We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could have spent another week here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We could have spent another week here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

ROOM
We stayed on the 3rd floor in Cobá, and our friends in one of the honeymoon suites on the 2nd. The rooms were handsomely appointed, with a great balcony that we used surprisingly more than anticipated. The hotel was full of surprises, receiving birthday cake one night, and birthday decor another. We really felt at home in the spacious room and appreciated how quiet and peaceful our building was.

FOOD & DRINK
The food was pretty typical to slightly above average for a medium-large scale resort. The restaurants were definitely a perk - no reservations needed and elevated food and service over the standard buffet. Our faves were: breakfast - La Terraza or buffet ; lunch - La Terraza; dinner - La Tortuga.

Drink was plentiful and the bartenders work HARD because there's only one bar at the pool and another far away in the lobby. If you tip the pool/beach waiters, they tend to stick around and save you the trip to wait in line.

POOL & BEACH
There is only one pool, but it relatively huge for the location and varies from 0' - 7'6. Chairs (and umbrellas or canopies) are plentiful and fairly easy to come by at most times of the day. I always appreciate resorts where I don't have to wake up at 5am to go put a towel out on a chair.

The beach is absolutely gorgeous - white sand, crystal water and huge. With the reef running along the area, probably one of the nicest beaches and water in Riviera.

EXCURSIONS
We went on a snorkeling excursion which departs from about 2mi down the beach from the resort. The trip had many add-ons if you were interested, and was a great time, however, we could have just as easily swam or kayaked to the reef's edge from the resort itself had we known the snorkeling location. At the end of the snorkeling, you can ride the Spinnaker, which is essentially a sail off the back of the catamaran, with a rope along the bottom that you ride - this was the absolute best part of the day and I would have travelled just to do this.

We also rented wave runners from one of the huts just north of the resort…you might have to bargain a little, but it's an awesome location for jetting on the ocean!

HOTEL STAFF
Everyone is SO friendly, I was well impressed!

I rarely get too involved in activities or entertainment on vacation, but the animation staff (especially Jesus!!) were so much fun I couldn't help it. Make sure you see the live shows at night in the theater - they're better than some performances we've paid to see on vacation!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Privileged. About half the hotel is Privileged, the other half standard, but it's wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xTopherStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,228
    2,426
    657
    271
    195
See reviews for
1,906
3,458
114
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is a joke, this is not a real vacation spot, this is a club med cheesy tourist trap.
The first night we arrived our room was not available due to over booking. On the first night of our HONEYMOON we stayed in a hot room with no AC and no working Fridge. There was a 3 inch gap between the door frame and the wall entering the room. The bed was two twin mattress's pushed together and was as hard as a rock. They were playing Pit Bull at the pool at 110 decibels throughout most of 6 day trip there. Every single drink is made with the cheapest mixes they could possibly find and any frozen drinks contain 3-5 ice cubes for a nice warm liquidy drink. Most of the mixes including the Neon Green margarita mix are dispensed through a drink gun which gives them all a terrible metal taste. We did not have even ONE decent drink the entire time. More than once when we ordered a drink they were out of Tequila, or ice, or the line was 20 people deep.
There was never anywhere with any shade to sit at the beach. Don't expect any beach service. The buffets did have a couple ok items but overall i would not want to eat there ever again. For breakfast they have espressos or cappuccinos that you can order but be sure to ask 4-5 waiters 5-6 times for one if you really want it. I could go on and on but this was just a terrible trip. All Inclusive is not a good deal they work in quantity not quality and that is not what vacations are about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seatsbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico R, Gerente at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We would like to thank you for expressing your views on TripAdvisor. We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay at our hotel. We do value and encourage guest feedback as it allows us to make improvements and helps us to maintain consistent high standards of customer service.
First of all we are very sorry for the inconvenience you had at your arrival in our hotel, I would like to mention that this was an exceptional situation, we can assure you that we always do our very best to avoid overbooking situations, and in case they do occur we try to affect less we can to our clients. Due the inconvenience of downgrade the room, you were offered with a lobster dinner or a couple massage.
However, we are very concerned for your comments, as it seems that you did not receive the level of service you were expecting from us. Rest assured that all these information have been forwarded to the persons responsible of each department involved and that the appropriate measures have already been taken in order to ensure our purpose: your satisfaction.
Although we would like to say that we have looked into our files and we did not have any record or information with regards of any similar situation of what you said you experienced with us. Our Guest Service staff is always available for assisting our clients and we are sure that if you would have mentioned your discontentment, it would have been a pleasure for us to help you and this situation could be ended differently.
We appreciate your observations about the drinks we offer in our restaurants and bars. Rest assured that we take all opinions very seriously and moreover those that make us improve the quality of our service. I would like to clarify that we do not offer drink service on the beach, our staff is focused on cleaning the areas and occasionally they bring drinks to the guests, but it is not mandatory to provide that service.
In Catalonia Playa Maroma we truly care about the comfort and satisfaction for our clients. Our guests are all important and all receive the same kind, friendly, warm and welcoming environment that characterizes us, following the policy and philosophy of Catalonia Hotels: good hotels.
Yours sincerely,

Management Catalonia Playa Maroma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have been traveling to the Riviera Maya for 15 years and have made at least 25 trips staying in around 18 resorts. We traveled with our entire (and big - 32 of us) family ages ranging from 6 to 76. I was so excited to find a Catalonia on Maroma Beach because we had stayed at the Catalonia Riviera Maya twice before and it was perfect for our family get togethers. My husband and I also love Maroma Beach and have stayed at three resorts, four different times there, so I was thrilled to see that there was an affordable Catalonia on Maroma Beach. However, this resort wasn't even in the same hemisphere as the others. In fact, it was the worst resort we've ever stayed at in the entire time we've been going to Mexico. I won't mention every issue or I would never get through with the review.

First, I'll tell you the good. The beach is simply the best anywhere, that include Hawaii and the Bahamas. Nothing has ever come close to Maroma. Second, the grounds were beautiful.
Two things to mention that might be of interest to some. The resort only carries Pepsi products (no big deal to us) and second, if you require handicapped accessibility, it is difficult. The buildings are three stories with no elevators and although you might be able to stay on the first floor, there is so much walking because the majority of the rooms are exceptionally far from the beach and the main buffett is at the front of the resort - a very, very, long walk. Also, the spa was great, although if you like to lounge before or after a treatment, there is no place to do this. Ask for Norma for any treatment you get. She was fantastic. The ala carte restaurants were all good.

Okay, here goes. They ran out of basic stuff our entire seven day stay. Coffee? Out. Soda? Out. Tea? Out. TEQUILA? Out. Wine? Out. Quacamole? Out. Pico de gallo? Out. After one man had been told they had no tequilla and my husband was told they had no wine, I asked the bartender if it was because they were getting ready to close. He said no, they were just cleaning so I asked, "Well why don't you have these?" He looked at me and then left the bar and came back with wine. It wasn't that they didn't have it, it was that he didn't want to go and get more. However, the next day when I asked for more tea, they just kept saying they didn't have it and the same with the sodas and again with some of the liquors.

Also, they have a crepery and they constantly ran out of the ingredients so when you ordered, the cook would say he was out and just kept asking if you wanted chocolate. The buffet ran out of plates and bowls and we had to go in search of them. Several times when we asked for items, the staff would say they were going to get them and we never saw them again. The buffett was not air-conditioned and it was impossible to enjoy a meal because of the swealtering heat. Some of the fruit was also covered with gnats. There were three entree restaurants (Only available at night) that were air-conditioned but nothing with air-conditioning available in the day. If you buy the Priviledged package you are given a voucher for one meal at the Terrace Restaurant, but when several members of our group ate there and one had to wait two hours for food, and one group, 45 minutes just to be waited on, we decided not to even go.

Rooms: The rooms were great for a 3 star but several members of our group had significant issues, including us. Two of our rooms had little or no air-conditioning. We had a little so we just stuck it out, but my brother-in-law's family had none and the resort would not move them until after four nights. Also another of our party had sewage backup or something in their rooms and the stench was unbearable. They asked to be moved immediately and were moved to a room directly under where they had been. It too had the same problem (Bldg 2) and they asked again to be moved. They were told it would take three days. They checked the following day to make sure they would still be moved and were told they were now on a waiting list. They told the resort that was unacceptable because it was a sanitary issue and they were allowed to move on the third day.

The staff: some were friendly, others were not. Samantha at Privileged check in was rude to three different members of our group at seperate times. It wasn't like other resorts where everyone went out of their way to be friendly but no harm, no foul. HOWEVER, when one of my brother-in-laws went to exchange towels, the three attendents were talking and when he asked to have them change them, they told him to get them himself. Jesus with the activities staff was very nice and would stop and visit from time to time.

Now what I consider to be the worst part of the trip. The bathrooms at the beach were broken down every day. They had standing water on the floor and the toilets wouldn't flush the majority of the time. One day, they had no water at all. The only other bathroom that was even remotely close was a single user and it was up near the gift shops, far way from the beach.

I won't mention the other little things but it seemed to be one calamity after the next. I have just never seen another resort with so many issues. I don't know if this is a problem now with all Catalonias or just this one, but they've lost our business for good.

Room Tip: Building Two had sewage issues. The third floor rooms will not get cool. Rooms in all buildings exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank StacyDShelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico R, Gerente at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We would like to thank you for expressing your views on TripAdvisor. We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay at our hotel. We do value and encourage guest feedback as it allows us to make improvements and helps us to maintain consistent high standards of customer service.

We are honored you have chosen our hotel; Catalonia Playa Maroma is special for its privileged location and beautiful beaches. We appreciate the nice comments you said about our facilities and our staff, as we work and care about the comfort and satisfaction for our clients.

In our brochures and web site, it is not specified that we count with elevators, we are very sorry if you were informed differently. Our hotel has a typical Mexican structure “Hacienda style” and that is the reason you do not found elevators, but our facilities are suitable for handicap clients, we actually count with 4 handicap rooms available prior request, ramps, special chairs for the use and easy access to the beach.

In our hotel we do not deny any of our services, all drinks, liquors or food included on our menus were at your disposition. About the Tequila, we suppose that probably you did not find the tequila of your choice, but we do have different brands of it as Hornitos, Cuervo, 100 años, Jimador, etc, and we can assure that all our drinks run in a high quality.

However, we are very concerned for your comments, as it seems that you did not receive the level of service you were expecting from some of our staff. We have informed about it to the persons responsible of each department involved and all the appropriate measures have already been taken in order to ensure our purpose: your satisfaction.

We clearly inform about the facilities and services you are entitled to enjoy in our hotel and it is your decision to use either of those services. For restaurants, we manage a first in first served system and there is an estimated time to wait for a table, This is well explained by the hostess at each restaurant, so in case there is no a table available, you have the option to wait for it or try another restaurant.

I would like to mention that our Guest Service staff is always available for assisting our clients and we are sure that if you would have mentioned your discontentment, it would have been a pleasure for us to help you and this situation could be ended differently.

According with our room change policy, when a guest asks for a room change, our front desk department takes immediately note, trying to resolve it the same day or when our availability allow us to do it, we are very sorry for the inconvenience this may caused to you.

About the bathrooms at the beach, they are in a perfect working order. We have not had any complaints regarding this matter. We have a maintenance team at our guests’ disposal taking care of keep our facilities and services in good conditions.

For Catalonia Hotel our guests are all important and all receive the same kind, friendly, warm and welcoming environment that characterizes us, following the policy and philosophy of Catalonia Hotels: good hotels.

Sincerely,

Management Catalonia Playa Maroma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed May 22 thru 26. First to say, YES, we stayed in Building 5 Privileged accommodations. The grounds were beautiful, our room was really nice. Close to the pool and beaches. Loved the ceiling fan because I'm a "hot" sleeper. Seeing the Coati's on the path were sooo cute. The resort was not crowded at all. It was easy to get a beach and pool chair. The beach is nice and clean, and the water was fantastic. The only thing regrettable was the food. I'm not sure how they've come up with these dishes, but it definitely was NOT what I expected from a resort. Definitely subpar, even in the restaurants. It's like they cooked it all an then added whatever flavor for the type of restaurant. The local food that was home cooked for us on an excursion was 100 times better. Also the booze selection at this resort was sub par. NO PREMIUM liquor on the resort at all plus only two beers of Modelo was in the refrigerator each day. So the food and liquor get a rating of 2. The trip from the airport and into town were not far at all. Playa was an easy $25 cab ride each way to get to 5th Ave. Highly suggest going in to town. That way you can buy your premium liquor...that's what we had to do. The hotel had great staff and were very accommodating. There were plenty of non-English speakers as vistors so it was hard to meet other people, unless they spoke English. Overall, the resort is nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coop75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Catalonia Playa Maroma in May. It was a beautiful resort! I was so impressed with the grounds maintenance. Everything was clean and gorgeous. The beach was astounding. The grounds crew was very good about going down to the beach daily to clean away any accumulating seaweed.

The main downside was the food. I've said at all-inclusive resorts before, so I know the food isn't always great. However, I was very underwhelmed by the food at Catalonia Playa Maroma. The Italian restaurant was good, but everything else was sub par.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Samantha in Privileged check-in was amazing. She even offered us an upgrade to a suite which was the best decision we could have made. Beach front, ocean view only steps from the beach. Beautiful.

Staying in Playa Maroma was much better than Playa del Carmen. A lot less congested, quiet and more relaxing. Playa del Carmen is only a 15-20 minute drive away which is nice.

I definitely recommend this hotel simply because it was so well-maintained, and the staff was very friendly. Just remember the food isn't that great. Other than that, it's a good pick.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vstokes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I understand that it is all inclusive so the food isn't going to be great, but the food was really really bad. Breakfast was ok, but how hard is it to make eggs and bacon. The dinner locations were not as bad as lunch options or the buffet. I did not get to try Tio Pedro's due to we went into town to eat dinner the last night of our stay. The Steak house was ok, and the Italian restaurant was actually good. Other than food the Resort is AWESOME! They took very good care of the landscaping, and we always saw someone cleaning up. The staff was very nice, and respectful. We stayed in the beach front suite, and it was one of the nicer rooms we have had on vacation. I think I preferred this room to the butler suite we had with sandals in Exuma. The view was amazing, and the beach was top notch. Even though the food was bad we probably will come back due to the service, and how well maintained the resort was.

Room Tip: The Beach front suite is worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokesj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My Partner and I Stayed at Catalonia for 2 weeks and loved our time there.
beach is lovely we only had two resort in Maroma Beach. booked a privileged room with the extra money and we had been given a upgrade to a honeymoon suite which was a lovely surprise coming of a long flight from Australia.

Resort: very relaxed Not to big not to small beach is beautiful pool is big enough we joined in a few pool side activities for bingo and aqua gym.

Room: clean and tidy rooms everything we needed and a spa bath on the balcony the hotel is older then the bigger resorts but for the price its all you need.

restaurants: food was great loads of options for buffet everyday staff are lovely we also got to have dinner at 4 other restaurants Mexican,Spanish Tapas ,steakhouse and Italian.
on our stay we tried all 4 two favorites Tio Pedro - Modern Mexican was great! second was the Tapas lounge.

would highly recommend this resort to friends and family coming to Mexico, Catalonia Made our holiday even better the wildlife, beach and the staff.

Room Tip: Tickal villas good location in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,169 reviews
8.1 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#72 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,559 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Property: Catalonia Playa Maroma
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 306+250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing