We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wilmette, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Overall, this is one of the nicest resorts we've been to in a very long time. We normally travel to Mexico and the Caribbean at least 1-2 times a year and my impression of this hotel is among the best (not including the higher end adults-only places).

To start at the beginning, the ride from the airport is an easy 20-30 minutes. The check in process was incredibly efficient, our room keys, restaurant coupons and bracelets were all prepared in a waterproof pouch ahead of time and were waiting for us when we arrived. Even though we forgot to bring our Apple vouchers, the hotel was able to locate the e-mail from Apple and complete everything in just a couple of minutes while a waiter immediately brought us drinks from the lobby bar. Because we are travelling with children, we had asked to be moved from our original 3rd floor room down to the ground floor and that was also done almost immediately. One thing I really appreciated is that the bell-boy wheeled our luggage along with us as we were going to our room instead of delivering it at some later time like it's done in many larger resorts.

We had booked a privileged room in order to be closer to the beach and were not disappointed. The room is not large, but very comfortable and many small details are well thought through, such as reading lights that offer very focused beam just large enough for a book, allowing everyone else in the room sleep (especially useful with children), louvered closet doors so that the clothes never got that musky smell, umbrellas, bathrobes, etc. I would say that the only modification I would make is to put in an extraction fan in the bathroom since it can get really musty and humid in that small space, but it's a very small matter. The beds were very comfortable, with good quality linens, and the hotel offers a pillow menu.

There have been so many review about the beach that it's really not worth noting, but I can attest that they are all true and the beach is spectacular. One thing that surprised me was the pool. Generally I'm not at all a pool person especially with such a spectacular beach on the premises, but the weather during our stay made the beach unusable for about 1/2 our stay. This pool was just wonderful for the kids, there are 2 sides with beach entry into the pool and even my 2 year old felt confident stepping into the water on his own. There is also a lap pool that is separated from the rest by large concrete pillars and several deep areas that my older one used for cannonball contests. The absence of a swim-up bar is a plus to me since I always wonder at the people sitting there all day drinking but not leaving their bar-stool... (you know what I mean) and it also makes for a quieter and more relaxing atmosphere around the pool.

The food ranged from just above average to spectacular. The buffet for breakfast and lunch was very extensive and varied and all the food extremely fresh. I saw employees with thermometers on several occasions testing that the cold and hot items were at the proper temperatures. We ate at the a la carte restaurants for dinner every night and it's hard to pick a favorite, possibly the Italian and the Tapas. The service everywhere was very good, from the waiters at the buffet to the head waiter at the Tapas restaurant that personally carried our table out the balcony because we wanted to dine alfresco. I was surprised by the quality of their house wine, it is Spanish and very decent. Normally we order a bottle of wine with dinner, but found it unnecessary here and drank house wine with meals.

The resort itself is just incredibly beautiful, the grounds, landscaping, building, fountains are all meticulously kept up and it's just a pleasure to take a walk around. The architecture is Mexican eclectic and the colors complement the landscaping perfectly. There were some instances where I would just stop and stare at how the morning light comes into the courtyard.

Writing this review I feel like I should start making reservations for our next trip. I definitely recommend this hotel, especially to families.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HEK333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,325
    2,485
    672
    275
    197
See reviews for
1,965
3,546
115
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Just got back from 5 days at Catalonia. Our trip was scheduled after a long, cold winter. Last minute family health problems lead me to go on my own. I have traveled solo before, and have no problem with it. Read lots of reviews and there were no surprises. Loved just about everything--except the wind, which was constant and really strong for several days. No fault of Catalonia. The beach is excellent, staff attentive, grounds were beautiful & clean. Food was great--only problem there was too many choices. Great problem. I had a Privleged room (in 6000 building) that looked out over the ocean & pool, it was comfortable and well appointed. Lots of European folks, all friendly, a few smokers but it was never a problem. Big surprise was having a world class massage. I am a "massage snob" and Alicia was very good. The spa it self could use a bit of an upgrade. It would be nice if they had a quite place on the beach for massages, as that is my favorite. Took a day trip to Chichen-Itza--amazing! On the whole, a super value, a great place for couples, families or a girl trip. I will definately try to get back with my husband next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renwick01fos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahoskie, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here from April 24 - May 1. As in another recent review, you certainly don't need a "privileged" room to enjoy this hotel. We were in a regular room (5221) and found the room to be spacious, with a very comfortable mattress and a mini-fridge that was stocked every day with soda and water. We really couldn't figure out what all the hype is about a "privileged" room vs. a regular room. The only thing we didn't have in our room was an iron and ironing board. When I asked at the front desk about obtaining an iron and board, they told me that they "do not have them" and if you want anything ironed, you must send it to the hotel laundry. Found this to be rather strange, after reading another review that all "privileged" rooms have them and we didn't. We believe that they should have ironing boards available for everyone to use, as they are a common item that is asked for.

The beach is the nicest we have ever been on. We would walk it every day, wondering why we were a few of the only people walking on such a beautiful beach! For being so well-known as the “most beautiful”, there sure weren’t many people using it. There were no vendors on the beach all week. This is the first time we ever encountered this. Nice! Walking the beach was the ultimate soothing experience and we highly recommend it.

Mosquitoes were a huge problem—mostly in the open (main) restaurant. We actually experienced people getting up and leaving before they were finished eating because the mosquitoes were so bad. The maintenance people on the resort would spray around the grounds a couple of times a day, but it didn’t help much. In fact, one night we experienced the fog coming right into the restaurant, near the food! However, this is a very “green” resort, so we were hopeful that the stuff they were spraying was chemical-free. By all means, bring a strong insect repellent to be on the safe side.

Food was excellent in all respects—everything was fresh and in abundance at each meal. In fact, the chefs were constantly checking all food items almost every 10 minutes on the buffet to see that food items were well-stocked and had not run out. I tried the Creperie restaurant one day and had the ham and cheese crepe—to die for delicious!
Customer service was excellent, except for a couple of items: 1) several times when we wanted to have some ice cream for lunch in both the snack bar and main restaurant, there were no ice cream dishes available. They had all been taken and not been restocked. We had to use either a plate or soup bowl for the ice cream. 2) Don’t expect “waiter” service at the snack bar. There were a couple of times when a waiter did not even stop at our table, and we had to get our own beverages. Note: the snack bar is always very busy and they run out of items much faster during the lunch hour when compared to the main restaurant. The main restaurant had few people in it during lunch.

We also experienced a couple in the room next to us in loud argument in the middle of the night. We called the front desk to report it and they sent Security up to their room within a few minutes. This was very appreciated, and shows they care about the comfort level of guests.

With a few improvements in the customer service area above, this resort could easily be a 5-star. It’s just a few glitches that can easily be addressed and fixed. Also, the mosquito problem needs to be corrected. Providing guests with insect repellent would be helpful. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiscbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

had an unbelievably wonderful stay. had my parents and our daughter and son-in-law with my husband and i. we stayed in the 'privilege' rooms, which were out of this world!! VERY clean resort!! food delicious!! everything was perfect! we WILL be going back!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We stayed at the Catalonia Playa Maroma from April 6th to the 20th and we had the most wonderful time ever! The hotel is very clean, nice and employees are very friendly. The beach is absolutely beautiful. The food was excellent. There are 4 a la carte restaurants and all of them were very good, the service was excellent!
We got married and stayed at the superior rooms, which were really nice. The rooms were done twice a day and sometimes even three times a day, which made it really nice. The wedding arrangements were done by the Hotel and we had a worry-free and beautifull wedding! Thanks to the team out there!
The whole family enoyed the stay at the hotel, the youngest of us is two years old and the oldest one is in the 60`s, and we all agreed that this hotel was in far the most beautiful place we`ve seen; and we`ve travelled many times to the Caribbeans!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat_Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We stayed at the Catalonia Playa Maroma from April 20 to April 27, 2010. The resort is laid out in much the same manner as the Catalonia Royal Tulum: six buildings of guest rooms separate a lobby at one end from a pool and beach at the other, with a path in a natural jungle setting running from one end to the other. Switch the coatamundis for iguanas and they’re practically identical.

We spent the first night in a basic room and then upgraded to a Privileged room (Tikal, 4220) for US $20 per person per night. Off the top of my head the upgrade included improved décor, an improved king bed, an umbrella, ironing board, robes, slippers, flat screen TV, and a pass to the tapas restaurant. Oh, and two Sol beers in the mini fridge, plus the water, Pepsi, 7-Up, and Marinda (orange) that you get in the regular rooms.

Half of the vanity area and the whole bathroom were not upgraded, the latter oddly lacking a shower curtain. The AC was a bit noisy and wasn’t the strongest, but in the end did the job in combination with the ceiling fan. Thankfully the walls are of good thickness as we barely heard our neighbours. Even so, advantage: Catalonia Royal Tulum.

The beach is spectacular with soft white sand, perhaps ever so slightly better than Xpu Ha, which itself is a spectacular beach. We frequently walked Maroma north or south and never did get to either end. The water is a gorgeous turquoise with a gently sloping entry and the ocean floor is all sand. The slatted sun covers do a pretty good job, although you do end up closer to your neighbours than you would with palapas. The resort had the amimacion staff plant some potted palms while we were there; they should be shade-worthy in several years. Advantage: Catalonia Playa Maroma.

The food at the resort is very good. The buffet has a vast array of tasty items on offer. One night they had a massive roast turkey that may have been the juiciest bird I’ve ever had. Another night they had a delicious pork roast. Still another was Mexican night with tacos al pastor and live mariachi music.

For lunch we’d generally have a plate of guac and chips from La Tortuga, perhaps a burger and fries, and eat beachside.

We went to the Tio Pedro a la carte twice: the arrachera and carne de res were surprisingly good. We tried one night to get into the La Toscana a la carte but it had a 50 minute wait list so we went back to the Tio Pedro and were less impressed with the pecho de pollo as well as the brochette of camarones. We had better luck with the La Tortuga a la carte: my rib steak was again surprisingly good. Call it all a draw with the CRT.

The staff are extremely hard working and friendly, the latter one of the reasons why we keep returning to Mexico. The animacion staff are friendly too and know how to interact with guests. Also a draw with the CRT.

Overall we had a fantastic time and I’d have no hesitation in recommending the resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MattToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We had 3 families with kids (12 people) staying at the resort from 4/19 to 4/26, and we had a blast. Everything was great: food, service, beach, all of it. The staff organize a lot of different daily activities and sports for all ages, so you don't have to worry about, for example, getting people together to play soccer, volleybal, waterpolo, etc. The resort has on-site entertainment and a dance club, if you like night life and do want to leave the resort. Kids also loved it. The weather was great. All in all, not a single complaint, and we are DEFINITELLY coming back. As for mosquitos, nothing unusual. They came out for last couple of days, at the night time after 7pm, and they will bug you if you are outside. But nothing a good repellant can't take care of. We live in coastal Maine region and have it worse every year. :)

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vitez_koja1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,370 reviews
8.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,837 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Property: Catalonia Playa Maroma
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 306+250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing