We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great place for a relaxing getaway for couples. If you're looking for clubs/nightlife this is NOT the place for you. However if you just want to relax, walk on the beach, read, enjoy the company of your partner El Dorado Maroma is the perfect place. Very secluded, quite and with a top notch staff prividing excellent service. If you have concerns about the quality of food and beverages at this all enclusive put them to rest. The best food I have had at an all inclusive and the selection of liquor is very good. No single mal scotches or Grey Goose vodka, but if Chivas, Johnny Black and Stoly will do you then you are set. The 3 restaurants (Mexican with several themed nights, Italian and Asian) available for dinner were excellent. I had a chicken dish with huitlacoche (a delicious corn fungus) that was top shelf. The Yellow Tail sashimi was fresh and delicious at the asian restaurant. The portions at dinner are presented beautifully although the portions are probably smaller that you might expect. However if you are eating breakfast (always an interesting mix of items and you can always have a custom made egg dish cooked for you) and lunch you'll be glad that the dinner portions are somewhat smaller and you won't feel like you need to wear that t-shirt to the beach the following day.

Try a deep tissue massage in the Palapa on the beach, the staff is excellent and will work on specific areas that you direct them to. Also the service staff is great, they'll take car of you while on the beach, at one of the 3 pools or at the restaurants.

Suggestion - bring some ones and fives to tip with. No need at the restaurants (unless you feel compelled by over the top service) but it's nice to have for the wait staff bringing you drinks on the beach or at the pool. Use the fives for the transport drivers or if you take the free shuttle into Playa Del Carmen.

Internet service is $15 a day per device. If you're coming here to relax leave the computer at home, they have a couple of computers set up in the lobby if you really need to send an e-mail or check a website (not sure of the cost if there is one).

Bring:
iPod - there's a radio with an iPod dock so you can play tunes in your room.
DVDs - each room has a DVD player to go along with the 42" flat screen in the room and the cable selections are a bit limited so a movie or two from home won't take up much room in your luggage and could provide a nice escape after drinner.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite if you're looking for a more quiet room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,908
    514
    159
    56
    40
See reviews for
272
2,887
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This year we decided to take our four weeks break around Christmas/New Year and return to Mexico's Riviera Maya which we last visited in 2006.This time( from 19th Dec. until 16 January 2012) we stayed at the relatively small boutique resort El Dorado Maroma with just under 100 rooms in various categories. We had a very comfortable well-equipped room on the ground floor of the El Hotelito section ( this section only has two floors) with direct access to one of the two swimming pools and the nice beach.The formula is all-inclusive and with four restaurants, two for breakfast and lunch and always three restaurants available for a-la-carte diner(Mexican/international, Italian and Asian kitchen) there is a large choice with very good quality of food.Furthermore there are three bars with wide opening hours and a well-equipped Spa and gym.
The resort is very well maintained and absolutely spic-and-span everywhere. We very much appreciated the impeccable and very friendly service of the entire staff.
If you look for a relaxed holiday in a nice ambiance I can highly recommend this adult-only resort .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunloverMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I spent one week from January 7th to 14th at El Dorado Maroma. We enjoyed all aspects of this resort including beach, staff, meals and privacy of our room #1004. The only negative was on our check-in, we were sent to a room on the 3rd floor of the 1100 block of rooms [seemed to be one of the least desirable]. We had requested and upgraded to a beachfront ground floor, which was not addressed on our arrival. I reccomend that on checking in, it would be important to identify any requests made and paid for before going directly to your room. Once the room was sorted out, from then on, the experience was fantastic!

Room Tip: 1000 block of rooms is beach front, quiet and private [we loved it!]
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank janc154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We are exotic travelers member and we love this resort... This place is really amazing to relax and enjoy the amazing beach. Food is excellent ( even better than alot of restaurant in montreal). The staff is perfect and very attentionate of your needs !

reserve without hesitation.. cant wai to go back !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I guess you can't please everyone, but, my husband and I had a wonderful experience at El Dorado Maroma. The service is impeccable, the rooms nicely appointed, the beach, jaw droppingly beautiful. The food was very good, and we thought offered a nice variety of choice. If you are looking for typical cheap Mexican food, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for wild nightlife, go to Cancun with everyone else. I was given the recipe for their tortilla soup, which was among the best I've ever had. It was so nice to be at a resort where the guests didn't wear t-shirts and bathing suits to dinner. This is definitely a "step above". And, if you wanted to relax, there was always room service. The moonlight dinner on the beach was a highlight. My sole was cooked to perfection as was my husband's sea bass. The staff was never "in your face", but always readily available. Very understated, quietly elegant. We cannot wait to return. This is what we paid for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Impeccable service, food, cleanliness, beach, and sand like talcum powder.
We were charmed by Paola, Felipe, Diego and Manuel just to name a few. We felt like it was definitely a home away from home and are planning our next visit. Family members followed in our footsteps there by pure coincidence and have received the same flawless service that we did!
Can't wait to return!
Thank you El Dorado Maroma for a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melaniebrysondesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at EDM the last week of Oct, 2011 for our annual anniversary trip (my birthday conveniently falls within that time frame as well!) We stayed in a Royal Honeymoon Suite. We were not completely happy with the first room we were shown and when we requested a new room, the management stepped right in and moved us (no small feat since there are no elevators, our room was on the top floor, the new one second to the top floor and I pack as if I am never coming home!) The staff was great considering they were just moving back in after the evacuation of Hurricane Rina.

Everyone was very friendly, accommodating and we couldn't have been happier during our stay. We updated our Exotic membership from sapphire to ruby while we were there as well.
The beach was lovely, the food fantastic (they even brought me out a birthday cake), drinks were what they should be....a wonderful vacation.
Don't miss the "Michale Jackson" show, the dancers were incredible!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
9,798 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing