We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream honeymonn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream honeymonn”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just coming to the end of a dream honeymoon in paradise
been looked after exceptionally by amazing staff I every department especially Angel Jesus and Cynthia in the restaurants
full review to follow when back home !! too much to write and too little time left in this amazing place
jane Brian

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janebrian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,895
    512
    158
    56
    39
See reviews for
272
2,872
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

First off we did not actually stay at the resort this time but that's because nobody responded to my emails. You can read my previous review from November of 2013. Oscar had contacted me via email and tried very hard to rectify my complaints. He did refund the price we paid for our "upgrade" and offered up a very fair compromise. He asked that I have my review pulled from trip advisor and that I return with my husband at a very discounted rate. I agreed to give them another try and tried to no avail to have my review removed. I explained the situation to Oscar but we agreed my husband and I would return to the resort and would have all our concerns addressed and I would leave a new, more positive review. Sounds good, right?

Well, we tried to book for the first week of July. Sent Oscar several emails and never heard back. So I figured I would send the hotel an email directly. No response. Then I decided to forward Oscars last email, with our agreement and the promise from the hotel, to the manager. No response.

It is my belief that this hotel made false promises only to try and get a negative review removed. I highly recommend avoiding this hotel and trying one of the many other resorts nearby that have consistent customer service. I can recommend several if you would like.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
15 Thank dobie1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I am truly very sorry that you have not received a response from our Team at the El Dorado Maroma, Oscar is now working at the Generations Riviera Maya , our sister hotel with a different email and his old account was directioned to our new Chief de Village and cancelled 6 months hos departure.

Please do not hesitate to contact me and I will be more than happy to assist you

Best regards

Anna Pegler
Head of Customer services
customerservices@karismamexico.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at El Dorado Maroma and had booked a Honeymoon Suite. The resort was not full and they upgraded us to a top floor room with an infinity pool and amazing ocean views. The service was amazing...all staff were incredibly helpful and genuine. The beach beds and beach butler and beach waiters were fantastic. Room service was outstanding. The only room for improvement was that a few of the main courses for dinner could be better, but most of the food was great! Perfect location for a quiet getaway. Thanks to Mitch at TripGuy.com for planning another great trip for us!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillTravelForWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had an incredible experience here with our whole family. Grandparents, parents and 5 kids ranging from 1 to 16 years old all had a wonderful time. Beautiful beach, grounds and rooms. Excellent food. But the biggest stand out is the service. The staff are not just professional, but genuinely friendly. Multiple staff members went above and beyond to make our stay special and memorable. We usually like to try new places and rarely return to the same hotel, but we would make an exception for this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Detgen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I took some time away from the jobs and kids too to have a relaxing enjoyable time for each other. The resort was fantastic to say the least. The beaches were beautiful with the white sand and the ocean view was something you would see in a magazine. The staff was so nice and customer focused in everyway that it made our trip even more enjoyable. Every meal we ate was always great and through out the week, the staff were always surprising us with personal touches in our room and on the resort. We enjoyed our trip so much we became a club member so we can go back with the kids and possilby other family and friends.g
Sarah Gladstone was our travel agent and she was so helpful to give us options to make our trip so great. She also had a lot of insight into the resorts and made sure before traveled internationally we had everything we needed to travel and prepared us for such a trip as this. She was great and i will use Sarah our; future trips that I plan in the future.

Room Tip: We had a infiniti pool which was nice to have in your room but did not use it once for whatever reas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have vacationed in Mexico the past 4 years, and each time has been at the same resort brand. We decided this year to add a couple of days and try somewhere new. Upon arrival at El Dorado we loved the feel of the resort. It is much smaller than the resorts we had stayed at previously. We stayed in a honeymoon suite on the third floor and loved the layout of the room. The bathroom was nice and large, there was a nice sitting area, and we thought the bed was comfortable. The only fault I could find with the room is it needs better lighting. We loved the large balcony overlooking the pool, and we could see a little bit of the ocean through the palm tree leaves. Since we were at El Dorado for such a short time we didn't get to experience all of the restaurants. The food at Pepitos was our favorite breakfast and lunch, while the Asian restaurant was our favorite dinner. The only questionable meal we had during our stay was at the Italian restaurant- my husband ordered the sea bass. We are both pretty sure the fish he was served was not sea bass- the taste and consistency were not that of any sea bass we have eaten. So far the little negatives I have mentioned would not keep us from returning. What did concern us were a couple of the activities planned by the resort that promoted a spring break type atmosphere. We were relaxing and reading on our balcony one day and had to relocate because of a very loud and rowdy water balloon fight in the pool below. The next day there was a band at the pool, which wouldn't have been so bad- but then it became a game of name that tune where loud snippets of songs were played and very loud drunk guests yelled song titles and screamed loudly once the correct answer was given. We were on the beach and could still hear the commotion. This was not what we were expecting when we booked this resort. I went back and forth between a three star and four star rating- but based on the fantastic service at the pool and on the beach, beautiful accommodations and fresh delicious food I went with four stars. I hope to return to this resort someday, but I will definitely be watching reviews and forums to make sure what I experienced was just bad timing and doesn't become the norm.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Atlanta-Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The whole trip was more than expected! The service was excellent and the staff went out of there way to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. From check in to the waiters to the entertainment staff and bar tenders, everyone was pleasant and wanted to make our stay enjoyable. The entire staff really seem to love there jobs. The resort was beautiful with all the palm trees and flowers and the white sand beach with the small island off the shore was paradise. We will definitely be returning there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationwithanedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,838 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
9,785 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,828 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing