We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost perfect for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We visited this resort initially whilst staying at El Dorado Royale. We are getting married next year and asked if we could have a look around as we were considering this as a venue.

We were completely wowed by this property, so we decided to spend the second half of our holiday here. Transfering our booking from EDR was not simple, EDR were very unhelpful, so we only managed to stay for 5 nights at El Dorado Maroma. I wish we could have stayed longer!

The property is beautiful and the service outrageous!

We stayed in the most basic Mi Hotelito room, which was fab. Recently renovated, well designed layout and lovely patio area overlooking the 24 pool. I would not have changed a thing about the room. The bed was so comfy, like the ones at EDR but minus the plastic mattress protectors!

AS everyone says the beach here is amazing, really beautiful. We walked all the way down to Secrets, where everyone on TA says the beach is better, but in my opinion the beach at EDM was just as good. We liked the fact there were no other hotels nearby. The marina is next door and ideal if you want to do any activities, which we did. The beach butlers do a fab job, and we saw people who had come to do activites at the marina and they came to try to use the sunbeds on EDM beach. The butlets know everyone, so know if you are not staying at the resort and ask very politely for them not to use the loungers. There were more loungers empty on the beach than taken, at any time of the day. No one plays the sunbed game here, there is no need, as there are so many. The only way the beach could be improved for me, is to have some comfy mattresses, like they have at secrets on the loungers on the beach. But, this is me being very picky, the loungers were fine, this would just make it perfect!

The pools are also lovely, with very nice comfy loungers and again plenty of these. Deigo who serves drink around the pool was amazing too!

Food was great everywhere, we did not have a bad meal. For me personally i prefered the food at EDR D'Italia villas to the italian here, but thats just my personal opinion.

Waiters were also good, but maybe not as slick as at EDR, maybe this is because they are not under as much pressure to serve so many people, so service is more leisurely.

All in all, i wish we had spent the whole 14 days here, not just the last 5! Its not a party place, but great if you want a quiet holiday in a fab loaction, with great service and food.

We will be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockdog29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,663
    475
    147
    55
    38
See reviews for
246
2,656
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,068)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband & I just spent one week at the El Dorado Maroma. We found it to be a very relaxing & wonderful time. All the people that work there are absolutely great, so friendly & helpful. They truly treat you like family. The variety of food choices was excellent & the food was delicious. The grounds, the rooms, restaurants, spa & pools are all impeccably maintained & beautiful. The white sand beach is gorgeous. We stayed in one of the villas which was really beautiful & private. (like a home away from home) We also had a couples massage & dinner on the beach which was wonderful & romantic. We absolutely recommend El Dorado Maroma.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa which was fabulous and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great place for a relaxing getaway for couples. If you're looking for clubs/nightlife this is NOT the place for you. However if you just want to relax, walk on the beach, read, enjoy the company of your partner El Dorado Maroma is the perfect place. Very secluded, quite and with a top notch staff prividing excellent service. If you have concerns about the quality of food and beverages at this all enclusive put them to rest. The best food I have had at an all inclusive and the selection of liquor is very good. No single mal scotches or Grey Goose vodka, but if Chivas, Johnny Black and Stoly will do you then you are set. The 3 restaurants (Mexican with several themed nights, Italian and Asian) available for dinner were excellent. I had a chicken dish with huitlacoche (a delicious corn fungus) that was top shelf. The Yellow Tail sashimi was fresh and delicious at the asian restaurant. The portions at dinner are presented beautifully although the portions are probably smaller that you might expect. However if you are eating breakfast (always an interesting mix of items and you can always have a custom made egg dish cooked for you) and lunch you'll be glad that the dinner portions are somewhat smaller and you won't feel like you need to wear that t-shirt to the beach the following day.

Try a deep tissue massage in the Palapa on the beach, the staff is excellent and will work on specific areas that you direct them to. Also the service staff is great, they'll take car of you while on the beach, at one of the 3 pools or at the restaurants.

Suggestion - bring some ones and fives to tip with. No need at the restaurants (unless you feel compelled by over the top service) but it's nice to have for the wait staff bringing you drinks on the beach or at the pool. Use the fives for the transport drivers or if you take the free shuttle into Playa Del Carmen.

Internet service is $15 a day per device. If you're coming here to relax leave the computer at home, they have a couple of computers set up in the lobby if you really need to send an e-mail or check a website (not sure of the cost if there is one).

Bring:
iPod - there's a radio with an iPod dock so you can play tunes in your room.
DVDs - each room has a DVD player to go along with the 42" flat screen in the room and the cable selections are a bit limited so a movie or two from home won't take up much room in your luggage and could provide a nice escape after drinner.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite if you're looking for a more quiet room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This year we decided to take our four weeks break around Christmas/New Year and return to Mexico's Riviera Maya which we last visited in 2006.This time( from 19th Dec. until 16 January 2012) we stayed at the relatively small boutique resort El Dorado Maroma with just under 100 rooms in various categories. We had a very comfortable well-equipped room on the ground floor of the El Hotelito section ( this section only has two floors) with direct access to one of the two swimming pools and the nice beach.The formula is all-inclusive and with four restaurants, two for breakfast and lunch and always three restaurants available for a-la-carte diner(Mexican/international, Italian and Asian kitchen) there is a large choice with very good quality of food.Furthermore there are three bars with wide opening hours and a well-equipped Spa and gym.
The resort is very well maintained and absolutely spic-and-span everywhere. We very much appreciated the impeccable and very friendly service of the entire staff.
If you look for a relaxed holiday in a nice ambiance I can highly recommend this adult-only resort .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunloverMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I spent one week from January 7th to 14th at El Dorado Maroma. We enjoyed all aspects of this resort including beach, staff, meals and privacy of our room #1004. The only negative was on our check-in, we were sent to a room on the 3rd floor of the 1100 block of rooms [seemed to be one of the least desirable]. We had requested and upgraded to a beachfront ground floor, which was not addressed on our arrival. I reccomend that on checking in, it would be important to identify any requests made and paid for before going directly to your room. Once the room was sorted out, from then on, the experience was fantastic!

Room Tip: 1000 block of rooms is beach front, quiet and private [we loved it!]
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank janc154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We are exotic travelers member and we love this resort... This place is really amazing to relax and enjoy the amazing beach. Food is excellent ( even better than alot of restaurant in montreal). The staff is perfect and very attentionate of your needs !

reserve without hesitation.. cant wai to go back !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I guess you can't please everyone, but, my husband and I had a wonderful experience at El Dorado Maroma. The service is impeccable, the rooms nicely appointed, the beach, jaw droppingly beautiful. The food was very good, and we thought offered a nice variety of choice. If you are looking for typical cheap Mexican food, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for wild nightlife, go to Cancun with everyone else. I was given the recipe for their tortilla soup, which was among the best I've ever had. It was so nice to be at a resort where the guests didn't wear t-shirts and bathing suits to dinner. This is definitely a "step above". And, if you wanted to relax, there was always room service. The moonlight dinner on the beach was a highlight. My sole was cooked to perfection as was my husband's sea bass. The staff was never "in your face", but always readily available. Very understated, quietly elegant. We cannot wait to return. This is what we paid for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,640 reviews
3.8 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing