We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax with family, friends and enjoy what this resort has to offer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
iowa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to relax with family, friends and enjoy what this resort has to offer.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with my daughter and her friends for their graduation. Worried at first because of the rainn and the girls would be bored. As we were walking toward the beach we could hear singing at the bar. Came up on our 5 girls signing and playing games. I think they won over all the staff!. The rain did not stop them from enjoying the resort. From beach volleyball to pool volleyball to Zumba and pictures with creatures, they truely enjoyed themselves! The staff was very kind and helpful. Rooms clean and food was good! Beach was very nice. And the entertainment was good. If you plan enjoying the resort this is a great place!. All of us really enjoyed our stay. If your the kind of person that wants to walk to different attractions like shopping or restaurants this would not be the place to go .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbopop6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,491
    2,577
    705
    286
    204
See reviews for
2,081
3,705
119
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

we stayed from june23 to july2 had a great time. check in was easy.food was good.we ate lunch every day at the Tapp Rest. upstairs that over looks the beach and water.walked every day both ways on the beach.had a bannan split every day and lose 8 lbs.we are going back in Oct.this year cant wait.

Room Tip: get the upgrade so you can eat at the Tapp rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeWayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It was a couple's trip, and we booked through expedia. Got a great deal for a week at this hotel in a privilege room in building 6 by the poolside, and beach.

The rooms in buildings 6 are modern with a mini fridge that the staff keeps stock with water, two beers, and sodas. The bed is super comfortable, and the room was incredibly clean. If you leave any "valuables" out, room service will not clean your room.

The best part of the hotel is the beach, playa maroma is incredibly nice even on a rainy day. They have a lot of seating (lounging) areas, and if you are staying in a privilege room than there is a designated area for you on the beach that provides more seating.

The pool is great, the spa facilities are great, overall the facilities are clean, and modern.

The staff is incredibly nice, attentive, and most of them speak about 2-3 languages so it is easy to communicate with them.

Overall, I would return to Catalonia Playa Maroma, and would recommend this resort to family and friends. It is close to playa del carmen's ferri to cozumel, and most of the attractions like xcaret, xplor, xelha, xenotes, and tulum.

Room Tip: Book a "privilege room" in building 6, the closest to the beach. Great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bay_livin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

we traveled to this resort mid July. their were five in my party , three rooms, out of new York city at a cost of $5800. that's a avg of $ 1160 person with one person solo in a room.
this review will be a little mixed their are some great points and a few bad. so here we go
I booked this hotel because of the beach . this beach is the best in Mexico. I also put it right next to Turks - grace bay and seven mile beach in Cayman. the beach is outstanding white sand , clear water , not one rock in the water. I could just sit there and look for hours. I rate the beach a ten so how is that statement. . some locals selling thing walking around. but nobody hounding you. . this is a family place so if your not up at 7am to get a hut you will be out of luck. . no problem getting towels . their are waiters taking drink orders on the beach . I don';t use them . I bring a small cooler from home and fill it with water and other drinks and get ice from the bar. so let me point out one more time the beach is great!!!!!!!. we were at the beach from 10am to 6;30 PM .also one week of great weather no rain. also the sea water temp felt like it was high 80's . it was just great.
the hotel is a little old but clean . the front desk were fine no problem checking in . the rooms were not ready at first by it was 11am by 2pm we were set.
the rooms were a little old but clean . no problem with the room. not over looking the beach . but that's what i paid for. . no problem with hot water taking a shower . the maid did a great job. the a/c worked but not great. it was cool at best. . but i was their for the beach. so really no problem with the rooms.
the food was i think above avg for a an all-inc resort. the service at the restaurants was very good all waiters spoke English. also in the buffet the service was great. one think i did not like in the restaurants was no coffee after dinner. ( i think i know why . i work in rest's in new York city. when you get Europeans drinking coffee and smoking you can't get them from the table.]
so all and all the food was very good.
the shows - did not watch one.
the beach party . one night they had a band on the beach . a lot a fun..
BBQ on the beach- BBQ on the beach chicken was great..( 2 days)
the gym - a few things no good
the grounds - spotless ... but ....
late night bar- did not go
the lobby - ok not much going on . i don't think its set up so great. nothing like the lobbies in punta cana. . also just sitting around the bar . it gets a little to much with the Europeans smoking kids 17, 18 mothers and fathers just sitting smoking .
the bar- my wife and sister had a few beers , no mixed drinks and i don't drink. so it looks ok . the service was good . so no problem...
here is the problem with hotel. the walkways to the rooms and lobby are surrounded by large trees in a wooded area. inside the walkways their are small pools of water[swamps] . the bugs are just too much a night. i am sure they spay by it's just to much. sitting outside at night the kids got bitten . so bring bug spay $12 for a bottle of off.
we went to town one night $40 dollars each way ( five in my party), the price jumps up from 4 people $25 to 5 for $40. .we walked around and had a great dinner. the same driver meet us at 1130 pm . no problem at all.
let me close this out with i still don't know if i like the resort because of the bugs. the beach is great , food if above avg, rooms we old but clean. so what's the problem . the bugs at night. . also i wrote it the forum regarding this issue and some were hard on me. . i have travel for the past 25 -28 years and have been to over 25 all incl resorts and never had a bug problem . maybe it was bad time. it rained a week before . but we had a week of not one drop of rain. .the price is right . so would i return i think i would try one more time.... and one more time beach ,beach , beach... any question just e mail .. thanks

Room Tip: just sleep on the beach that's how good it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jack1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The beach is unbelievable amazing, beautiful with turquoise water, soft white sand, no rocks, you can walk to the right where there are no another hotels and you will feel like you are in paradise. The basic rooms however are really simple, with old style tile showers, the sink is outside, not in the bathroom, what is not that great at night if you want to use it, the food was just ok, the pool and hall just ok, nothing really amazing about that. So maybe its good to pay extra for a better rooms. So if you don't care about the rooms and love beautiful beaches then this is the right place for you, it is really one of the most beautiful beaches in Mexico I ever saw.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filomena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I feel I owe it to Tripadvisor to review since this trip was based off many hours spent reading reviews of the hotels in Riviera Maya. We traveled to celebrate our first anniversary and were able to get an incredible deal through Travelocity for a privileged package. I would absolutely upgrade to the privileged because it allows much more freedom in where you are able to eat.
I was anxious about our arrival because it seemed like other travelers were not happy with it. Since we were arriving 3 hours before check-in, I thought we would be sitting around sweating and waiting for our all-inclusive bracelets. I had nothing to worry about, however, because we were greeted quickly and a bell hop almost simultaneously took the bags from our hands and put a margarita in its place! After trying to persuade us into upgrading to the honeymoon suite, we were allowed early check-in into our room. They honored my request to be on a higher floor in a non-smoking room. The room was nice, but did not have a view from our patio. We found the beds to be plenty comfortable and made sure to tip around $5 or $6 a day for housekeeping.

The beach lives up to the rave reviews...large with powder pink/white sand and amazing turquoise water! We were able to take morning runs along it and long walks, which afforded beautiful pictures. We are morning people and were staying at the hotel during low season so we had no trouble getting loungers under the palapas (we put towels out before 8:30am most days). I could see how staying here in high season would be annoying and would encourage the "towel game".

We really enjoyed our meals at the Italian and Mexican restaurant. The best restaurant was Terrace Tapas, not only for the food, but for the magnificent views. We enjoyed several lunches and our anniversary dinner there. Again, since it was low season we never had to wait for a table and felt the service was up to par. The only spot that did have a line was the bar, but the bartenders were working as fast as they could! They definitely deserve to be tipped, as do the wait staff. The mixed drinks were not so great, as the mix came out of a beverage gun. A great tip I picked up from Tripadvisor is to bring your own mug. The cups that drinks are served in are teeny and it prevents you from having to get up and down to much! Some people found these party mugs, but my husband and I still laugh about how we brought insulated coffee mugs and it was an ends to the same means!

There was not a whole lot to do besides enjoy the beautiful beach, so if you are looking for a party atmosphere stay elsewhere. I would highly recommend traveling in July, as the weather was absolutely perfect and the hotel could not have even been half full.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LR72712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at this resort and if we came back, there is a reason: the resort offers a very good quality holiday for the money you pay. In particular, if you come with children they will find foods and entertainment adequate for them (this is a concern for mine, after some lousy experiences in other all inclusives). Although, not documented fully here on Tripadvisor, please consider that I am a seasoned traveller and sampled quite many hotels and quality resorts in my life. Not everything is perfect at this resort, but it is one of the best compromises for the price you pay. It faces a white sand beach well maintained by the staff. I recommend the privileged rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,747 reviews
8.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,347 reviews
8.3 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#101 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,379 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,783 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Property: Catalonia Playa Maroma
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 306+250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing