We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Easenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while attending a wedding at another nearby venue. We found the room pleasant; clean and well appointed. A good night's sleep in a comfortable bed. We paid £8.50 for breakfast but in his day and age felt that was reasonable as the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful, it was just a shame we didn't get to experience the pub side of the business. Hope to return to do that!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you book via our website you get the options of bed and breakfast and Dinner, Bed and Breakfast packages too. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    65
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
58
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Am currently laying on a very comfy bed, using the free wifi to make this review. The room is spotless, the welcome and whole stay excellent, the staff very friendly and the food delicious. I would definitely stay here again and would strongly recommend it to anyone in the area because if you don't stay here you don't know what you're missing!!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in room 122 and it was lovely. No view out the window but plenty of natural l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Really pleased to hear you had such a lovely stay. Maybe next time you should consider upgrading to our traditional four poster room that is located next to room 122, then you will have the option to lie in the spa bath too, although I wouldn't recommend writing a review from in there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Golden Lion for 2 nights, also attending a lunch function with approx 30 people.
The accommodation was very good and the Inn food was excellent, both for dinner and breakfast.
I am on a gluten free diet. The staff were knowledgable about my needs and told me which items I could eat and which items they could adapt. to be gluten free. The lunch function was a carvery and they even made me special gluten free gravy and a special desert The reception staff were also friendly and helpful. This is a quiet location and seemed to be favoured as a refuge by several business travelers, as many urban areas are within easy reach. Our thanks to all the staff, especially to Dawn, who organized my gluten free dishes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issie B, Front Office Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and function. Your thanks have been passed on, and were much appreciated by the team. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely night at the Golden Lion. The location is very pretty and the hotel is attractive. My room was spotless and extremely comfortable. I ate in the pub and that was excellent and the service faultless. A very particular mention for Dawn who cooked me a splendid early breakfast on a Saturday so I could be on my way as I had to be somewhere, everything possible was done to make me feel a valued customer. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback. Being privately owned and relatively small with only 17 bedrooms it means we can be flexible to fit with guests requirements. I have passed on your comments to Dawn and the team, we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best pub meals I have had the pleasure of eating. Whilst staying here I enjoyed a night to myself with three fabulous courses.
Pate on toast for starter
Surf and turf of main
Strawberry cheesecake for desert
Each course a solid 10/10

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and photographs, the team are very pleased with receiving 10/10. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just had a party at this venue to celebrate our recent wedding so have experienced both food and hotel.

All of our guests commented on how lovely the staff were and also were raving about the food. Many commented that they wanted to return for dinner and a stay which is a testament to how well we were looked after.

The venue is particularly perfect for summer parties as has a lovely terraced area.
Highly recommended for parties and also great for Sunday lunch

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiesmith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are thrilled to read the very positive feedback on your wedding celebration and stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and wish you a very happy marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We met friends for lunch, we had not been here before but we had the warmest of welcomes and were made to feel part of the place immediately. there was a good varied choice on the main menu and also on the specials board.the four meals were all of a high standard and good portions as were the puddings.the owners are very attentive and friendly and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I am so pleased you enjoyed your lunch. I have passed it onto the team and also posted it on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easenhall
3.0 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,803 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
4.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel & Inn

Property: Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Address: Main Street, Easenhall, Rugby CV23 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Easenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Easenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the atmosphere of this 16th-century village inn, its welcoming bar, range of traditional ales and delicious, freshly cooked food. Menus are available throughout lunchtime and evening, offering a wide range of food from light snacks to a la carte meals, complimented by an extensive list of fine wines. The en-suite bedrooms are individually styled to suit the character of this historic inn and have been rated 3 Stars by the AA. Two bedrooms feature Four Poster Bed and Spa Baths. A lovely rural location just 4 miles from Rugby, 13 miles from Coventry. Enjoy a romantic break with your partner, here in a beautiful tranquil village location. Package includes bottle of sparkling wine on arrival, three course dinner from our a la carte menu, one night overnight accommodation in one of our four poster bedrooms featuring a spa bath and traditional full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Rugby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing