We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Playa Maroma beach resort is magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Playa Maroma beach resort is magnificent”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beach is magnificent, turquoise waters, powdered white sands, miles of walkway left and right of the beach, great entertaining beautiful animacion staff, service is fine, lots of beach loungers & towels & kayaks, excellent buffet foods & fruit drinks, neat large rooms always cleaned daily * mini fridge restocked daily, Free WiFi and free safety deposit box.

Video is worth more than a thousand pictures so click this link and watch our video of the resort. Be sure to subscribe as I have more videos to upload including Secrets Maroma beach resort and Catalonia Royal tulum. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kMl4G7U0ZmU&list=PLFS6lyyu0ur3jFfb13NlTO6Jt2uQ5zjpZ

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,322
    2,482
    672
    274
    197
See reviews for
1,961
3,544
115
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Me and my husband spent part of our honeymoon in this village.
Rest assured that your agency book honey moon suite and you send your marriage certificate. If you can, make a copy and show it to the lobby. The treatment that we chose was priviledge, but despite this, the first room we were given was noisy because near the air conditioning local, the sight gave up a two-meter wall because of strong summer winds. The staff was very polite but we had to pay an additional fee to have a suitable room. The animation is not urgent but not of excellent quality.

Room Tip: You must ask for a room near the swimming pool with terrace and motor away from air conditioning. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My first time to Mexico, previous places I have been are Cyprus, Greece, Spain and Lanzarote. My boyfriend and I travelled here and we are both early 30's. Stayed for two weeks. We spent the first week in a Standard Room, the second week in a Privilidged Room.

* Grounds are lovley and well kept with pretty flowers everywhere. We saw a snake, a monkey, a blue crab, coati mundis, lizards, bats and birds galore!!

* Staff are helpfull and attentive and were quick to serve us but we did get to the restaurants early as we dont like to queue which would be nessecary after about 7.30pm.

* Beach and sea are lovley and not overcrowded if you walk a little away from the palapas and lougers - although could do with a few more shady Palapas on the Non Privilidged side of the beach.

* Food was plentifull and good quality - although breakfast in the buffet does start to become a little repetitive after the forst week, could do with a few more breakfast options. There were never any beans which was a shame for me.

* Rooms were both perfectly fine and spacious - although a weak shower in the Standard Room and leaking air con system in Privilidged Room were slight niggles.

Problem 1 - We stayed in building 3000 initially and sadly at around 9.30 pm most nights the hotel Secrets next door began playing extremly loud bassy music which was a real problem for us and stopped us sleeping till it finished which I think was around 11.00 pm. In the end a week in we asked to move rooms and this was arranged and we went to 5000 which was quieter.

Problem 2 - We had a man actually let himself into our room one night with a cleaner at around 10pm when we were sleeping. He was a member of staff and had a card top get in with, not sure what he wanted but this was unacceptable!!!!! We did complain about this the next day.

Problem 3 - We had cleaners knock our doors on three evenings after 8.00 pm bringing extra sheets or pillow cases. Not sure why they were knocking our doors so late when the room swere cleaned in the mornings. Slightly irritating.

Problem 4 - The corridors linking rooms were all tiled and the front doors didnt provide much of a sound barrier to the corridors outside which meant we often heard people coming and going at night returning to their rooms which woke us.

Problem 5 - Shower had no door and no matter how carefull we were we could not avoid partially flooding the floor in the bathroom. This happened in both room types.

Problem 6 - The Entertainment Team were a total annoyance around the pool, they spolit the ambience by playing very loud pop music and talking over the whole area on a microphone. Wether it be giving a running commentray on the Aqua gym or volley ball. It totally didnt fit with the lovley tropical surroundings which were all aimed at relaxation. This resort is not aimed at young party types as its too far away from the nightlife, so why they need to try and add this party feel I dont understand. if people want to party, they have Cancun. The reps were nice enough, just not needed here.

This hotel is lovley and tropical and has wildlife dotted thoughout, which was why we chose it, sea is amazing and warm and you can walk for over a mile each way along the coast. If they could address the little problems here and there it would be perfect! Although not much can be done about the noise from the hotel next door so maybe avoid building 3000 if possible!


Warning - It is very expensive to upgrade to the Privilidged status. (We got it for free due to complaining about a few different things) You do get a few extras, but before deciding to shell out for the upgrade, you should ask to see their printed list of exactley what extras you get and then take 5 minutes to decide if its worth it or not for you. It would have cost us an extra £300 each for us to upgrade for the two weeks and for that you didnt really get that much so read the list and take time to work out if its worth it for you!!!!!! Extras include robe, slippers and iron in your room, one dinner at a restaurant with a sea view (But you can only sit outside if your paying for the lobster dinner which is again extra!) and access to the beach side that has more shady Palapas. I re-itterate, ask for the A$ printed list and work out if its worth the extra for you. We were not Privilidged for the first week and didnt feel we missed out and we can compare both options.

All in all a lovley place to stay, ideal fo

Room Tip: Avoid building 3000 if noise at night will bother you! 5000 was quieter, can't comment about 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOUISE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico R, Gerente at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Louise,

We thank you very much for your review as it helps us to improve and continue to work hard on our standars.

We are really sorry to hear that you had a bad time with the noise in our hotel and that you were disturbed in the evening by our employees. Please note that if your second room was in building 5, you were in the Privileged section and the turn down service of the bed is included every day.

We would like to clarify one point. The Privileged concept described by you is not accurate. Indeed we have a document that we give to every Privileged guest and it is perfectly described that, besides all you mentioned, you have included:

Breakfast a la carte every day in our Terrace restaurant.
Lunch a la carte every day in our Terrace restaurant.
One dinner in our Terrace restaurant.
Room service.
One Access to our Spa wet areas.
Discounts in our shops and in Spa services.

It is important to mention that those services are ONLY for Privileged guests.

We apolgise again for the inconveniences and we hope that you consider to give us another opportunity.

Best regards,

Managemente Catalonia Playa Maroma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

WE SPENT A WEEK IN PLAYA MAROMA AND FOR ME WAS A REAL GREAT TIME.UNFORGETTABLE THE PLACE ,THE HOTEL ,GOOD FOOD,KIND PEOPLE.I FELT IN LOVE WITH MAYA CULTURE AND MISTERY OF ENCHANTED PLACES LIKE COBA,SHAN K'AN ,TULUM AND CHITCHEN ITZA',I REALLY RELAX MYSELF IN A NEW ENVIRONMENT PLENTY OF NATURAL,CULTURAL SUGGESTIONS AND GOOD HUMAN BEING.
MAYA PEOPLE VERY KIND AND ALWAYS WITH THE SMILE .
We went there at the end of April and we had a privileged room near the spa and the sea.Catalunya Playa Maroma is a large Resort immerged into nature with a large entrance hall and lobby where you can relax taking a coffee or staying on the sofas,good furniture,colonial but modern,one wonderful "carrozza" at the entrance.
Beside the lobby there is a large buffet restaurant and walking along the internal way to the sea admist the nature you can see koati ,a small and gentle animal , you arrive at the welness zone and to the swimming pool ,a large area back the sea and the beach . In the hotel there the alla inclusive treatment and you can drink and eat everywhere ,for the baech ,very beautiful, it epnd on your type or booking, the privileged area is on the left side with all the necessary ,don't forget to take bath robe to the corner at the swimming pool.
The most beautiful thing is the chaance you have to walk along the baech for many many hours and loosing your memory and identity....Very Amazing.
The hotel very comfortable, large spaces,good food,good location. It si a good point to start a tour of some historical and natural destinations.
Next year i hope will be back.

Room Tip: Privileged rooms near the spa are very comfortable because near to the restaurants and beach. Highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamytwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My 17 year old daughter and I spent 5 days and 4 nights here for a girls trip and it was absolutely fantastic. The resort itself is awesome! It's set back in the jungle and property is quite large and sits on one of the best beaches in Mexico. We felt safe the entire time we were there and had no problem leaving our things on our chairs while we got in the pool or strolled down the beach and participated in the activities the resort staff offered. I truly believe that the people who have been super critical of this resort might be a bit hard to please. I have NO complaints what so ever. Room was clean, quiet, comfortable and each night we had a towel pet placed on our bed welcoming us in for the night. This resort isn't overly partyish so it was perfect for us. The property shares the same stretch of pristine beach area as the much more expensive hotels such as Secrets. The food was just fine... we're not food experts nor do we base our experience off of what we eat. That is not what we traveled to Mexico for. But the fun thing about it for us was it enabled us to try things we might never try otherwise and we found some very tasty new treats. There is an open buffet available as well as 3-4 other choices of restaurants that in the evening you will need to get your name on the list to dine at. They don't do advance reservations anymore which is a good thing I think... that way you eat when you get ready. We usually ate around 7:00-8:00 time frame and there was usually about a 30-40 min wait. We then walked around enjoying the beauty of the resort/beach while we waited for our table. On our 4 night stay we got two dinners at the fancier restaurants plus one at the Tapas (Terrace) restaurant. We ate steak, Italian and of course the Tapas. They were all good. Favorite was probably the Tapas. It was a surprise for us since we don't normally each tapas and didn't really know what to expect. Two thumbs up! Breakfast there (Terrace) was also our favorite. Customer service was perfect for us... we don't need to be overly pampered and everyone always had a smile on their face and a friendly greeting. The grounds are immaculate... we are nature/animal people and this was PERFECT for us... you will encounter Coatis, an occasional iquana, beautiful birds, and the surprise for us was the monkey! :) Staff said there are 3 that reside on the premises. Two different mornings near the buffet entrance is where we saw her. We had hammocks next to our room although we didn't spend much time in those. Our building had a courtyard area that was lovely and we took lots of pics around the whole resort. Another surprise for us was the on location photographer that will take pics of you with exotic birds, iquanas, on the beach or with staff members in costume from one of the nightly shows. I can't possibly mention all the impressionable moments so I will just wrap it up by saying... this resort made our vacation special and we loved it here and will be back. AND I would DEFINATELY recommend it to friends and as a matter of fact... already have and two couples have booked their trip for July and another is researching dates to come!

Room Tip: Book a privileged package... we stayed in building 6 on the bottom floor... close to beach/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TinyTuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My boyfriend and I, along with some friends decided to meet up in the Riviera Maya to have a nice vacation and catch up. I have been to Cancún only once before and we stayed at the fairly new Secrets the Vine Cancún. In comparison, Secrets takes the cake. That's not to say that I will not be coming back to the Riviera Maya, I will just make sure to stay at a different resort. The beaches on a good day (not overcast) are quite pristine. It's true that playa maroma is simply beautiful with clear turquoise water, fish swimming near you at the shore, etc. However, the service, overall, was sub par. The rooms are quite old and not maintained very well. Our shower had cracked tile and looked like it could use a little remodeling. The room overlooked the property and not the beach, which was very pretty, but it was no beach. We paid for the priveleged package, so our room was a little nicer than the others, but mostly the same, honestly Our friends stayed in a regular room and they didn't have a canopy bed like we did ( with no drapery). Also, their furniture wasnt AS new as ours, but otherwise they had everything we did. The property itself is very manicured and they go above and beyond to make it look beautiful. Its very lush, and filled with various local animals and creatures. It very much gives the feeling of being in a jungle, which was the primary reason we wanted to experience it. The staff was just OK. They weren't rude per sé, but they were not as friendly and accommodating as the staff at Secrets the Vine. The drinks were down right terrible. The first night we arrived, we wanted tequila shots, so we went to the 24 hour tequila bar ( which there is only one of) and they were out of tequila!!! How do you name your bar the tequila bar, and have no tequila?! This hotel is not very generous and gives you the absolute minimum amount of everything. There is some confusion about how the meal plan works so here is the deal: you can only go to one restaurant per night. I know this may seem like common sense, but lets say for instance; you don't like restaurant A and would like to try restaurant B instead, well, you cannot do that because restaurant A already stamped your meal coupon for that night. So, unless you want to give up a restaurant on another night and eat at the buffet instead, you are stuck eating at restaurant A. Also, you can only eat at the really nice restaurant ( forgot the name) once. period. this was a huge problem for our group because we were saving it for last. When we went to make reservations on the last night we were there, we found out it was closed due to a wedding reception planned months in advance. we were never made aware of this and were left with the option to eat at the buffet on our last night. However, since we were "priveleged" we went to talk to the responsible concierge and they redirected us a few times before we found the right person to speak with. After back and forth a few times, and a few times more, we settled to eat at the restaurants we already ate at, but with lobster dinners for the inconvenience. This was fought with tooth and nail. When you spend money to go on vacation like this, you should never be given the run around IMO. The food quality was not very good, portions were small. There were a few food items that stuck out, like their fantastic crepe cafe by the pool area. It was the best lunch option as opposed to the snack bar, which was basically the buffet replicated. their milkshakes had no ice cream in them, but would have made for a great poolside beverage with some rum added. As a group, we kept weighing out the pros and cons. We were so happy to be with our friends and have some fun in the sun, that we didn't let the little things bother us too much. I just know that I will never be going back to that resort, because I have received much better service in every way from Secrets, so hopefully I can try their resort next time. (it was too expensive for the times we were planning)


Side note:
The hotel is filled with Europeans ( we didnt realize its a european chain). In fact, most everyone is European. Every announcement was repeated in french and italian. it was cool, but it was also kind of strange since we had never experienced that before.

ANother note:
If you decide to go, I would pay the extra for the "piveleged" because this hotel needs all the help it can help with making you feel special on vacation. More importantly, you stay on the side of the beach that has shade becasue the other side does not have any available. Lastly, we found this out too late, again, because there is no communication at this hotel, you can eat at the really nice restaurant i mentioned previously for breakfast and lunch if you are "preferred." It has nice views of the water, as it overlooks the beach and its the only restaurant that has that available. otherwise its just the buffet for breakfast or room service ( needs to be ordered the night before). For lunch, there's the buffet again, the snack bar ( another buffet, with similar food) or the crepe bar. and that's it.
I will say the juice bar at the buffet is great and it was the only thing that reminded me of Secrets the Vine. Fresh squeezed watermelon, pineapple, grapefruit, etc. Every day and quite delicious.

This concludes my review. I hope you find it of use and helpful. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gisel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our first experience in an all inclusive resort. Very happy with hotel.
Very nice sloped pool for little ones, our three year old did not want to get out of it.
Beach is fantastic.
Restaurants are very good, excellent steaks, italian also very good, we only did not like the tapas bar. Service very good, specially with Privilage package.
Friendly personell, specially Jose, bell boy, our daughter called him the "happy sir".
Big downturn: Beverages! they were terrible, we ended up only drinking sparkling water and cola. the cocktails and juices tasted artificial, horrible. takes several point down. Hotel should pay more attention with this point.

Rooms are big and cozy. Loved being on first floor, no need for stairs.

Close to Playa del Carmen, to go there, take a taxi, or public transport from Highway, for this last option, you still have to take a taxi from hotel to the highway. Taxis are expensive, compared to other places in Mexico.

To go to Cancun take public transportation from Highway, they run often, have seating and airconditioning, very comfortable.

Room Tip: Go privilage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,365 reviews
8.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,818 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Property: Catalonia Playa Maroma
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 306+250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing