We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My wife and I spent a four day weekend here. The service was personal and exceptional. The staff all knew our names and learned our preferences. Our room was a master suite, quite large and luxurious. We really didn't do many activities, other than the snorkeling boat and a yoga class, but everything was professional and well-organized. My only complaint: the dinners were quite expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GracieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

I just HAD to come back here after my first visit - second stay was just as wonderful as the first one! This place is so unique. I love the fact that it is small, staff knows your name and it is so peaceful. The place is magical at night - there are candles everywhere that light the paths in the whole property, it is just beautiful! Maroma beach is beautiful as well and very hard to beat.

It's the special touches of the staff that make the stay truly special. We had a nice bubble bath with rose petals waiting for us one night when we got back to our room - an unexpected treat. At the spa, there was a message in sand for us, wishing us a happy anniversary. Really nice.

We stayed in a master suite, there was lots of room and the bathroom was big. Nice big balcony too. Food was fantastic, one of the nights we were the only table in the restaurant and basically had a private dinner. And of course, I love the breakfasts - homemade tortillas and yogurt were always my favorite part.

Yes, the food is expensive (a bit too much in my opinion), but Maroma is worth the splurge. It's a memorable experience, and if you are looking for relaxation and pampering, this is the place for you! I will be back.

Room Tip: Ocean front room is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KosmoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was our first visit to Maroma for our honeymoon. It was perfect. It's a small resort on an almost deserted beach away from the thousands of other tourist staying at huge resorts. The staff truly want to make your staff as enjoyable as possible (which is not hard!!), by doing everything they can for you. The food in Maroma's restaurants is fantastic and they put on different themed dinners and activities so you never get bored. The breakfast is included but is unlike an included breakfast I have ever come across. The spa has won awards for some of the best in the world. I cannot wait to come back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in an 'ocean view' room that was just perfect. We were above the main building, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We attended Maroma Nov 2012 as a couple, joining 30 others to celebrate the wedding of our friends.
The hotel is pricy but everything was wonderful. Service was impeccable, food was fantastic, rooms were rustic chic. We absolutely loved the stay.
Its a 20-30min drive from Cancun. The hotel is situated in grounds down a windy road away from any other resorts on the Riviera Maya. This hotel experience makes relaxing so easy. A glass in hand on arrival, welcoming high-end spacious rustic rooms, with lots of nice in-room luxuries - personalized aromatherapy turn down service, plush bath robes, eco straw slippers, hand made soaps etc. The ocean is like a bath & no nasty currents.
Food was a real highlight. Started w/ a cinnamon coffee served in terra-cotta mugs in bed, to a huge breakfast w/ fresh fruits, mexican hot chocolate & pastries, plus your choice of the menu. Fish tacos were a big hit at lunch. The only one comment is that lunch/dinner are expensive so you might want to consider other options if staying for more than 2 days.
The hotel team made a fabulous job of the wedding. A set up on the beach for the ceremony and then a private reception around the pool (which is set apart from the restaurants and main areas for the hotel so as not to disturb other guests). It was truly magical w/ fairy lights set in the trees and a delicious mexican style buffet. Thanks to Maroma all of us including the bride and groom had wonderful memories to take w/ us.
Given the ease of travel to the hotel from NY, I would definitely consider a revisit. Maroma is a great experience and deserves the praise and accolades that it has earned in the travel press.
My only tip would be to let the hotel organize the transport to and from the airport. The local cab companies caused an issue on our return (were 30+mins late!). For US$40 more, I would have gladly paid the extra for the private transfer to have avoided this hassle on departure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We read the reviews and based our decision that this was no 1. I have to say it is true what an excellent hotel, superb service, all al a carte food with lots of choice, cocktails were not your cheap variety bit but amazing including corona beer in cans or on tap.. So much choice. The pool is great, sea amazing, beach has such soft white sand. I normally stay 5 star out of choice as I want to enjoy my stay and this is up there as one of the best. If I had give constructive feedback it would be that the numerous mainly American weddings sometimes have load music for a couple of hours by the pool but most people like this. The wedding locations and those on the beach are very romantic. We stayed preferred club and I wold recommend the extra as the spa is complimentary and you do get other benefits but that depends on the budget. We flew virgin and it was also a great flight which was on time both ways. The final tip was that there is no real push for timeshare but they give you some dollars but you probably won't spend them. We took 2 bottles of champagne and had to bring it back. Hot tip. Make sure you are in your weight luggage allowance coming back as they are a bit draconian. All the hotel staff are very friendly. If you do not like the excitable American may be Mexico is not for you.

Room Tip: Preferred club with bath on the balcony. Very relaxing and private. The double jacuzzi bath inside i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_Geee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was our second visit to the Maroma and we are already planning our third. From the moment you are greeted at the front door upon your arrival until you leave, the staff works tirelessly to ensure that your stay is memorable and stress-free. While the beach is spectacular, and the setting unforgettable, it is the staff that makes Maroma shine. They are friendly, efficient and make every effort to accomodate their guests. It is impressive that after a a day or two they know your name and greet you personally.

The cuisine is world class; we enjoyed several special dinners and each one was exquisitely prepared, and creatively designed. Don't miss the jungle dinner or the cooking class. Great fun! The spa is beautifully designed and the range of treatments impressive.

There is no better way to start the day than breakfast on the beach each morning, with Dalia's hand-made tortillas as a special treat.

One of the most relaxing beach vacations in the Caribbean. Go. You'll be enchanted.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My wife and I spent 5 wonderful days at this wonderful hotel. It is difficult to decide where to start in my desire to share our experience. We are life long hoteliers, possibly not your typical guests.

First of all the staff. Honestly natural beauty, superb location and a terrific physical plant are not unique to Maroma. This resort is blessed with all three but they created something that is truly special...a superb team committed to making you the guest feel welcome. Actually better than that feel part of the Maroma family. We arrived a bit early so we had the pleasure of enjoying a walk around the property and a beverage at Freddy's. Manuel was absolutely amazing. First of all he welcomed us to Maroma. He explained that we were not simply guests but family. He then expressed a phrase that we are very familiar with, "Mi Casa es su Casa." Having managed hotels in Santa Fe, NM, we appreciated the symbolic nature of that phase, including its heart centeredness. And we felt it. Every morning we waited for his heartfelt buenos dias, and disappointed when he was off for two days of our stay. He was just one team member that worked to make our stay special. It is impossible to express accurately how many times the team knew who we were and why we had come. We truly felt among family. A hotel's reputation is created by the excellence in food and beverage and the team. In this race this resort is a gold medal winner.

In my entire hotel career and lifetime of travel I can honestly say I do not remember leaving and remembering breakfast. This resort strives for the impossible... make breakfast memorable. They achieve it in a sensational manner. From the baked goods, jugo del dia, yogurt, especialities, chocolate and of course the tortillas (We named her "mama de las tortillas). I imagined her heading home at night the happiest person on earth. She is appreciated and paid for doing something she probably did for her family for years. I am sure she pinches herself daily. We had planned to enjoy breakfast in our room on our beautiful balcony overlooking the sea. That was not to be, every morning we took a long walk on the beach then enjoyed breakfast with our friends, the hotel's team.

The special touches with the nightly housekeeping service made us smile with surprise on arrival and with anticipation each subsequent night. This hotel is the perfect place for rest and romance.
The Leadership has created a superb team and a marvelous experience. Truly one of the finest hotel experiences on earth. We can not wait to return. The beach beds are more comfortable that most hotel beds.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,218 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,803 reviews
6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
3,374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: £382 - £1,192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among verdant jungle beside a white, sandy beach, Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa is one of Mexico’s top luxury hotels. Here you can start the day with yoga and end with a session in a traditional temazcal sauna. Spend lazy days in ocean and poolside restaurants or stroll through flower-filled gardens where parrots and butterflies perch. Explore some of Mexico’s great heritage sites, dive in mysterious underwater caves or shop till you drop in Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing