We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different look”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travancore Court by Spree
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the hotel on a business trip last month. The hotel is located off MG Road in Cochin & does not have impressive exterior. The lobby is big & the entire hotel bears a nostalgic look of a bygone era. The rooms are not very big. The staff is not so well trained but they make it up by the courteous behaviour. The TV in my room was an antique piece & not a great choice of channels. Linen was very good & fresh. Compared to facilities offered, the tariff seams to be on little higher side; but I guess, the same can be negotiated. Overall OK experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijay1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was on a business trip to Cochin and stayed for a day at the hotel. The hotel is just off MG Road, is centrally located and very near the Cochin Shipyard. The suite offered was large but the decorations and get up were just average. Two TV sets were vintage and the Asianet programmes were limited. The bed and linen were comfortable. The ACs too worked very fine. Absence of slippers and bed side mat were a surprise. The toiletries in the bathroom were of a very average quality. Meals and pick up and drop had been included in the package. The restaurant on the first floor was spacious with a decent ambiance. Plenty of variety but primarily local cuisine. The bakery products were exceptional. The coffee and cake shop next to the lobby had good stuff available for purchase. Found the orange pastries fantastic. Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaps185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We first stayed at the Travancore Court in Ernakulam because we were with a group booking. When later we traveled Kerala on our own, we again made it our choice. The rooms are quite satisfactory, with the suites being a full living room + a large bedroom. The staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful with local attractions and directions. The included breakast had both Western and traditional Indian fare. The F&B is not licensed for alcohol, but they can provide beer and wine via room service. The prices are reasonable and competitive.

The location, one block off of M.G. Road near the Southern end, and 2 blocks from the Grand Plaza hotel, is convenient for walking to shopping, banks, and even a KFC for a taste of "home cooking" :-) The ferry to historic Fort Cochi and Mattancherry is a 15-20 min walk, or a 30 rupees 3-wheeler. There you'll find much of Cochi's history, some interesting museums, and lots and lots of small and large shops for handicrafts.

We understand that the hotel will soon be undergoing renovation, upgrading to a 4-star rating, Although the decor is a bit dated, we found it comfortable and would choose it again.

Room Tip: It is a quiet area, and all rooms seem quite OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had gone on a holiday trip to Kerala with my family in Oct 2013. I have booked a deluxe room on 11 oct 13. While check in they converted my deluxe room to a Suite. The suite is excellent. The bed is very comfortable. The Room and Parlour are ethnically decorated. There are two TV so there was no snatching of remote between kid and us.The toiletries are also very good. The Buffet Breakfast are excellent with lot of choices from traditional Kerala to continental to North Indian. The ambiance of the Hotel is also excellent with very good front office staff. The best part of the hotel is that it is in the heart of the City just back side of MG Road and few steps to MG Road KFC. A great value for Money. I will recommend this hotel for business as well for Holiday. Thank to Tripadvisor reviews for making us select best hotels of your choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NAYAK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was on a business trip. Had a comfortable stay and enjoyed dinner buffet. For a foodie in me, the spread was too good. Staff is warm and welcoming. It is worth staying and enjoying the royal charm of the decor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viktor watwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Best place to stay.... I was on a family holiday and I found that if you are in cochin then this is the best place please end your search here...... centrally located, classy interior,helping staff and too good food I strongly recommend. ...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manoj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had been there for a Lunch and checked the property
it is really a classy place
has got the old historic/Heritage Decore
the Food is ***** 5 Star...
the spread is very good and surprisingly you get couple of North Indian dishes as well
they serve tthose Tava Parathas and its a blessing out ther in Kochi....

Room Tip: Its in one of the Bylanes so all the rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tejas-Swadia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
0 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ernakulam
165 reviews
4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#4 of 35 in Ernakulam
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Cochin
Grand Hotel Cochin
#7 of 35 in Ernakulam
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#11 of 35 in Ernakulam
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.2 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travancore Court by Spree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travancore Court by Spree

Address: Warriam Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India (Formerly Hotel Travancore Court)
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range: £22 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travancore Court by Spree 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travancorecourt by Spree is one of the Best Business Hotel in Cochin with 4 Star Facilities with Conference hall and Banquet Hall Facilities.Stay in Travancore Court Hotel Cochin, We are having Restaurant with 24 Hours Coffee Shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travancore Court by Spree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing