We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, rooms & nice, silly garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Grove Service Villa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We wanted a basic room that was clean and hygienic for just one night and nothing special and that is exactly what we got. We actually returned for another similar one-night stay last week and very happy.

The rooms are fine, the sheets, towels and floor are clean but of average quality. The fan and TV work but no hot water either time and you have to use the bucket as per. You're not going to want to roll on around on the bathroom floor but it's absolutely adequate for a simple night's stay and the door with mosquito nets were a plus.

The gardens are also worth mentioning, complete with tennis?/volleyball court, pretty birds, rabbits (and some particularly sorry-looking chickens) in cages that made for a nice atmosphere.

The staff are friendly and helpful carting our enormous bags to and fro and even stayed up to check us in at 1am on our first stay.

What we didn't realise is that, although a very sweet place to stay, it is quite inconveniently located. In the short time that we had, we weren't able to persuade any tuk tuk driver to take us into Fort Cochin for any price and we weren't left with many options nearby in terms of amusement or nourishment.

Thanks for lovely stay though and we would recommend this to anyone not bothered about location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.I am delighted to know that you are happy witth your stay at Palm Grove. You have mentioned that you didn't get hot water. We have water heater in all rooms . The heater will switch on only if you insert the door key tag in its slot. I feel you might not have inserted the tag in the slot .You could have told our manager that you are not getting hot water and he would have assisted you immediately .Sorry for the inconvinience . Once again thank you for choosing Palm Grove for your stay in Kochi.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

my friend and i stayed 2 nights there. the rooms are nice , basically equipped but what we liked is the fact that it is an anti-mosquito one. the room was uncleaned for 2 nights but it didn`t bother us. primitif bathroom but hot water is available all day long. a big shopping mall is at 500 meters from it. it is a bit hard to find where is this homestay is located. once you are in front of Lulu mall, ask for the M.A.J Hospital which is near to a police station. the Palm Grove Service is there. no breakfast offred, so get ready for such thing.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the wifi modem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abdelmjid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I am happy to know that you liked the rooms at Palm Grove. We strive to offer you the very best of services, somehow we couldn’t live up to your expectation and I regret that. But I would like to clarify one point. Ours is a budget accommodation. We clean the rooms everyday. If a guest stays for more than one night then we change the bedsheets only every alternate day. But if the guest insists on fresh bed sheet everyday then we happily provide the same. I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards ,
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Palm Grove is located at Edapally which is about 7 Kms from Ernakulam North Station. The atmosphere is very good, the rooms are clean and well maintained. Badminton courts and play area for kids are good. Kids had enjoyed the stay. Our stay was only for a day and we had enjoyed it thoroughly.

LULU Mall is in walkable distance and all other places like Boat jetty, Marine Drive is about 10-12 kms from the property.

Restaurant was not available however home delivery was arranged from the nearby restaurant. The rooms does not have intercoms and we need to walk to the reception for our requirements.

It is a real value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms near the Reception/Office will be better as there is no intercoms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiruba_Raja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear guest,

Greetings from Palm Grove service villa. Thank you very much for choosing our villa for your stay in Kochi and for your valuable review on Trip Advisor. I am really happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Palm Grove. Looking forward to welcome you back in our villa in future.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Palm Grove is a beautiful property right in the heart of Ernakulam...it offers comfortable stay at reasonable rates and easy access to every corner the city.....we used buses and ferry to visit Fort Kochi and Alleppy.....it was a comfortable mode of travel.....Mr. Francis(the owner) is very helpful and hospitable....the homestay has its own spice garden....it does not have a kitchen but there are quite a few eating joints around the place....dinner can be ordered from the restaurants nearby and we can get it delivered at our room....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakhee_1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.I am glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at Palm Grove. Please do come back to stay with us the next time you are in Kochi.

Warm Regards,
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Pros -
1. superb ambience, greenary all around, of all the places we visited in ekm, my child enjoyed this place very much, he loved rabbits, lovebirds, African lovebirds, fish n especially badminton court.
2. Neat room n bathroom. A king sized bed, a wardrobe, a/c, tv, dressing table, 2 blankets, 2 towels, 1 mineral water, water heater.
3. Very friendly staff
4. Mousquito net was there on door n windows
5. Room service was available(we didn't use it)
6. Shortcut road to lulu mall n oberon mall.
7. Good restaurants in walkable distance
8. Multispeciality hospital in walkable distance
Cons
1. No restaurant available inside
2. There is a school next door,but if u like children, its not a problem.
3. A bit far away from M.G. road

Improvement needed - wastebasket was a bucket with a lid, I wouldn't want to touch a waste basket with my hands.
We found 1or2 hairs in bathroom towel n waste basket was not cleaned, but I believe that was one of incident.

Will definitely come back next time n will advice to all our friends n families. Its a real value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Manju J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your valuable review on Trip Advisor.First of all I sincerely apologise for the service lapses.This is the first time that a guest has a complaint about the cleanliness of the bath towel and wastebasket. It is a very serious lapse on our part. Your feedback has been shared with all members of our staff .This has really helped us to be more cautious and take corrective measures.We are happy to know that you liked the ambience at Palm Grove and that your child enjoyed our villa very much.We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.Thank you once again for choosing Palm Grove for your stay in Cochin.

Warm regards ,
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family from Shimla, booked 2 A/C double bed rooms for in Palm grove service villa ,Edappally from 12 to 15 jan 2014 recently, It was browsed so many times by me in trip adviser so the map was in my mind but as we entered the first view of palm grove won our heart , it was very difficult to believe that in heart of crowded city there is heritage property which is well kept by Mr. Francis the owner of this property. Rooms were spacious,clean and toilets were spotless, A/C was working properly and hot water 24 hours in bath rooms . I jumped with joy as I saw perfect Badminton court which was well maintained just out side our rooms , Straight way I and my brother -in-law entered in badminton court with rackets before doing any thing else.We every time felt our self in the lap of nature, with lot of greenery, all kind of trees, swings for children and in early morning sweet chirping of birds made our stay more heavenly.We met Mr. Francis next morning , a very friendly person welcomed us very warmly and guided us for our tour for cochin city and Alleppy .We found every time staff busy in cleaning the entire surroundings. , It is highly recommended by me for everyone specially visit with children or couples who want peace and young who want lot of charm in Lullu mall which is best in India and it is only 5 minutes walk from Palm grove Villa . Lot of thanks to tripadvisor and Best wishes to Mr. Francis keep it up we cannot forget the memorable stay with in minimum tariff and lot of hospitality from Palm Grove service Villa. Thanks-----CHIRANJIV KASHYAP ----SHIMLA

Room Tip: Rooms facing Badminton court are very good ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chiranjiv k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sparing time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.It is really nice to know that you had a memorable stay at Palm Grove. We are also very happy to know that you felt yourself in the lap of nature. I really appreciate your compliments and the same has been shared with all the staff members.We are really honoured to have you stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcome you back in our villa for another memorable holiday.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nice experience, the staff is really nice and its nice oasis in hectic city. We stayed for 3 nights and were pleased with our stay, early check in was possible and communication with the staff was easy as well.

Recommended indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JiiPee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palm Grove for your stay in Kochi and for taking time to post your valuable review on Trip Advisor.We are really happy to know that you had a nice experience and a pleasant stay at our villa.Thanks for you encouraging feedback and compliments.We certainly look forward to your return in future.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
5.9 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#12 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
163 reviews
4 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 33 in Ernakulam
158 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 33 in Ernakulam
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.2 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#2 of 10 in Vypin Island
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 33 in Ernakulam
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove Service Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Service Villa

Address: Palm Grove Service Villa Market Road | Cochin, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682024, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range: £13 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Grove Service Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove service villa - is a budget accommodation located at Edappally , a fast growing suburb of Cochin. This is not a conventional Inn. It is an ancestral house which has been renovated into 6 A/C and 7 non A/C rooms with all modern facilities. The house is on a 1 acre beautiful property with coconut palms, many exotic plants and trees with a small vegetable farm in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Palm Grove Service Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing