We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding boutique destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An outstanding boutique destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Maroma. The highlight is definitely the location, beach and the service - all of the staff genuinely seem to love their jobs and were delightful (there are too many to mention but Miguel at breakfast, Carlos at dinner, the Restaurant Captain and the guys on the beach and hospitality team were all exceptional). We were on our honeymoon so initially a little disappointed we weren't upgraded given the resort seemed quiet, our room (with an ocean view) was small, perfectly functional, cozy and lovely - we initially envied the balcony lounges of the room next door but needn't have worried - we spent all our time on the beach. The welcome and tour on arrival is genuinely helpful and special, the restaurants and food experiences each night are all exceptional and the guys that work in the beach bar and assist with beach chairs and drinks are are absolutely incredible! It's a long way from Australia but we will definitely be back! Recommend staying longer than a few days, splurge on an ocean view (you won't be disappointed), ignore Playa del Carmen and just enjoy the resort, particularly the snorkelling and diving (even for those uncertified) is a must. Make this your last stop as it's hard to beat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SYD_Aus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. As I always say, there is only one way to have a happy guest and that is having a happy team!

Therefore, the entire team is looking forward to welcome you back in our little paradise for more amazing experiences, if not this year for your first anniversary.

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    132
    46
    32
    17
See reviews for
120
686
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our second visit to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa was every bit as good as the first. Perhaps even better. This time we stayed in an Oceanview Room on the far south end of the resort. It faced a beautiful pool and was near the gym and water sports facilities. Our room was clean and cool, which are my two main requirements when on a beach vacation.

I love the white stuccos walls, thatched palapa roofs, and handmade Mexican tiles. It is the perfect antithesis to the 500 room all-inclusive cookie cutter mega-resorts in the Mayan Riviera. Lush tropical landscaping, quiet pathways lit by candlelight, gentle ocean breezes – a soothing vacation for weary travelers.

The beach was as spectacular as I had remembered. Are they the world’s most amazing beach beds? I have yet to experience any better in my travels throughout Mexico and the Caribbean, so I say yes! They rest gently on a wide swath of powdery soft white sand, small waves lapping in the distance, and plenty of shade available from the beach umbrellas.

Don’t leave the beach between two and three in the afternoon, otherwise you will miss out on the delivery of fresh sorbet or ice cream scooped into a small cone just for you. Delicious!

The food was excellent. We attended the Cantina Dinner on our first night, which is an absolute must! The small plates, paired drinks, and mingling with other guests was fun and enjoyable. The remaining nights we sat at Freddy’s Bar and ordered off of one of the many restaurant menus. Lunch was always taken on our beach bed.

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway at a small resort with great food and service on a beautiful beach then Belmond Maroma is the perfect place for you. Be sure to book through your favorite Virtuoso advisor to get the complimentary amenities!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuxuryTravelWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

This is for sure one of the most extremely detailed feedback that we ever had, and this proof that second versions can be even better, thank you for sharing with this huge community not only your feedback but your pictures.

It is always a true pleasure to host our guests and embrace them in our handmade hospitality, the unique activities and our distinctive food.

We look forward to welcome you back in your next visit, until then...

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The property was perfectly lovely with only 63 rooms and the staff very friendly. I would have given it 5 stars but there were a few tiny little details that could have been improved. The flowers in the entrance way and around the entire hotel were really skimpy and not always fresh. We had a couples massage with was very nice but he flowers in the Spa vases were rancid and smelled in both the male and female spa areas. I pointed that out and they were removed.
We elected to take their SUV service to pick us up costing $140.00. I would recommend taking a taxi at $60.00. The cabs are clean and have very good AC.
We really enjoyed the staff especially the bartender Manuel and a server named Victor. We met Chef Pablo that is french trained and very knowledgeable and adorable. The menu in the two restaurants looks small but if there is anything you want they will make it for you. Twice a week they have a tequila pairing dinner limited to 12 people that is worth experiencing even if you don't like tequila. The food was really good and it was fun to visit with some other guests while learning about the finer points of Mescal and Tequila.
This resort is not a party place. It is a place to go with your Sweetie for a getaway. We travel with usually two other couples but chose this place since we were going alone. The bar closes early and there is no night life and no TV's in rooms. We loved the solitude and enjoyed our trip very much.
Two tips...take a cab to Tulum and then to Playa Del Carmen for the day. The resort has private and semi private tours but it is so much better to get our own driver. You can stay as long as you want at the ruins in Tulum and then hit the amazing shopping and restaurants in Playa Del Carmen. Hundreds of fun shops and great bars and restaurants all on the ocean front. Our driver for the whole day was $250.00.

Room Tip: Rooms by the main building are convenient but don't always have the best view. It is nice to hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest Stephie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with the TripAdvisor community.

Your feedback is of the utmost importance to me in our daily efforts of providing the service and attention to detail you deserve. Overall, I am glad to read that despite the few tiny little details you enjoyed your overall experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to this your paradise home away from home.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviera Maya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 2 days in April 2014 expecting a high quality facility. We were given a dark, very small room, minimal view and with a bathroom barely large enough for one person. We complained and were changed to a very good quality room on the second day. The resort has too much variability in the size and quality of rooms to risk selecting this for a vacation site. Before going to the Belmond Maroma we stayed 3 days at another resort in the area - with phenomenal facilities - at a little more than 1/2 the price of the Maroma. We would not return to the Belmond Maroma.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Kathy,

Your feedback is of the utmost importance to me in our daily efforts of providing the service and attention you deserve.

From the moment Belmond Maroma was thought up, it was done considering that each room would be different in size and distribution, allowing our guests to live a different experience on every return visit. I am sorry to learn that, in this occasion and despite the fact that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade and that this second room did meet your expectations, that you did not enjoyed your overall experience.

At this point, I have but to apologize for the inconveniences encountered and would very much appreciate the opportunity of erasing this experience and the image you currently have of our little paradise in a future visit. Should your future plans bring you back to this part of the Caribbean, I will be more than happy to personally assist you with your accommodations and will gladly arrange a complimentary upgrade to the next category, while pampering you with our handmade hospitality to ensure you have the vacation of your dreams.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with future dates, in the meantime, all best to you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our second visit to Maroma and will not be our last! The beach is extraordinary, accommodations are beautiful and food is first rate. But what makes this the perfect vacation spot is the incredibly kind and thoughtful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Nothing is more satisfying than to know that our guests get back home still marveled by their recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa.

This will always be your paradise home away from home, in the meantime you come back for the third time, sunny greetings from magical Maroma.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our first time at Maroma Resort to celebrate our anniversary. We had an amazing beach front suite right on the beach. We loved the amazing service, incredible food. It was not cheap but worth every penny. can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank smartbaby0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Our biggest satisfaction is to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, on behalf our staff, thank you for sharing your feedback with the community of TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in your next visit, until then...

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Me and my husband stayed there for our 10th anniversary and loved it.

Food 10
Service 10
Beach 10
Accomodations (We stayed in a OneBedroom suite) 10
Prices 10

If you are looking for a place to stayed and lay down on the beach this is your right getaway.....We loved Adrian @ Hospitality, his formed 5 diamonds experience improved our vacations to the next level, so pleasant, so accurate, so helpful.

We will be back for our family year vacations.

Room Tip: Stay in Onebedrooms or ask for a MasterOceanView
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa and for your comment about Adrian, that I’ll make sure he gets it. Please know that nothing is more satisfying than to learn we have met our valued guests' expectations.

We will continue offering nothing but outstanding food, the best beach and the warmest top notch staff you will ever meet.

Maroma Family looks forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next vacation.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,644 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Property: Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, an award-winning luxury beach resort hotel on the Riviera Maya, Mexico. Experience the magic and the beauty of profound well-being in an eternal paradise located in a breathtaking corner of the Yucatan jungle on the Riviera Maya. Enjoy also One of the finest Playa del Carmen restaurants, El Restaurante's eclectic daytime menu offers offers an array of delicious regional specialties. Baja California style shrimp tacos, pescadillas, panuchos and sopes are some of the delicacies on offer. By nightfall, tables glow with candlelight, while a band serenades diners. Be tantalised by our executive chef's interpretation of traditional Mexican cuisine. Dishes include crispy duck tacos with salsa borracha, seafood pozole and lobster enchiladas. El Sol Tapas & Restaurant combines exquisite Mediterranean-style cuisine with a unique Pre-Hispanic Mexican twist. With a relaxed ambiance, large windows afford uninterrupted sea views. The tapas-style menu features a symphony of flavors. Feel your tastebuds tingle as sharp citrus contrasts with olive oils and chilies. Complement your dish with a selection from our international wine list. Or try a new-generation Mexican wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing