We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Valentine's Day Celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brooklin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brooklin Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Brooklin B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Valentine's Day Celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Chip and Gail are wonderful innkeepers. They were able to take a last minute reservation and turn it into a magical weekend. All of their folks from the talented chef, the very warm and friendly staff, their delightful housekeeper and the make-you-feel-right-at-home downstairs "pub" tender made it a very memorable Valentine's Day trip! Thank you one and all for not only making us feel like family, but for giving us a taste of Downeast Maine that we will never forget. Comfy, cozy, welcoming, delicious and fun - what more could anyone want?! Add Chip's Blueberry French Toast with fresh maple syrup for breakfast... and it is truly is unforgettable!!

Room Tip: The King Bed with Private Bath and Tub (Hand Shower) is delightful and cozy. The handcrafted soap a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

It was a dark and snowy night when we three .. two locals and a Las Vegean wended our way from Blue Hill searching for a suitable birthday celebration site. Chip: excellent!! and ditto on your staff. By calculations .. maybe .. 50 years at sea?? So, yes, I will consider carefully serving under you as captain .. but .. we must return for dinner and lodging and vivations. Your details are above beyond. We hope you can endure and relax in your new endeavor... and ... to return for more organic vitals. Edwin Pyle, Henderson, NV

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Edwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

If you are looking for a get-a-way that embodies downeast Maine, look no further. The atmosphere takes you back in time. There is a little pub in the cellar heated with a comfy woodstove. My wife and I played cribbage for two hours while chatting with the owners and the bar keep. For dinner I had the prime rib and my wife had the scallop dish, both were excellent. Stayed for one night and were delighted. The rooms are clean and the decor is turn of the century.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milkymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had a terrific experience at the Brooklin Inn on a recent off-season Saturday night. The inn keepers, Chip and Gail, and the rest of the staff were friendly and our room excellent. Our dinner Saturday night was outstanding. (There's also a nice off-season discount when you stay and have dinner at the inn.) There's a small pub downstairs that serves good pub food if you want to skip the full dinner. All-in-all we had a great weekend and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaorbust
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Brooklin Inn is housed in an old farmhouse. Steep stairs go up to a hall with rooms off to the sides. Some rooms share a bathroom. The rooms in the front face the street and get some noise. Brooklin is a tiny little crossroads, so there isn't too much traffic anyway. Our bed was kingsize, but the mattress needed to be replaced. There are no standard locks on the door, so you wouldn't want to bring in valuables. We did not eat dinner at the Inn, but the breakfast was very good and the owners friendly. There is a small basement pub with two entrances. This is a sailor's little town and the bar bragging centered on ocean exploits. This Inn is a few miles down the street from the Wooden Boat school.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us some praise while addressing an issue. A bed and breakfast is a very different thing than a Best Western or Comfort Inn. Our 1922
Victorian house was built as an Inn, not a farmhouse and three of the five rooms have private baths. Dinner...always local or organic ingredients...is our focus and its too bad you didn't eat here.
I hope you will be back in Maine to give us another chance.
Chip Angell
The Brooklin Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My family and I booked the Brooklin Inn for a place to stay for a friends wedding. We arrived and were shown to our rooms. Throughout the stay we were asked several times which rooms we were staying in and who put us in our room. We mentioned several times that the lady at the front showed us to our rooms when we arrived. Chip (the owner) implied that we were put in the wrong room upon arrival. We happily offered to move rooms if there was a problem. He told us it was fine. We were than asked again about our rooms the following day. I became very annoying. When we went to check out Chip tried to charge us extra money from our quoted price. Luckily we had our itinerary to show him what we were quoted for the room. When we showed him he became very rude and started to yell at us. Very unprofessional!!!! He claimed since we were in the wrong room that we had to pay more for the room we were in. We calmly explained to him that we were put in our room by the lady at the front desk when we arrived. He continued to raise his voice and yell at us. We were very shocked by his response. It was the worse experience I have had, especially knowing that it was the actual owner. We will Never stay here again because of Chip and how we were treated. It was Horrible. Besides Chip, the place was very pleasant and we would recommend this place. Rooms were nice, food was delicious and everyone else was very pleasant. But after being yelled at by the owner, we will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank zach p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Brooklin Inn was our first B&B experience and it exceeded all our expectations. The building and decor couldn't be more charming from the amazing food in the main dining room to the laid back Pub downstairs. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. If you’re looking for the true New England B&B experience and want some R&R away from the tourist crowds of Bar Harbor than this is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brooklin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklin Inn

Property: Brooklin Inn
Address: 22 Reach Rd, PO Box 25, Brooklin, ME 04616-3556
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Brooklin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brooklin Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing