We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Thank you Maroma"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“"Thank you Maroma"”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We just returned from 8 wonderful, fantastic and relaxing days at the El Dorado Maroma resort. The 8 days were the best we could have spent anywhere with our special friends.
Apon arrival and until we left we were treated with the very best in service, quality and the very best in human kindness you ever could have wished for.
I can not understand others who have said this place was not for them ??? it was everything and more then what we expected so please don't hold alot into the others who said it was so-so, to us is was top notch 100%.. It is smaller then others we have been to but that is what we were looking for and I am so glad we tried it because we WILL be back..
The staff is unreal!! Luis from Lomas Travel, Hermanlinda the beach waitress, Isreal, Marcous and Auerelo the breakfast, lunch and dinner servers were all so wonderful and friendly all week, they did whatever they could to make you happy and feel like you were special..Paulina on the beach everyday was excellant and so very friendly to us as she always went out of her way to make sure we were treated so very well. Henry at the front was always so great and friendly and fast to always make sure our bags were handled and our rides to Puerto Morales and Playa were complete and safe. The room staff did a fatastic job each day with the towel art....Room service was very fast and very very good! Had pizza by the pool one night and it was perfect!
The Maroma marina next door had everything you wanted and they were very friendly and efficant to our needs, Luis from Lomas went out of his way to make sure we had our plans exactlly the way we wanted them and he personally took it apon himself to treat us so very well. We went deep sea fishing, snorkling and sunset cruise and lobster dinner which was fantastic and I highly recomand that during your stay...Luis will take care of you.and he is not pushy at all just ask him if you are interested in doing somthing other then relaxing..
We met some other wonderful people from Montreal and Minnesota who became just like family to us by the end of our trip, we miss you all.
We would endorse this place to others and give it "5++++ stars", it is smaller but the attention to your needs is 2nd to none in Mexico..
Thank you to the managment, staff and everyone at the EL Dorado Maroma you are # 1 in our book..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,896
    512
    158
    56
    39
See reviews for
272
2,873
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

My husband and I are in our twenties and stayed here for our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful and very secluded. Our room was nice but we were booked for the infinity pool and ended up having to stay in the mi hotelio room...which was not as spacious. The breakfast and lunch was delicious with different themes for lunch everyday. BUT-we were very disappointed in the dinner options. The food was not good for dinner! We ended up ordering from the LIMITED room service menu each night because we were so disappointed in our food selections. Also, if you enjoy nightlife and activities do not come here! The nightlife is non-existent!

Overall we had. A quiet, romantic and memorable honeymoon but were a little disappointed and won't be planning a return trip!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreakaetlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Rivers, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

El Dorado is an amazing resort, my hubby and I went there back in 2007 for our honeymoon. The rooms are beautiful, the ocean is beautiful, the views are beautiful, the grounds are beautiful, everything is beautiful. There is so much to do in the resort, you need not leave, but you really should adventure out once or twice and visit "selvectia" ( not sure if I spelled that correctly) and go ziplining or ride a horse into the ocean and through the jungle! The resort is all inclusive and the food is amazing! Very gourmet though, so if your just a meat and potato or burger and fries kinda person, you might go a little hungry. There is nice nightlife and entertainment in the evenings, always something going on durning the day such as snorkling, scuba lessons, dance lessons, water sports, and etc. They also have wonderful pools and a lazy river. My favorite was the saltwater pool, thats in the ocean, but surrounded with sand bags for protection. They also have tiki bars along the beach and if your not a drinker they have what they call a health bar, that makes smoothies and such. Wonderful beach beds too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamasrocks4jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed here for a week, this was the best resort we have ever stayed at. We wanted quite and fun mixed in one and we got it. There are only 72 rooms so very quite, great beach, activities (if you want), pool bars and anything that you can think of to do only a few hundred yards away. If you are looking to party this is not for you.
The staff what can I really say I have never seen better they don't want you to even put a towel on your chair by yourself. Anything you want or need they are right there to take care of it for you. They have waiters and waitresses on the beach getting your drinks for you you don't even have to move. Talk about customer service, I think some of the people in the service industry in the US could take some lessons from this staff. There are some staff members I want to recognize Paulina it was her first week while we were there and you could not tell at all, one of the nicest & sweetest people I have ever met and did her job as if she has been there forever. Ceaser pool bar so fabulous I can't even begin to tell you how wonderful he is you'll just have to go check it out for yourself, then we have Rene', Franklin, Israel, well just all of them. What a fabulous vacation it was.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shi0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We just returned from our week at the El Dorado Maroma and have decided that this place has got to be the friendliest place in Mexico! This was our 10th trip to Mexico and after staying at the El Dorado Royale 3 times, we decided to switch it up. We have no regrets with this decision. The fact that it is smaller was perfect for us, because it gave us the opportunity to visit and get to know the staff. I am not kidding when I say that they meet and exceed your every need or want! "Trainee" Paulina is a gem! She and Pilar made us feel like family! Cesar at the 24 Bar was awesome! Luis from Lomas Travel was very helpful. Israel usually helped us at breakfast and we loved his sense of humor! What can I say....I have no complaints! We were just amazed how the staff could remember our room number, names or favorite drink after one time!! The food was exceptional! We stayed in the Mi Hotelito and would stay in that section again, as we liked the character of the room, we called it our "tree house". We will definately be back and would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to be pampered, to relax and to feel like part of the El Dorado Maroma family. Thank you to all of the staff who made our trip so enjoyable and memorable from your friends in room 107 during Jan 19-26.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfeggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Hola! Nothing is more warm than "Welcome Home" as they greet you at the front entrance of this tiny but grand resort. If you want, peace, quiet and refreshment this 72 room location delivers on a huge scale.

ROOMS: Mi Hotelito is a quaint block of rooms located only steps from the beach. The rooms are decently sized, and the bathroom was surprisingly large. You can expect a shower big enough for two with sheer curtains. The bed is king sized with mosquito netting and then there was a desk, coffee service, and cabinet with TV & bar fridge. Also present was ample closet space and shelving with tiny safe for travel documents. Don't count on an upgrade if you want something better the resort does fill up from time to time.

If you want modern and sleek consider upgrading to the newer tower suites. Book a third floor room or fourth floor "honeymoon suite" if you want a view of the ocean each morning. The second floor views are obscured by the huge, and lovely, palm trees. If you want a rock-star experience try out the Presidential suites. After a tour we felt they were too large for a couple but somebody who wanted to entertain could really make use of the luxury condo style units. A note, that they are currently constructing 4 new Presidential suites directly next to the existing Pres units and your private balcony/pool face the building site.

Honestly, who comes for the rooms? THE PEOPLE make this resort! Caesar, Hermalinda, Diego, Isreal and a host of others including Paola and Carmina are there to make your stay a dream. The bartenders will even make special drinks (like the avocado shake) if you can give them the list of ingredients. (Thanks Caesar!) From early in the morning to late at night you will be pampered, cared for and generally made to feel like you are center of the universe. Daniel gives free mini-massages on the beach "pony." Those who don't tip are treated just as well as those who show their appreciation financially.

The Food: Theme nights were fun and added an interesting twist. The portions were small enough that you could sample all of the courses. However, I could rarely finish an entire meal. Those who don't get enough to eat here must be VERY particular as the kitchen will go out of their way to ensure you're satisfied. Enjoy morning breakfasts at the beachside mini-buffet or at the ala-carte by the pool. Room service is not delivered to the beach.

The Beach is MAGNIFICENT. Take a stroll up past the marina to get a real feel for the icing sugar sand between your toes. Take the opportunity to stand still in the water in front of the resort for a few minutes. If you're patient and look carefully you'll see dozens of angel fish who might even nibble at you. We saw a baby ray scooting through the silt. Snorkeling here is safe and fun for those who might be afraid... the bottom is rarely out of reach.

Nightlife: If you're here to party - you're at the wrong resort. However, for a night cap Ricks bar was a fun place to socialize. We played a few games of pool there too early one night and had the entire club to ourselves.

Improvements that could be made are small. For the rainy days it'd be nice to have more places to sit out of the rain and access to borrow umbrellas from the restaurants instead of having to run back to your room for one. All Mi Hotelito suites should have a minimum of two chairs INDOORS for cool rainy days. And one of the bathrooms near Ricks bar had a non-functioning light. Like any place, the food can be hit or miss. However, they will try and make it right.

BTW - don't skip meeting with your concierge. They are the people who will get you into the great theme night experiences at the resort. They may offer you an appointment for a membership presentation but do accept no as an answer. The pitch is done in a separate office and is extremely low pressure.

This resort really was a slice of paradise. We'll be going back

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DestinyVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We have done extensive travelling and have never experienced a more helpful, friendly staff. They were amazing and make this hotel very special. The restaurants were very good, although if you are looking for a huge buffet like you find in the large all-inclusive hotels you will not find it here. We particularly enjoyed the Italian night. The food was very good but what made it special was the soprano who was singing throughout the evening. Also do not miss the Michael Jackson show in the bar on Friday night. We used Lomas for a tour to Tulum and Coba (a lot in one day) and to take us back to the airport. They were excellent. Luis was very helpful in advising us how to get the most out of our limited time. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,840 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
9,790 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,829 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing