We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Grove : a comfortable homestay in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Grove Service Villa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Palm Grove : a comfortable homestay in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Palm Grove is a beautiful property right in the heart of Ernakulam...it offers comfortable stay at reasonable rates and easy access to every corner the city.....we used buses and ferry to visit Fort Kochi and Alleppy.....it was a comfortable mode of travel.....Mr. Francis(the owner) is very helpful and hospitable....the homestay has its own spice garden....it does not have a kitchen but there are quite a few eating joints around the place....dinner can be ordered from the restaurants nearby and we can get it delivered at our room....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakhee_1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.I am glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at Palm Grove. Please do come back to stay with us the next time you are in Kochi.

Warm Regards,
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    164
    27
    1
    3
See reviews for
220
70
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Pros -
1. superb ambience, greenary all around, of all the places we visited in ekm, my child enjoyed this place very much, he loved rabbits, lovebirds, African lovebirds, fish n especially badminton court.
2. Neat room n bathroom. A king sized bed, a wardrobe, a/c, tv, dressing table, 2 blankets, 2 towels, 1 mineral water, water heater.
3. Very friendly staff
4. Mousquito net was there on door n windows
5. Room service was available(we didn't use it)
6. Shortcut road to lulu mall n oberon mall.
7. Good restaurants in walkable distance
8. Multispeciality hospital in walkable distance
Cons
1. No restaurant available inside
2. There is a school next door,but if u like children, its not a problem.
3. A bit far away from M.G. road

Improvement needed - wastebasket was a bucket with a lid, I wouldn't want to touch a waste basket with my hands.
We found 1or2 hairs in bathroom towel n waste basket was not cleaned, but I believe that was one of incident.

Will definitely come back next time n will advice to all our friends n families. Its a real value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Manju J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your valuable review on Trip Advisor.First of all I sincerely apologise for the service lapses.This is the first time that a guest has a complaint about the cleanliness of the bath towel and wastebasket. It is a very serious lapse on our part. Your feedback has been shared with all members of our staff .This has really helped us to be more cautious and take corrective measures.We are happy to know that you liked the ambience at Palm Grove and that your child enjoyed our villa very much.We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.Thank you once again for choosing Palm Grove for your stay in Cochin.

Warm regards ,
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family from Shimla, booked 2 A/C double bed rooms for in Palm grove service villa ,Edappally from 12 to 15 jan 2014 recently, It was browsed so many times by me in trip adviser so the map was in my mind but as we entered the first view of palm grove won our heart , it was very difficult to believe that in heart of crowded city there is heritage property which is well kept by Mr. Francis the owner of this property. Rooms were spacious,clean and toilets were spotless, A/C was working properly and hot water 24 hours in bath rooms . I jumped with joy as I saw perfect Badminton court which was well maintained just out side our rooms , Straight way I and my brother -in-law entered in badminton court with rackets before doing any thing else.We every time felt our self in the lap of nature, with lot of greenery, all kind of trees, swings for children and in early morning sweet chirping of birds made our stay more heavenly.We met Mr. Francis next morning , a very friendly person welcomed us very warmly and guided us for our tour for cochin city and Alleppy .We found every time staff busy in cleaning the entire surroundings. , It is highly recommended by me for everyone specially visit with children or couples who want peace and young who want lot of charm in Lullu mall which is best in India and it is only 5 minutes walk from Palm grove Villa . Lot of thanks to tripadvisor and Best wishes to Mr. Francis keep it up we cannot forget the memorable stay with in minimum tariff and lot of hospitality from Palm Grove service Villa. Thanks-----CHIRANJIV KASHYAP ----SHIMLA

Room Tip: Rooms facing Badminton court are very good ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chiranjiv k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sparing time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.It is really nice to know that you had a memorable stay at Palm Grove. We are also very happy to know that you felt yourself in the lap of nature. I really appreciate your compliments and the same has been shared with all the staff members.We are really honoured to have you stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcome you back in our villa for another memorable holiday.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nice experience, the staff is really nice and its nice oasis in hectic city. We stayed for 3 nights and were pleased with our stay, early check in was possible and communication with the staff was easy as well.

Recommended indeed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JiiPee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palm Grove for your stay in Kochi and for taking time to post your valuable review on Trip Advisor.We are really happy to know that you had a nice experience and a pleasant stay at our villa.Thanks for you encouraging feedback and compliments.We certainly look forward to your return in future.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I found this hotel by browsing in Trip Advisor, and decided to try as me and my husband always travels based on our shoestring budget. For us, we dont need air conditioned room, because both of us are easy to get cold and caugh. So, paying an air conditioned room which we dont use the AC is aleays bothers for us even in some places it is unavoidable.

So, a room with fan, and attached bathroom is always enough for us.

We also love silence and nature. I dont like being in a crowded and always love the green surroundings. Somehow, it is relaxing. And gotcha! We found it all in Palm Grove Service Villa.

I emailed the manager, Mr. Francis and got the information on the room rate. I promised I will visit the property to pay by cash on my "next 10 days staying" due to I have no credit card to pay by those method. I made the payment 10 days earlier, then flew to my country.

We arrived back in this hotel from my midnight flight from Malaysia and our check in was smooth, even it was midnight. We got our room, clean, and just like what we need. Bathroom is spotless, tv channels are enough, even serve better channel than our hotel room in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The fan is enough for us. Bed is ok, even not queen size bed, we admit that we had the deepest sleep in this room. In morning, i heard chickens, birds singing, and I did swing under the tree. What a pleasant feeling! They also have badminton area and me and my husband did have a game there.

This hotel is near to Lulu mall where all u want to buy is there. U can either walk or use auto rickshaw for 25 rupees. If it is even too far, there are so many nice restaurants which serves nice Kerala food. Try the Sapphire hotel nearby for my suggestion.

If u travel by bus to Cochi, then u arrive in Ernakulam bus station. To reach this hotel, just take a city bus for 10 rupees and stop by Edappaly Church bus stop (if i am not mistaken the name), anyway, GPS will always show u the way ;-). From this bus stop, just accross the street into a pocket road, called as market road, and u can see the green board, Palm Grove Service Villa!

Trust, is what matters the most! My husband left his wrist watch, which is our couple watch, in the room. And while we were waiting for our bus to go to Ernakulam bus station, one of the staff called my mobile and said that I left a wrist watch in bathroom! Amazing! That watch we bought together in Malaysia, as couple watch, so it is priceless to us! It is not about the price of the watch, but the memory we had. I sincerely thankful to the staff, and will recommend this property to anyone who plans to visit Cochi. I still can not believe they are willing to call my mobile and said about the watch. God bless this property, the manager and the staff!

I will definitely stay here again in my next trip to Cochi and strongly recommend this to all of u, who plans to travel there. Again, some things are priceless in this world, trust is one of them. And Palm Grove Service Villa surely wins my trust!

Room Tip: If u bother about heat, choose the air conditioned room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank honeymoon-india-indo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sparing time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.We are really happy to know that you had a pleasant experience at Palm Grove, especially the serene atmosphere. I really appreciate your compliments about our staff's honesty and the same has been shared with all the staff members.We are really honoured to have you stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcome you back in our villa for another memorable holiday.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Extremely good place if you plan to visit cochin & erunakulam town. Very near to bus stop. Lulu mall is at a walkable distance. Very good staff. Food is not provided. But there are restaurants nearby. Owner Francis was so graceful, special mention about the support staff. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Anwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear guest,

Greetings from Palm Grove service villa. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at our villa.Thanks for your encouraging feedback.We appreciate the positive comments about our team.Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best service and attention at all times.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Splendid place to stay.It was beyond our expectations.Such a huge property,full of nature and a badminton court. Lots of swings,birds,trees etc.etc.And the owner and staff-no words to describe their hospitality.Concerned about each comfort for the guest.

Room Tip: New Block is superb,though old one has its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sparing time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.We are very happy to know that you had a comfortable stay at our villa. Thanks for your encouraging feedback . I really appreciate your compliments and the same has been shared with all the staff members.We are really honoured to have you stay with us and look forward to welcome you back in our villa in future.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
3.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.8 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#62 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
420 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
827 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ernakulam
146 reviews
5.9 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#16 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove Service Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Service Villa

Property: Palm Grove Service Villa
Address: Palm Grove Service Villa Market Road | Cochin, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682024, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Grove Service Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove service villa - is a budget accommodation located at Edappally , a fast growing suburb of Cochin. This is not a conventional Inn. It is an ancestral house which has been renovated into 6 A/C and 7 non A/C rooms with all modern facilities. The house is on a 1 acre beautiful property with coconut palms, many exotic plants and trees with a small vegetable farm in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Grove Service Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing