocean but because we asked for a room away from the pool area, our view also included the top of the Sabores restaurant. Like others have mentioned, there is no elevator and it’s 54 steps to the 4th floor. We knew this ahead of time and it wasn’t a big deal for us. The room was very clean and spacious. We didn’t use the patio as much as we originally thought we would, partially because the weather was perfect, and we stayed at the beach more. If it had rained, the patio would have been useful (but I gladly took the sun!)

The food was good. Breakfast and lunch were better than dinner. Special requests were accommodated and if you weren’t sure about something, the staff did their best to answer questions. We went to the Mexican and Italian theme dinners (reservations needed) where, in addition to the international cuisine, they had a Mariachi band and soprano singer respectively.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did tip because the service was excellent and they worked so hard. The grounds were lush and well maintained. All public facilities were very clean.

The beach would be our only minor disappointment. Positives: the water was calm and warm. Negatives: the water while clear, wasn’t crystal blue --except in front of the barriers -- maybe weather played a factor? Also, I had read that you could walk north on the beach before reaching the next hotel. While this is true, once you get past the marina, you are not walking on perfect beach or surf. The beach is covered with vegetation and litter and you couldn’t always walk in the water. So if you’re looking for a long, clean white sand beach to walk on, you may be disappointed depending on your expectations. Nevertheless, we were able to relax with a drink and a book under an umbrella or beach bed.

We didn’t do any off-site activities, but there are plenty of opportunities. Luis at Lomas was very friendly and willing to help. Paola, our personal concierge, went over things with us after we checked-in as well as the next day. She made reservations for the theme dinners and asked if there was anything else we were interested in. She also invited us to attend the “vacation club” meeting. We told her we would think about it and would let her know the next day. She wasn’t working the next day, but the other concierge found us on the beach and asked us if we were going to go to the meeting -- we politely declined. She did drop it, but I felt a different attitude from them going forward. We both agree that there has to be a better way for a resort like this to pitch its preferred club programs.

While we usually don’t vacation at the same place twice, we would go back to this hotel for a quiet, relaxing vacation. This hotel is best for couples that aren’t interested in the party atmosphere/nightlife, but want a small resort, relaxation and excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jrkb0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is our third visit in one year. While we miss former hands-on GM Alfredo Santamaria, the staff continues to be the best asset of the place. This time, kudos to Maitre D' Cindy who bent over backwards to accommodate a desert request during dinner. Although Chef Arias is no longer there, we believe Chef Marcelino and his excellent customer relations is a wonderful addition. We hope that he will continue to develop the culinary features of the restaurants. Indeed while there has been a slight turnover in personnel, wait-staff like Gaby, Fernando, Ruben, bellperson Enrique, room housekeeping Elena and Lomas Travel rep Luis continue to be the mainstay in providing the outstanding service that sets this hotel apart from the rest.

As for the accommodations and facilities, we have noticed a few changes here and there (more equipment to the fitness room has been added, the gift shop has been moved), while they have added 2-bedroom units on one end of the property and are finishing presidential suites on the other. Although we have seen that other room types are quite nice as well, we have continued to stay in the infinity pool suites. It is true that the infinity pool can get dirty from debris, but as usual, once we informed the frontdesk, they cleaned it that same morning. After being given a tour, the presidential suites seem to be worth checking out in the future. Nevertheless, with the current expansion, our primary concern remains the quality of the guests. We hope that EDM continues its policy of maintaining a quiet, exclusive atmosphere without noisy kids or rowdy drunk vacationers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank effenzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at el dorado maroma over labor day weekend and it was spectacular. We arrived after some unpleasant travel to an upgraded room. We had booked an infinity pool suite and were given a swim-up suite when we checked in. By the way, room 301 was awesome if you have a choice. The hotel staff is wonderful. They take care of your every need. We would start our day out on the beach, but the afternoon was too hot to stay out there so we would come back to what seemed like our private pool. The beach waiter, sorry I can't remember his name, would continue to bring us drinks to the pool even though we could just walk on down to the other end of the pool and get our own. Also, Carlos at the swim-up bar is terrific. Always on top of fresh drinks without even having to ask. The rooms themselves are amazing. Bed is comfortable. Mini-bar is not cold, but that seems to be a common theme down there. The resort truly is beachfront, it was maybe 20 steps from our room to the white sand beach. The beach is nice, but hard packed and not all that comfortable for walking around on. Food was just OK. We enjoyed the Asian restaurant those most, but the Italian was good too. Breakfast, lunch, and room service were nothing to write home about. Standard fare for the all-inclusives I've been to. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend it. We have stayed at Secrets Maroma Beach, and I would return here first if I had my way. P.S. Yes they do give the effort to get you to become a member, but if its not for you and you tell them that they leave you alone about it. Also, Luis from Lomas is awesome if you are going to do any excursions.

Room Tip: Loved the swim-up, but only in the summertime I think. We are normally beach people too, so this ro...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoshG909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Let me just start off by saying that we both work in the travel industry and travel 6-8 times a year and have been all over the USA, South, Europe and South America. We also like to cruise and have yet to find a resort that tops or can measure up to a cruise... well we found it with El Dorado Maroma.

We stayed for a week Sept 12- Sept 19 in a beautiful swim out suite. From the minute you arrive at the resort you are greeted with cool towels and escorted to your suite. The service is extremely personalized.

The resort only has 72 suites and during our stay that staff I'm sure out number the guests. We liked the intimate atmosphere yet after a few nights we were ready for some action. The resort has entertainment every night of the week yet so that gives you an option. We preferred to venture to nearby Playa Del Carmen after dinner for some shopping and some nightlife. It's a $25 flat rate cab ride- door to door its about a 20 minute ride and you are dropped off right by Coco Bongo in the heart on Playa. We were iffy about safety but found the cab drivers to be very friendly and felt very safe at all times. The streets of Playa were quite busy on Friday and Saturday night (lots of tourists) and we would stay out quite late at the nightclubs.

The beach is beautiful we walked for a good 25 minutes and there were no other resorts unlike many other areas of the Mayan. There is waiter service on the beach and ample amounts of umbrellas, chairs and beach beds to use. They also come around with appetizers during the lunch hours which were always good. I must mention the outstanding service of Luis and Linda. They were wonderful- always checking up if we needed anything. Thank you again! Make sure to take the time to do the massage on the beach at sunrise... it was great and fairly inexpensive compared to the spas in any major city.

You can wade in the water for quite a distance and it only hits your knees. The water is crystal clear and really nice to swim in. There are a few areas of seaweed but one can expect that in the ocean. We saw lots of exotic fish as well if you like to snorkel we heard there is a good coral reef.

There are two pools... a smaller pool with a swim up bar and a larger pool. We spent all our time in the larger pool that was connected with our swim up suite. The grounds of the resort are lush and the pool was always clean. We especially recommend the wonderful bartenders Rene and Carlos. They were so nice!

The food at this resort is THE BEST I have had at an all inclusive resort. If you've ever cruised before then I can tell you it's similar to quality of the cruiselines. There are no buffets at the resort (except for a themed lunch buffet near the beach that changes every day). There is an extensive 24 hour room service menu which we always take advantage of for breakfast. The place on the beach (I forget the name) always had different themes (taco day, ribs day etc). There are no reservations required for any of the dinner places and there are 3 in addition to the "theme" nights which believe it or not we didn't attend but heard from other guests that it was quite good. We loved the italian and japanese dinners... good menu and the portions are perfect sizes. It was great!

Finally, I would recommend spending the extra and splurging for something above the standard Mi Hotelito suite. Our suite was over 700 square feet and had a beautiful sitting area and a very comfortable king size bed (similar if not better to the Westin Heavenly Beds). The bathroom had double sinks, large jacuzzi tub and a seperate shower that led to an outside show (soo amazing!). Our patio had two lounge chairs, a small table and a full size bed. We also had our own pool loungers as our patio led directly into the pool. We really loved it. They also had a dvd player with movies available should you choose to "stay in" one night like we did.

I highly recommend this resort... you will not be disappointed! We are already talking about returining sometimes this year. We also noticed that a lot of the guests here had stayed at other resorts in the Karisma chain- we also heard good things about the El Dorado Royale and the Sensatori Azul. I would not listen to the negative reviews as I guess you can't please everybody. If you're looking for a romance, relaxation in a boutique hotel atmosphere- then this is for you!

Room Tip: Swim Out Suite or Infinity suite is the way to go. Honeymoon suites look nice with great oceanviews...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MissLianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We just had our destination wedding Sept. 3 at the El Dorado Maroma Resort. We brought 44 guests from all over the country to this quaint and intimate paradise! We loved it! We have been to 5 all-inclusive resorts, and this one was by far the best.....best food, best staff, best rooms, best drinks, best kept grounds...everything! The personalization of all of the wedding details exceeded expectations. If you are looking for a more club-like feel, this resort is not for you. But if you want luxury, relaxation, and intimacy (whether that be you and your significant other or close friends) this is your place! Can't wait to go back!
Oh, and the pics online do NOT do this place justice!!

Room Tip: Swim up suite was great...but for less money the infinite pool suites are probably nicer. Even the m...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,094 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,082 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,920 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: £310 - £727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing