We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing white sand beach!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hidden Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing white sand beach!!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel was definitely one of our all time favorites, it is a smaller, boutique hotel with the most incredible white sand beach in the area. There is a woman in the lobby making homemade tortillas every morning -- all the food was fresh and the staff was very accommodating. The spa was also beautiful and Carmen gave the best massages!! The feel there is very unique compared to the other all-inclusive hotels in the area, which are very large and impersonal. Our kids loved it too, there is a great hang out room for them and the kids are safe running around the property alone. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: try for ocean view or front rooms or the birds in the jungle area may wake you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiyahunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor readers. I am happy to learn you had such a wonderful experience.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming your family back to our little paradise for more amazing experiences to live and share.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    135
    46
    33
    17
See reviews for
125
692
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riviera Maya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Belmond Maroma Resort is everything and more of what I expected for my trip to Mexico. The beach is so beautifull, the coral reef makes it to have a blue, calm and warm water. The resort has the charm of the Mexican/Mayan architecture. It Is private and exclusive. The food is to die for. I travel all over the world because of my job and this trip is on my top best ones. I was sad to have to leave the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Divina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa for your stay and for sharing your great experience with all Trip Advisor´s readers.

If your job or your personal activities bring you back to this zone, we all will be glad to host you again in your new Mexican home.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is stunning. Fabulous location, pristine beach, beautiful property, great rooms with lovely linens and bathroom amenities, good restaurant choices on the property. Super attentive staff. Freddie at the Beach Bar has some great stories It's about a 30 minute drive from the airport in Cancun, a $100 taxi fare, and 20 minutes into Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest Hilary,

Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to share it with our TripAdvisor readers. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you in your new Mexican home.

We look forward to host you again in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, until then…

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Thank you everyone at Belmond Maroma Resort and Spa! From the moment I called to reserve (after reading all the Trip Advisor reviews), and throughout my week long stay - enjoying the most magnificent beach with people like Johnny who greets you with a smile, bringing you ice cold bottles of water and making sure you're comfortable and well taken care of to people like Freddie, at Freddie's Bar who also want to make sure whatever you may request is responded with an ease and that smile! The Spa was truly spectacular with Carmen or Bruce who knowingly help release all unwanted tension. The entire staff, who are like a warm and caring family, is there to take care of you from the most simplest of needs. The soothing beauty of the setting, the special detail to the environment designed to immerse oneself into the cultural and artistic sensibilities, enhance one's sense of wonder while affording opportunities for relaxation - a breathtaking respite from the realities and challenges in living and in life. Just what the Dr. ordered... a wonderful way to refuel and rejuvenate whether as a couple or single, it's the escape we fantasize about.. and Thank You Maroma for helping to make it a reality!

Room Tip: room 9 - master ocean view suite - spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna8824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest Donna,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and with a wider audience as TripAdvisor is. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa and got a true authentic experience, full of delightful gastronomic flavors at our privileged location in the Riviera Maya. Be sure that I’ll be sharing your comments with our happy team.

We look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future in our little Paradise.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

From the winding approach bordered by dense tropical growth, a guest arrives at a handsomely designed resort with stucco architecture and thatched roofs in Mexican style nestled along an azure and aqua sea with inviting warm temperatures and an uncrowded beach furnished with comfortable lounges. Attentive staff are quick to offer help and service at every turn. The food is outstanding not only in its variety but also in taste, a real asset since the beach, the pools, the spa lull the guests into total relaxation. Truly, a paradise for anyone who likes a beautiful, soothing escape with excellent food. The wedding we attended was magical, to boot. My favorite view of the Gulf was from our private balcony surrounded by tropical trees. For beach lovers, a stellar resort.

Room Tip: Our second-floor corner room had a superb balcony, but the closet was in the bathroom. We moved fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest Alison,

I sincerely thank you, on behalf of our hotel and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.
We are delighted to know that your stay at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa was perfect and met your expectations.

This will always be your paradise home away from home, in the meantime you come back, sunny greetings from magical Maroma.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Maroma. The highlight is definitely the location, beach and the service - all of the staff genuinely seem to love their jobs and were delightful (there are too many to mention but Miguel at breakfast, Carlos at dinner, the Restaurant Captain and the guys on the beach and hospitality team were all exceptional). We were on our honeymoon so initially a little disappointed we weren't upgraded given the resort seemed quiet, our room (with an ocean view) was small, perfectly functional, cozy and lovely - we initially envied the balcony lounges of the room next door but needn't have worried - we spent all our time on the beach. The welcome and tour on arrival is genuinely helpful and special, the restaurants and food experiences each night are all exceptional and the guys that work in the beach bar and assist with beach chairs and drinks are are absolutely incredible! It's a long way from Australia but we will definitely be back! Recommend staying longer than a few days, splurge on an ocean view (you won't be disappointed), ignore Playa del Carmen and just enjoy the resort, particularly the snorkelling and diving (even for those uncertified) is a must. Make this your last stop as it's hard to beat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SYD_Aus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. As I always say, there is only one way to have a happy guest and that is having a happy team!

Therefore, the entire team is looking forward to welcome you back in our little paradise for more amazing experiences, if not this year for your first anniversary.

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our second visit to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa was every bit as good as the first. Perhaps even better. This time we stayed in an Oceanview Room on the far south end of the resort. It faced a beautiful pool and was near the gym and water sports facilities. Our room was clean and cool, which are my two main requirements when on a beach vacation.

I love the white stuccos walls, thatched palapa roofs, and handmade Mexican tiles. It is the perfect antithesis to the 500 room all-inclusive cookie cutter mega-resorts in the Mayan Riviera. Lush tropical landscaping, quiet pathways lit by candlelight, gentle ocean breezes – a soothing vacation for weary travelers.

The beach was as spectacular as I had remembered. Are they the world’s most amazing beach beds? I have yet to experience any better in my travels throughout Mexico and the Caribbean, so I say yes! They rest gently on a wide swath of powdery soft white sand, small waves lapping in the distance, and plenty of shade available from the beach umbrellas.

Don’t leave the beach between two and three in the afternoon, otherwise you will miss out on the delivery of fresh sorbet or ice cream scooped into a small cone just for you. Delicious!

The food was excellent. We attended the Cantina Dinner on our first night, which is an absolute must! The small plates, paired drinks, and mingling with other guests was fun and enjoyable. The remaining nights we sat at Freddy’s Bar and ordered off of one of the many restaurant menus. Lunch was always taken on our beach bed.

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway at a small resort with great food and service on a beautiful beach then Belmond Maroma is the perfect place for you. Be sure to book through your favorite Virtuoso advisor to get the complimentary amenities!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuxuryTravelWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

This is for sure one of the most extremely detailed feedback that we ever had, and this proof that second versions can be even better, thank you for sharing with this huge community not only your feedback but your pictures.

It is always a true pleasure to host our guests and embrace them in our handmade hospitality, the unique activities and our distinctive food.

We look forward to welcome you back in your next visit, until then...

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,715 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Property: Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, an award-winning luxury beach resort hotel on the Riviera Maya, Mexico. Experience the magic and the beauty of profound well-being in an eternal paradise located in a breathtaking corner of the Yucatan jungle on the Riviera Maya. Enjoy also One of the finest Playa del Carmen restaurants, El Restaurante's eclectic daytime menu offers offers an array of delicious regional specialties. Baja California style shrimp tacos, pescadillas, panuchos and sopes are some of the delicacies on offer. By nightfall, tables glow with candlelight, while a band serenades diners. Be tantalised by our executive chef's interpretation of traditional Mexican cuisine. Dishes include crispy duck tacos with salsa borracha, seafood pozole and lobster enchiladas. El Sol Tapas & Restaurant combines exquisite Mediterranean-style cuisine with a unique Pre-Hispanic Mexican twist. With a relaxed ambiance, large windows afford uninterrupted sea views. The tapas-style menu features a symphony of flavors. Feel your tastebuds tingle as sharp citrus contrasts with olive oils and chilies. Complement your dish with a selection from our international wine list. Or try a new-generation Mexican wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing