We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Staff was the most amazing people. Took the best care of us and was always welcoming and friendly. We felt like princesses. Our wish was their command. The sand was like soft sugar. Very clean and beautiful water. The spa had great treatments and Mayan rituals that were great to experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear guest,

I sincerely thank you, on behalf of our hotel and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.
We are delighted to know that your stay at our hotel was perfect and met your expectations.
We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Special little paradise indeed! Such a beautiful beach, incredible service and love Freddie's bar! Definitely do the chef table! Chef is extremely talented - and loved the wine pairings! (lwe also love the tortillas by the charming little lady every morning).

Spa is amazing, great way to spend rainy day!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and taking the time to share it with our TripAdvisor readers. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our awarded awarded beach as is considered as one of the most beautiful beaches around the world.
We appreciate the comments on Freddy and the Tortilla Lady, they are an example of the service we are committed to provide our guests and make them feel relaxed and be able to enjoy..
We look forward to welcoming you back to next time you are in Mexico!

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Maroma is exctremely romantic place in the World, very privacy,botique hotel,special energetic healing , sharming resort , best food . Every room have own style ,etnic mexican vintage. The best place for couple for honeymoon or romantic vacation.Hotel for people over 18 only. The best white sands beaches , aquamarin water on the gulf .
I really love termoscal, it's mexican sauna on the beach .....
You can get excursions around Ycatan from there.
Maroma is the best hotel on Riviera de Maia and Mexica.

Room Tip: Every room -bungalo it's different and have own sharm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 146Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear 146Mila,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time share them with our Trip Advisor readers, we are delighted to read that you have had such a marvelous time with us.
As you mention, Maroma is full of romance, it is a true sense of place to discover the Mexican Culture and enjoy its 327 meters or 357 yards of pristine beach for only 63 rooms and suites. With a unique proposal, Maroma will take you into a secluded and exclusive getaway to relax and fall in love again and again with your beloved ones.
All our best wishes for 2014 and we look forward to welcome you back in your Mexican home.

Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Maroma is a special place, a former estate converted to a boutique hotel. The service is fantastic, with at least one staff member per guest. The spa service providers were as good as anywhere in the world. The beach lounges are the nicest I have seen and plentiful for every couple to have one, with friendly staff providing drinks and food. The couple mile beech with four or five bigger hotels spread out along it is perfect. The yoga guy and tennis pro were excellent. Nice and quiet if that is what you are seeking. However, everything is expensive and you are charged for everything. If you budget the all-in cost and can afford it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Steven C,
Many thanks for all your complimentary words and taking the time to share your experience with us with our Trip Advisor readers, we truly appreciate it as it gives us the motivation to keep on protecting this little piece of heaven that we call home. We have painstakingly selected our family members to offer to our guest but the most professional expertise in the Region and we are happy to acknowledge that we have fulfilled our goal. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Our best wishes for you and your beloved ones for 2014.
Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Spent a week at this charming resort, with wonderful food, terrific service and great beach. The staff couldn't be more helpful or responsive. The birds, however,were another story. They swooped down and ate the food but it was more amusing than anything else, and led to a lot of smiles. We even had an ice cream vendor on the beach who served us fresh lemon sorbet in cones and even fresh apples every day. A delightful woman made fresh corn gorillas every am and gave us hot quesadillas.. The only possible negative is that it is quite isolated so that going into town necessitates a 20 minute cab ride which is a round trip cost of 50 bucks. If you want to leave the resort, I would highly recommend renting a car...
The only thing I would recommend to the resort is having some scheduled activities during the downpours which lasted all day long.

Room Tip: Rooms on the oceanfront by the beach may have some noise if there is a wedding that weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainlinebooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear mainlinebooker,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us with our Trip Advisor readers, we are so happy to read that you had a gastronomic adventure while your stay in your Mexican Home. We truly appreciate your feedback and we will work hard as we believe we can improve on perfect and make our little paradise even better for your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again and again!

Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The Maroma offers a quiet and restful vacation. Everything was perfect, our suite was steps to the beach. The service everywhere was fabulous; the chef Juan Pablo goes beyond your expectations. He is out with the staff and guests asking what they would like to eat and how they want it prepared, and each night he did whatever you wanted, the food was great! The staff will know who you are and your name , always with a smile and asking if you need anything. Maria makes fresh tortillas every morning. Victor and Luis in restaurant were wonderful. Coffee is outside your door every morning..fresh and hot ! The spa was just simply idealic, I have never seen a spa like this, all lit with candles, all private treatment rooms..beautiful..

Room Tip: Try for ocean front junior suite...simply wonderful !!!! Rooms on north side are quiet. The grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Cindy N,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind comments with our Trip Advisor readers, I am delighted to read that you had a joyful and amazing time with us. As you mention, our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage team, will make sure you and your beloved ones are having an outstanding culinary experience and our awarded Kinan Spa was built aligned with the stars and under the Sacred Mayan Geometry to assure the energy flows, Kinan means the energy of the sun in Mayan, I am very happy to acknowledge that you could relax with us. We will make sure to share your comments with our family and we hope to welcome you back in your Mexican home!

I wish you all the best for 2014.

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Was only there for lunch and even though the weather wasn't great, it' was wonderful. Absolutely beautiful setting, first rate service and menu. Don't miss the guacamole. And the margaritas are pretty darned good too. Go!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PRCheryl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear PRCheryl_11,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review even in your short visit with us. We totally agree with you, our guacamole is a delicious proposal not to miss while visiting El Restaurante and our legendary Maroma Margarita is a must, we are so happy that you enjoyed them!
We truly appreciate that you could experience our Maroma lifestyle and we hope to have you back as a guest of our little paradise in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,128 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,245 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,739 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: £399 - £951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among verdant jungle beside a white, sandy beach, Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa is one of Mexico’s top luxury hotels. Here you can start the day with yoga and end with a session in a traditional temazcal sauna. Spend lazy days in ocean and poolside restaurants or stroll through flower-filled gardens where parrots and butterflies perch. Explore some of Mexico’s great heritage sites, dive in mysterious underwater caves or shop till you drop in Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing