We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How To Make The Best Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“How To Make The Best Better”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We just got back from paradise. Stayed here last year and loved it.We noticed that the staff was happer this time.After two days found out new they had a new general manager Jose Portocarrero great guy made shure everybody was having agreat time and was always on top of things.They need to get them cotton shirts and get rid of polyester.Also the sales Manager has changed in the Exotic Travelers Nick to John greatest move ever! This membership is the best envestment we have ever made saves thousands on travel everware we go.The food is great.Carmina, Adela, Noe, Dinina, Natalee aka Legs,Ceasar and all the bartenders, waiters are seven star and beond.We cannot thank you enough! Luis the Lomas travel guy made sure we had many actitives great fun. We will be back next year.
Thanks Tim and Becky

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank one2doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,964
    523
    160
    57
    39
See reviews for
282
2,937
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

El Dorado Maroma is one of my favorite resorts in Mexico. I've stayed there five times. The beach, staff, food, and rooms are great! Recently my daughter had her wedding in their chappel. Followed by dinner and dancing on the beach. Everything turned out great! I want to thank Jose the manager and his assit Flur, they were gracious and very efficientl!! Some of the outstanding staff: Jonas, Gabbie, Angel and Isral. All of these people went above and
beyond to make my daughters wedding week as close to perfect as possible!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavely
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Maroma. WOW. We had room 301 a swim up suite on the ground floor. Room was awesome, one of the nicest we have had in our travels.The staff did a great job or making you feel welcome.This is a small resort, and after a few days everyone gets to know you. It was not unusual for them to call you by name. The food was gourmet, and we never waited for a table in any of the restaurants.The beach is spectacular, and lives up to its reputation as one of the top 10 in the world. We had no negative experiences with the resort. If you are looking for a quiet place, this is it. We will definetly return.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so pick a ground floor room if stairs are an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I travel with my husband and our group of friends. Age ranges from 30's-50's.

Just returned from an 8 day retreat at the El Dorado Maroma. This is an anual trip to Mexico I take. I travel with a group ranging from 4 people up to 16. We have stayed at several different resorts in the Playa del Carmen area. This is our New Home. We search no further for the perfect getaway! El Dorado Maroma provided our group with top notch service, meals and accomidations. All the while we enjoyed the best beach we have been to in mexico. Priced just right. 5 star and diamond status treatment.

Safe and secure! I know all the hub bub about travel to mexico at this time, but I will continue to return. I have never felt uncertain about my safety at anytime. The resorts rely on tourism, it is their lively hood and the People of El Dorado Maroma treat and protect you like family. Everyone in our group drinks the water and eats the food. Have no fear, they want to keep you healthy and make you happy so you will return! They serve bottled water everywhere.

I have found in the past I sought after excursions to get away from the resorts I have stayed at in the past. This year I was so at peace with the environment at the El Dorado I did not want to leave. No reservations for dinner required. Payments are all charged to your room and handled upon checkout. No need to carry more than some cash to tip with. However....I will warn you the service is so excellent you will want to tip everyone! No trolleys or long walks to dinner. Everything you need is close to your room.

I only have one con - - I was bitten by either sand fleas or mosquitos not sure which but boy do they itch! I will bring bug spray when we return.

We have already begun preparations for our return next year. This is a small resort with larger than life treatment. A quiet romantic place to relax with friends and bond with my husband.

Room Tip: Ocean front was the way to go for us. We had the ground floor for the 1st time on a trip. We always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brimfield
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

On Nov 12 -19, 2011, my husband and took our 4th trip to EDM. The service is excellent and the beach is breath taking. After 10 years of traveling, it has become number 1 on our list. It would be hard to beat this beautiful resort.
The only issue I have as an exotic member is making reservations and room assignments. On our May 2011 trip to EDM, we reinvested into the updated jewel program with new perks. When scheduling our Nov 2011 trip, I made several calls to the reservations department in Florida. After waiting 2 days,I was told no "royal suite" was available the week we wanted. I was assured I would receive all the royal emerald benefits with our infinity pool suite due to the unavailability . When the confirmation call was made a week before our trip, I confirmed that these benefits would be available to us. This became different when we arrived at the resort. We were told since we booked a sapphire room we only got those benefits. While at the resort, I expressed my frustration with this situation with the staff of exotic travel. I was told this was an on going problem and that an emerald room was available and it should have been offered. I was given an email address to contact exotic travel at EDM directly to make any future reservations. We did not have this problem on previous trips before changing from platium membership to the new jewel program. We hope that this situation is resolved quickly so we can feel positive about our investment and not be disappointed.

Room Tip: try to request buildings 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 111shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of El Dorado Maroma, we'd like to thank you for your comments and we are honored to be considered the number one destination on your travel list; it is truly an honor to serve you on your vacations with us.

We'd like you to know that your feedback and comments have not been overlooked and upon review, were immediately forwarded to Exotic and their Member Services Manager should have already contacted you by now.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at customerservices@karismamexico.com should you have any other inquiries or concerns. On behalf of El Dorado Maroma, we'd like to personally thank you for choosing to stay at our resort and look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I just got back from an amazing long weekend in Mexico. Our only other experience was with a Sandals resort so we were sure what to expect. When we first pulled up to the resort I wasn't too thrilled. The lobby is small and there isn't anything fantastic about, that is until you walk inside. The people inside were so welcoming that we hardly noticed the decor. We were greeted with cool towels and a lovely glass of champagne. We were then given a brief tour of the grounds and then escorted to our room.
We booked an infinity pool room and our travel agent asked for us to be in a 4th level room with a view. Our room was everything we expected and more. It was spacious and clean, the jacuzzi tub was large enough for my husband and I to relax with the jets on. The outdoor shower was very nice but the water has a lot more pressure then the rain shower head inside the room.
The staff was super nice and overly helpful. The beach was kept clean and organized we never had a problem getting beach chairs with an umbrella. There were also plenty of beds on the beach if you wanted more shade.
Overall we had an amazing experience and we cannot wait to return!
FYI- if going in November/December, it can get chilly in the afternoon and into the evening so bringing a sweater would be a good idea.

Room Tip: There aren't only elevators, so if you have bad knees, I would recommend a lower level room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLahde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at EDM for a short vacation November 12-16th. The all-inclusives we have stayed at prior are Sun Palace, Excellence Riveria Cancun, Couples Swept Away and The Caves. We always like to try new places and we chose EDM based on its location and it's small size ( in comparison to other Riveria Maya all-inclusives)

I'd like to preface this review by saying we had a great vacation and if someone had told me they'd already booked at this resort I would in no way try to dissuade them from going there but we felt other resorts we've visited just do it better.

THE POSITIVES:
- Service at restaurants and by the pool and beach was stellar. Every person had a smile and wanted to know if we needed anything. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about the bartenders, wait staff, etc.

-Bed was very comfortable, room was very clean. We loved sitting on the patio and being able to get right into the pool and swim around to the main pool and get a cocktail.

-The beach was gorgeous. My husband isn't a strong swimmer but loves being out in the water and the waves and tides are often too strong at other places in Mexico for him to venture out very far. Because of the sandbags or "whales", the water at Maroma Beach is clear, calm and the deepest it got was to our hips. I understand this could be a negative for some but for us it was perfect. We'd often wade out, sit in the sand and just talk about life!

-Breakfast and lunch at Sabores and Pepitas were very good. Nice variety of options.

THE NOT SO PERFECT:
-While the room was perfectly comfortable, it was rather dark. I didn't really understand what other reviewers meant when they mentioned that. It wont ruin your vacation but I often felt like I was getting ready in a cave.

-The air conditioner in our room never seemed to be at full power. It was muggier in our room than we have every experienced on any of our tropical vacations. To be fair- it was tolerable so we didn't bring it up to management or attempt to change rooms.

-I had a difficult time at the workout facility. The hours posted outside say 8 am to 11 pm but I get up earlier than 8 am and the room is never locked so I was in there every morning around 7 am. Unfortunately, I always had to go get someone to turn on the treadmills and the air conditioning. HINT- if you want to use the treadmills, there's a switch at the very bottom in the front. And they keep the remote a/c control somewhere the guests can't get to it cause the staff always brought it in, turned on the a/c and then left with the control. Again- this isn't a big deal but one of the reason I chose this resort was for the gym
and it seemed silly to me that I couldn't just walk in and use it.

-We had some minor mishaps with the front desk/conceriege staff saying they would take of something and then having to follow up on it ourselves.

-The food was defintely average for dinner and for room service. Sabores was a our favorite dinner but they paired my delicious mahi mahi with an odd banana puree. My husband liked the Japanese well enough but I wasn't fond of most of the items I tried.

Overall, there was a lot to like about EDM but when comparing it to Sun Palace and ERC, it just fell a little short for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank klageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,969 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
9,921 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,878 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing