We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A clean, well kept hotel at a good price with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JJ Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ernakulam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
JJ Inn
Ranked #20 of 51 Ernakulam B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A clean, well kept hotel at a good price with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My first trip to India, my first hotel in India. I was so lucky to stay here. The whole place is spotless, and well kept. The owners, Jeenu and Janardanan made my visit to Kochi much easier and friendlier than I had hoped; with their advice and information on the area, and their connections to make your trip great. I stayed here for one month, and would stay there again.
The hot water was always hot, the bathroom spotless and well kept up. The room was cleaned daily by friendly, efficient housekeepers. Tip them well! The houseman was efficient, friendly, whether bringing me food, bottled water, or my laundry.
Amenities: Room service Southern Indian food from a great restaurant, T.V., phone, wi-fi, and daily English, Malayalam or Hindi language newspaper.
My room was facing the rear, away from the street, so it was relatively quiet.
Jeenu and Janardanan have a lot of experience in taking care of guests from all over the world, and I highly recommend their excellent hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coolhand60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Great hospitality , good cleanliness and upkeep , .The facilities are very basic , but more than compensated by the excellent service .. ... The father and son team managing were very helpful , warm and friendly .. As a low cost Inn in Ernakulam / cochin area it is a good value for money .. I and family have stayed there a few times and left invariably highly satisfied ..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moothedathmadhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Got an airport pick up which was certainly worth it. Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, basic but adequate with good en-suite bathrooms. There is a small supermarket about 10 minutes walk away which is useful. We never ordered breakfast although it was an option. We did eat at "Bread World" which is fairly close by one night and the food was tasty and cheap. The main problem was that the tuk-tuk drivers did not know where the hotel was and only after we learned how to get there from the Gandhi Sports Stadium were we able to direct our drivers. But there was no problem finding tuk- tuk taxis outside the hotel to take us to the bus and train stations. We had trouble paying with our credit cards when we checked out - tried 3 different cards which we had used elsewhere but didn't succeed there and had to use our remaining cash and search for an ATM later. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimtal, Nainital
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

I would like to recommend this inn to any family travelling to kochi.
There is great amount of personal committment from the owners, who ensure the comfort and security of the guests. Travelling for the 1st time to Kerala, the owners made the stay very comfortable and were very accomodating to our assorted demands. The rooms very quite comfortable and the toilets were clean and good.

  • Liked — comfortable rooms and owners' personal committment
  • Disliked — no in house food
  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheShuklas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

The staff was very warm, helpful, friendly and hospitable. They were eager to help us in anything that we needed (e.g. directions, taxis, mosquito creams, internet access etc.). There was always someone at reception with a positive attitude that made us feel at home. The room was very comfortable (good sized and comfy bed, TV, en-suite bathroom, good sized wardrobe, mosquito nets) and very clean. Every day there was a copy of the local newspaper on our door :-)There was also a nice space upstairs with chairs and tables. Perfect for having breakfast, chilling out and having fun with friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latika_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

Having traveled widely in India, value rooms can me a hit or miss. Enter JJ Inn - the rooms are basic, but SUPER clean with clean linen, clean bathrooms, and hot water 24/7. That along with great prices makes this a great option when in Cochin. The only problem that once could have is the distance from Fort Cochin (takes about half an hour to 45 mins) which may be an issue for some (especially with the traffic), but it is possible to rent a car for 4 hrs (Rs 400) or 8 hrs (Rs 800) - JJ Inn can arrange a car. I think this is particularly ideal if one is going to be in Cochin for a few days - you;ll get the comfort of a home for a great price and the distance won't be such an issue as you will have time to explore the place. Jins and his dad are extremely hospitable, and it felt like we were staying at home. Another issue to consider (although this wasn't a problem for us) is that they do not have their own restaurant/kitchen. However Jins and his father have a few menus of nearby restaurants that you can order from, and they will deliver it to your room. We were eating out most of the time, so the lack of a in house restaurant did not bother us. Also, one of the rooms we had came with its own kitchen which is perfect to warm food up, or cook a quick meal. Totally recommend this place to anyone who has a few days to spend in Cochin.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed at JJ Inn for a wedding we attended in Kochi and this was the ideal place for our stay. The rooms were very clean and well maintained with plentiuful hot water (not always guaranteed in India). Jins and his father provided our group with excellent service and helped us with most requests (such as booking cars, arranging events for us, etc). The only disadvantage is probably the location. Even though one gets a good idea of how locals live it is a good 45 minutes to the main Kochi attractions so one must weigh value and high standards with locations. I would definitely stay at JJ Inn in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passionfortravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
3.3 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
3.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#11 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#3 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
5.8 mi away
PPG Tourist Home
PPG Tourist Home
#27 of 29 in Ernakulam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Inn

Property: JJ Inn
Address: Convent Road | Ponnurunni, Vyttilla P.O, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682019, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn that serves to all types of budget guests. JJ Inn is a beautiful family run budget hotel, located in a posh area and just 900 meters from Vytilla Junction. The property is easily accessible to railway station and 30 minutes drive to Cochin International Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing