We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nobody Does It Better - The Best of the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Nobody Does It Better - The Best of the Best!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We recently spent 8 nights at EDM. It was our 6th trip there for a reason - Yes the resort and facilities are breath-taking.....but its the staff that puts this resort way above any other. I have traveled in germany, austria, switzerland, roatan, bahamas, jamaica and many places in Mexico. NEVER have I been to a place that truly make you feel like royalty like they do at EDM. There is no request too big or small. Every employee truly acts like they LOVE their job. Companies in the US should look to this resort for the true definition of customer service.
Customer service starts at the top and its obvious that Jose Portacarrero - GM - has done an incredible job with the staff. One of the nights there was a storm offshore with a lot of wind. The next morning there was more seaweed on that beach than I have ever seen..feet and feet of it...in and out of the water. As we are eating breakfast we look out and counted 45 employees out on the beach with rakes, shovels, trash bags picking up seaweed. Many were in the water in their clothes. Im talking about someone from every department in the resort. There were people from food service, bar service, housekeeping,security, entertainment team, spa services, waiters, reception personnel, administartive personnel ALL picking up seaweed. They worked over 3.5 hours and the beach was perfect again. And the entire time they were out there service at the resort never missed a beat.......I have never been so impressed by true teamwork in my entire life.

Now ..to the resort....The beach is incredible...soft,white, cool sand - never feels hot even in summer....water is calm and very clear. No rocks/ no coral/ no need for shoes. You can see your feet as far out as you want to go. we take our snorkel gear when we go and always see lots of fish between the reefs. we also saw 2 huge starfish this time as well.
There are no chair , beach bed or towel games at EDM. As you will see by the pics I post..chairs and beach beds are always plentiful. There are no corny bracelets to wear , no monotonous buffets and no reservations required for meals.(They do have 3 theme nights you can attend where you can make reservations to attend ). Waiters are fabulous ! Thank you JONAS and VITAL for always taking such great care of us. Our meals were awesome ! We miss you! Samara and Rosy - your smiling faces make us happy. David and Jeremias - always friendly and wanting to please.

we had room service 3 different nights. If you dont want something off the menu- just ask. They will make it happen.

Beach Butler service was phenomenal. Never did our drink empty until we had another one. thank you Diego and Dora. We stayed in beach Villa 911 which is at the far end of the beach and Diego walked down there several times each day to bring us buckets of beer or just to check on us even when we didnt need a drink.
The entertainment staff has been ramped up and really went out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. We have never participated in any activities until this trip but we did the tequila tasting, pool volleyball, bar bingo, and bocce ball and had an absolute blast ! Areli - thank you for taking such good care of us..Every morning before we got up we had towels on our beach bed and chairs waiting for us

We had a early morning massage on the beach which was awesome. Daniel - you are the best - not to mention the daily 5 minute massages on the beach !

We have stayed in almost every accomodation at the resort. All are lovely and have their own benefits. The beds in the honeymoon, infinity and swin up suites are out of this world comfortable. I love them !
This trip we were in a beach villa. it was beyond incredible. 2 story -kitchen and den down stairs- 2 bathrooms/ upstairs bedroom with a huge jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. Private pool on patio. upstairs patio has bed for night time star gazing.

Reception personnel/concierge service is awesome. Manual checked on us daily and every night Alex would call to se if we needed anything and if he could send someone to turn down our room. Catarina - thanks for always checking on us just to "make sure everything was perfect ". We love you !

There is entertainment nightly at Ricks bar and they have added live music by bar 24 one night and at sabore pool thursday nights which is such a nice touch !

If you want to go to a rowdy, loud, crowded, drinking games kind of a place - Please do not go to EDM. If you want relaxation, absolute beauty, exceptional service, great food and romance beyond belief - EDM is your paradise. !
We look forward to returning very soon -
we truly feel like the staff at EDM is our family and EDM is our home away from home !

Please feel free to message me if you have any questions about this litle piece of heaven !

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer best ocean view - no elevators so request lower floor if climbing stairs is an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank suziq2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,734
    488
    151
    55
    38
See reviews for
257
2,726
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,081)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We visited El Dorado Maroma this past February. Beach Bum Vacations took extra special care of us. Carey Driscoll made sure all our requests were handled before we even arrived. Our friends were getting married however, there was some times we wanted to spend with just the two of us and she arranged everything. We loved the fact that this resort was not huge and impersonal. The entire staff made it seemed they were there just for us. Our 4th floor infinity pool was amazing, the specialty drinks were incredible and the entire property was very well maintained. FOOD - Let me just say we loved it all, breakfast sea side with mimosas, lunch delivered to our room and incredible food in all the restaurants in the evening. The wedding was just beautiful on the beach, and we all had a lot of fun that day. We had massages in the morning on the beach, we had a candlelight dinner on the beach, swam with Dolphins and played golf on a gorgeous course just down the street. One thing that also impressed us, is that not one of the staff members acted as though they were working for tips...and when we offered tips, almost all of them said NO at first. Its a resort that really pampers you while you are there, from the point of pick up at the airport to the ride back to the airport you feel special. Thanks to Beach Bum Vacations and especially Carey, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: 4th floor infinity pool - way cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin N Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is a great place to stay if you visit Playa Del Carmen. It is very calm and relaxing. The beach is absolutely beautiful! It is one of the most beautiful beach I've seen in my whole life. The sea waves in this part are so gentle. Great view for sunrise and sunset. People are very nice here. From the Front Desk, Concierge, F & B staffs, they're amazing. I can feel how hospitable they are. They made you feel at home. I love the Papitos Restaurant near at the seaside . I also like the Mio an Italian restaurant and also Kiyoko the Asian restaurant by the way Im an Asian and I must say that there is an Asian touch on the Kiyoko Restaurant so its good. They also have special nights so make sure you will reserve for those in the Concierge..

This is a great place for lovers if you want Privacy cause this is an Adult Hotel or Resort only. So for the Lovers, I highly suggest to stay here. You will surely have your romantic stay in this Paradise!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaidyChance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed in a Mi Hotellio Room by bar 24 and for us it was perfect as the only time we were in our room was to sleep. The rest of the time was spent either on the beach or by the pool.
The staff are brilliant around the resort, nothing is too much trouble for them, you just need to ask or tell them if something isn’t quite right. I can't thank them all enough.
The food is great, the only thing we found is that our interpretation of what was on the menu, wasn’t necessarily the same as what we got, however once this had been realised it was not a problem. The service in the restaurants, at the bars and on the beach was great, you really are waited on hand and feet.
We didn't manage to get to much of the evening entertainment, but the Fire Show on the beach is really good.
If like us, you want to see some culture whilst you are in Mexico, pop in and see Luis at Lomas Travel, he can arrange the whole lot for you. We had an amazing day, going to Tulum, Coba and a Mayan settlement. There are plenty of other ‘trips’ you can do.
We hope to return before too long to share in some more EDM hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz_267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This resort was just absolutely fabulous all around. Service, accommodations, activities, staff — everyone was very helpful and agreeable. Food was PHENOMENAL and the beach — breathtaking. We had no complaints. We stayed on the top floor of one of the buildings and the only drawback was that there was no elevator — but it gave us a chance to exercise after drinking and munching on yummy gourmet food all day :) I recommend if you'd like some privacy to have your room on top of the hotel instead of the lower floors, only because anyone can see into your room at that point — not very romantic ;-) All-in-all amazing food, beach, spa and service.

Room Tip: If you'd like more privacy, stick to the top floors of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann marie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We enjoyed yet another time at El Dorado Maroma. We can not say enough about our stay at this resort and the care we receive from the staff at this wonderful resort. We receive daily care from Manuel in additgion to Adela, Paula and Dianna. We enjoyed special massages from Daniel in the Spa as well Luis with Lomias and all the other staff who make our stay enjoyable. Carlos, I can't thank you enough for making our kids feel welcome at Maroma. Steven and Melissa truly had an enjoyable first vacation!!! Thanks to Jeremiah and Vital at the restaurant as well as Israel and Gabi. Can't wait to go back...for some personal attention!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gregshree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This reveiw is very late but I wanted to take the time to write it. My husband and I stayed at EDM for 10 days in July 2011. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful, from airport transportation to excursions. We still think about this trip and can't wait to return because of how amazing everyone was. The rooms were very clean and the food amazing. Very relaxing place to spend a vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,712 reviews
3.8 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing