We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good and neat place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Grove Service Villa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

the facilities were good and very clean.. but at 1700 (for a/c room) it sounded a little pricey... there was no intercom facility in the room... otherwise there was nothing much to complain about... a quiet and beautiful place...also lulu mall is at a walkable distance from here.. which ian added advantage...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Murali Krishnan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your valuable review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay at Palm Grove. As far as the room rent is concerned,we understand from the reviews that most of our guests feel that the rooms are reasonably priced and that it is real value for money.Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best service and attention at all times.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Palm Grove Service Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

since i was with small kids, i was searching for homestays. This homestay being without owners living there, seems to be commercialised one. Overall service is satisfactory . i was disaapointed to see that toilet soap was not provided . Although I had not demanded since i carried my own. When i made final payment at the time of leaving, I saw kits in their office cupboard containing necessary toiletries which seems to be offered to every guest but.........

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankurmurarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to post your review on Trip Advisor.Palm Grove service villa is not a home stay - it is a service villa. It is not mandatory for the owner to stay in a service villa. But I visit the villa everyday to personally look into the day to day upkeep of the property and to meet the guests personally .Regarding the toilet soap, it was an oversight.Sorry for the same .If you had asked , we would have given it immediately. I am glad to know that you found the overall service to be satisfactory.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I really liked this place. It’s one of the few places in India that I relied 100% on TA reviews and came in with high expectations and they were met. I booked online and things went smoothly. I needed to arrive late in the evening and the management assured me it would be possible, and then they were very helpful at midnight when I rolled in with my family of four. Management and staff were always helpful and friendly. They helped us arrange a car/driver and tour through the tea plantations of Munnar, Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary, and a houseboat.

The rooms, basic and of average size, were spotless – I was in the new wing opened up in late 2013 – both times that I stayed here (beginning and end of Kerala leg of our five week trip). Other reviews complain of mosquitoes, and yes, there are mosquitoes, but Kerala in general has mosquitoes, they come with the territory. The rooms all have good (cleverly designed) screen mesh and the doors have screen doors; we never saw one inside our room.

There is wireless by the office and supposedly they have it in the new wing too, though TBH I was never able to access it. So for now you just have to sit by the office and check your email, not the end of the world. There is also an internet café (so so) across the street.

The owner of the hotel appears to be investing heavily in the hotel and you can see improvements all about. The grounds of the hotel are very pretty with a wide variety of tropical plants and herbs, many of them labeled in English. A couple of bird cages and even a rabbit pen give the kiddies something to look at. There’s even a badminton court.

I would most definitely visit this place again. My only real complaint is that I wish there was some capacity for coffee or tea in the morning, be it self-serve or otherwise. Though there are numerous restaurants nearby where you can eat. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay and very good value for the money.

===============================

Background of our trip through India: my wife and I traveled with our two kids, ages 6 & 7, through India for five weeks in Dec 2013/Jan 2014. On two legs of our trip we hired a car and driver, and took trains and taxis for the other parts of the trip. We are Americans, but live outside of the US in a third world country. When looking for a hotel, cleanliness is a prime consideration for us, followed by location and price. I always appreciate a place that appears to have friendly and responsive management. We consider ourselves to be ‘budget travelers’, but now that we have kids and are more fastidious about cleanliness, we have upped the budget a bit and no longer go for the absolute cheapest option that Lonely Planet and/or Trip Advisor have to offer.

On our trip through Rajasthan, we were rather cold during the evenings and found rooftop/outdoor restaurants to be often to chilly to eat in. Not that it is so incredibly cold in Rajasthan, but we live in a hot climate, so we have become unaccustomed to it being so cold.

When we were with a car and driver, we stayed at hotels for 1-2 night in each city, and the hotel was chosen for us by the tour agency, so we were not aware of the price of the room. However, the quality of the rooms was comparable to what we would have chosen anyways. To give you an idea of our budgetary considerations, in Delhi, Goa, and Mumbai, we were paying about 2000-2900 rupees per night for our family of four, often in a room with one large bed, or a medium size bed with a mattress on the floor, or sometimes three twin-sized beds. Outside of these cities, this type of room seemed to be priced at 1500-2000.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Schlabotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear guest,

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sparing time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.It is really nice to know that you had a pleasant experience at Palm Grove and that we were able to meet your expectations. l appreciate your compliments about our staff and the same has been shared with all the staff members. We have recently installed WiFi in our new block also.So now the entire property is WiFi.Recently we started a coffee shop also. We are really honoured to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back to our villa during your next visit to Kochi.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Palm grove service villa has , cool comfortable n green property, reasonably in the middle of crowded city, have nestled few birds n a fish pond among other amenities which includes a badminton court, courteous n cooperative staff ready to help always, its tariff is okay , comparing what is on offer, what it lacks is in house dining, I wish Mr . Francis will take note,
all in all nice stay.

Room Tip: Near badminton court
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank rukesh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.I am glad to know that you had a nice stay at Palm Grove. Thanks for your encouraging feedback . I really appreciate your compliments about our team and the same has been shared with all the staff members.We are really honoured to have you stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcome you back in our villa.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Location is good to lulu mall but far away from fort kochi,but can get transport to all places.
service is nil we have to ask to front room each and everything.Accomadation quiet simple and clean,water for bathing is bad quality need to improve

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Ramachandran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to know that you liked the cleanliness of the room.We strive to offer you the very best of services, somehow we couldn’t live up to your expectation and I regret that. Ours is a budget accommodation,not fancy but down to earth with neat and clean rooms surrounded by greenery. We see to it that our guests have a comfortable stay . For any assistance or service the guests have to ask the front office and we immediately do the needful. As far as the quality of water is concerned , we provide water supplied by Kerala Water Authority and till now nobody has brought up such an issue . Anyway I will look into the matter.We really value our guest's reviews as it help us to provide better service in future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We booked the entire place for family and friends to stay during my wedding and for the guests who were from TN, Maharashtra etc, Palm Grove was invariable one of the highlights of the trip. Rooms are very neat and clean, the gardens are beautiful and serene, pet animals and birds are well taken care of and add to the beauty of the place. The staff was very helpful and cooperative. We got food catered for all the guests as there is no restaurant or tea/coffee service. The staff did help with getting some tea/coffee for the guests on order.

This is like a piece of the heaven that is Kerala well preserved in a quite property in the middle of the city.

This place only lacks a restaurant... At least a pantry with some basic tea/coffee and snacks could add much value. There may be many more improvements that can be done here. Nonetheless, our experience was par excellence and undeniably fulfilling.

Much more value than money can buy.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with mosquito nets for doors and windows.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reknaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palm Grove for your family and friends to stay during your wedding. It is indeed a delight to have your valuable feedback and we really appreciate the time you spent for posting a great review of our vila on Trip Advisor.I am glad to know that you had a fulfilling experience at Palm Grove.You have mentioned that our place only lacks a restaurant. I am happy to let you know that we have recently started a small coffee shop. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The stay is very comfortable, homely environment and good service.
if one has a very short stay at Kerala, then its one of the suitable location, strategically located In the main city
The environment makes it all the more special for group or family stay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deboshreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay at Palm Grove. We look forward to welcome you back to our villa. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Warm regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
5.9 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
143 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.0 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 30 in Ernakulam
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
267 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove Service Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Service Villa

Address: Palm Grove Service Villa Market Road | Cochin, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682024, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range: £13 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Grove Service Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove service villa - is a budget accommodation located at Edappally , a fast growing suburb of Cochin. This is not a conventional Inn. It is an ancestral house which has been renovated into 6 A/C and 7 non A/C rooms with all modern facilities. The house is on a 1 acre beautiful property with coconut palms, many exotic plants and trees with a small vegetable farm in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Grove Service Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing