We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Welcome and Help from this hotel”
Review of The Mercy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mercy
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at the Mercy on MG Road in June when visiting Cochin for 4 days. The frontdesk staff were so helpful and specifically told me that they had given me a quiet room-which it was, superbly positioned at the back with an enormous and comfortable King Size bed. Very clean and orderly. Views not great, but peace was palpable. The friendly staff went out of their way to help and advise me. Breakfast was what is expected in India, idli, sambal, and other dishes as well as a choice of European breads and pastries with jam. Buffet food was tasty. The General Manager was quick to respond to and solve my problems with wifi, offering general support for everything. Very approachable. Upside room prices reasonable; downside you have to buy and pay for wifi which when you get it, is not that brilliant. Travellers like me need to keep in touch with people from home so good wifi is crucial. Anyway location is convenient and near Southern Railway station so not long in rickshaw to Hotel. I would stay again

Room Tip: Room 506 at the backside is very very quiet, easy to access from the front lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

value for money, place in excellent location, I have been staying this hotel for last 6 year. Rooms were spacious and have all the conveniences. the dinner at their top floor is excellent view, I enjoyed their food at dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AjitMahapatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Reception : Very helpful, efficient, easy checkin. Very friendly staff. Language was no barrier as the main staff could speak fairly good English.
Room : 307. The room was spacious with a kichenette. (Tea making facility was provided upon request). Very comfortable bed, with clean sheets & pillow case. Toilet/washroom was clean & spacious too.
The view was nothing to shout about as there was a shipyard close to the hotel.
Location : A little bit inside from the main road. More of a business hotel. One needs to take just a few steps to get onto the main busy road. Easy to get a public transport. I noticed that along that busy road, there were a number of optical shops and grocery shops.
Dining area/Breakfast : A choice of Western & Indian breakfast. Didnt like the dining area as I found it to be quite dimly lit. (I prefer to see what I eat). Had to ask the waiter to draw the curtain so that the sun's rays came in and made it a little brighter. Enjoyed the freshly made coffee by the waiter. As you dine, there is some western music goin on for you to enjoy your meal in peaceful surroundings. Breakfast was buffet while dinner was ala carte. No free wifi..u need to pay for it.

Room Tip: Makes no difference as there is no view...all you see is a shipyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BalvirBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was on a business visit to Cochin and stayed at Mercy as my regular hotel was totally booked for a conference and could not accommodate me. The location is ideal, at MG Road, just about a km from the South Railway station (Ernakulam Junction). I was given a room, which does not face the Cochin Shipyard side. Many reviews here have stated that their sleep was disturbed because of the frequent siren from Shipyard. But I did not face such a problem at all, may be because the room was at the other side. Breakfast has very less options. But they have a fantastic buffet lunch with sea food and fish varieties for just Rs 350. That is indeed a killer deal. The room was spacious enough. The room had an old Colour TV, not the latest wall mount one, which was something really odd these days. Overall, a decent stay.

PS: Ask for rooms away from Shipyard side. Also you can try Ambiswamy's veg restaurant for breakfast, which is a small walk from the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from Shipyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remil4remil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We drove directly from air-port to The Mercy and were well received by the reception staff. Our family members were able to relax for few minutes in beautiful lounge. Rooms were spacious and have all the conveniences. We had lunch and dinner outside but net morning breakfast was very good and we have several options to choose. Our experience was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mehtarasbindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Mercy is a small western style business hotel offering good value for money. The rooms were big, the beds were comfortable. Good clean bathroom, wifi and a clean pool (which closes at 5pm to enable the restaurant to open). Buffet breakfast also good. There's not much for a tourist to do within walking distance but the rickshaw ride to the harbour/markets is quick and cheap.

The stand-out was the fantastic concierge, saluting you on arrival with his amazing grin and attitude.

TIP: as you enter the hotel on the left is another building, the rooftop restaurant on the 5th floor is managed by The Mercy. The menu is more extensive and the food half the price of The Mercy. We ate there the 4 nights of our stay and loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halcyondays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Arriving at the Mercy I was greeted by a friendly doorman and taken up the steps to the reception area. Very grand looking and the staff very friendly at check in. I advised them my partner was arriving very early morning and to let him up to the room, they were great as they escorted him to the room and let him in quietly.
The room was modern and had a comfortable bed, room was on level 4 looking out over the shipyard. Definately recommend those rooms as the other side look onto the building next door, they worked around the clock on the ships but never too noisy that it woke me up. I do wear ear plugs though, so Im sure it helped. Toiletries were standard and the shower had a curtain so not much water came over onto the toilet or bathroom floor.
Breakfast was complimentary, Indian buffet and you could order eggs. Was a great way to start the day. The restaurant on the roof top is open for dinner only, the food a little expensive but very tasty. Great to see the sunset while sipping a drink from the rooftop restaurant which is situated around the pool area.
The pool was so refreshing, they do not have sun lounges so no relaxing up there but a nice area to swim. Not many people swim so always quiet.
Great location and very helpful staff. I was there for dentistry work and they were helpful with the location and where Dr Biju Thomas surgery was. The only issue I had was the hotel did not have free wifi, and to get wifi it was so expensive. They did have a computer room that you could use but meant you had to travel down to the ground level behind reception and that is not always convenient.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
1.3 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
268 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.8 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#9 of 30 in Ernakulam
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercy

Address: The Mercy Luxury Business Hotel | Ravipuram, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682015, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range: £32 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mercy 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing