We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kochi Marriott Hotel(Ernakulam)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aiswarya Hotel(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Grove Service Villa(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mercy(Ernakulam)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
136
141
56
17
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
141
56
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationswimming poolvalue for moneycandle light dinnerrestaurant servicebusiness triphotel is locatedmg roadbuffet breakfastfront officestar hotelearly checkneeds improvementservice staffsuite roomsouth indianrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were after a hectic Journey & a early morning flight. When we reached the reception I informed the receptionist about our reservation. He checked it and he called our travel agent for clarification. In the mean time a indian client arrived and he requested us to have a seat. He checked in the indian client & took him to his room. We had to wait 10 minutes till he treat his own indian client. Once he was back he gave us the key. We were angry since we were discriminated . I requested for a wifi password & the same person was reading it with out writing it in a paper.

The breakfast was good. There were many power break downs & it interrupted our meeting. We were watching Sri Lanka New Zealand match in the bar & the service was very slow. They didn't have diet Cork in the hotel. They don't serve food after 11 pm & we had to look for a place for dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suresh_Dissanayake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. Your Check In happened in the morning time only. We don't have any information regarding your early check In. Our normal check in time is 02:00 PM only. The guest who checked in on the same time has informed as about early check in prior. We are treating all our guest equally only.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had a great stay in this hotel, the staff were excellent, tried so hard to give me and my wife a five star experience! Unfortunately they are not there yet but I would still highly recommend this place. Went for an Ayurdevic massage and enjoyed it. My wife loved hers. We did have trouble finding it, the taxi driver from the airport didn't know it and we ended up paying too much to get there. They had a buffet breakfast, hardly any guests, I would recommend to cook for guests from a menu, would make more sense!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigeaterdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel is fairly new providing a very comfortable stay. It's maintained well and the rooms are quite clean. While the service was also excellent, the only drawback remains the location (it's bang opposite the railway station) and somewhat the food served at their in-house restaurant.
Overall, decent stay considering the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhawna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Ideally located,near the commercial hub and business centres,this 4 star deluxe property is really excellent.The lobby and reception area,very compact and special mention of the reception staff,their endeavour is mainly to provide maximum satisfaction to the guests.The Wintergreen room alloted to me in the 3rd level was very good,with LED TV,teacoffee maker and mini refrigerator.A unique offer for the guests,different types of pillows available,catering to the requirement of the guests.Washroom,modern look and ecofriendly toileteries available for the guests,expensive quality.The complimentary breakfast,served at CILANTRO,mindblowing.Vast variety and food quality very good.I stayed for 2nightsn and enjoyed my stay.The hotel room service and housekeeping staff,passive,they should become more prompt.This is a small suggestion for cent percent result in future.Food ordered in the room was very good.I will definitely recommend to all my associates,friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front side get a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAJKUMAR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Kochi 2013

We arrived at Kochi after a long journey and delays in both Heathrow and Mumbai. We paid 8 rupees for a prepaid taxi to Ernakulum. It has to be one of the most hair raising journeys we've ever made! We arrived at Hotel Beaumonde Fern which is located just behind Ernakulum South railway station to a warm welcome having phoned ahead in Mumbai to advise that we were running late. Our room was on the 3rd floor (301) right at the end of a corridor so we thought it would be quiet. Unfortunately, a generator or extractor kicked in early morning and droned on until late evening which we weren't expecting. The room itself was spacious, had a small separate second toilet and a larger bathroom with a huge bath and separate shower cubicle and a second toilet There was a separate sitting area with TV and another in the bedroom. Lighting was a problem with only small lamps etc providing lighting except in the bathroom. If you need to plug in a hairdryer, there are no sockets next to a mirror as the socket in the bathroom was only for shavers. The bed linen and towels were clean and replaced daily. The safety deposit box and a couple of the lights weren't working and after reporting them, these were fixed promptly.

Breakfast is served on the 1st floor. The hotel doesn't have any nice views so blinds are up at the windows. Plenty of choice of fresh fruit, pastries, Indian cuisine etc. An egg station will make up fried eggs or omelettes to order. Service is extremely slow, particularly on New Year's Day as there were too few staff working . There is a bar on the ground floor, not very welcoming with the air conditioning and music turned up too high. Not quite sure what ambience they were hoping for, but it wasn't a comfortable place to sit and relax. There is a gym somewhere in the hotel, but we didn't use it. The pool area on the 8th floor overlooks the surrounding area which we've already said isn't very scenic, but enables you to relax outside after a busy day amongst the hustle and bustle of the streets. Pool towels and a sauna are also available. The pool water looked a bit murky for our liking so didn't use it. We ordered room service one evening, service was relatively quick and the food delicious - highly recommended.

There was an obligatory payment for New Year's Eve buffet of £35 which we thought expensive, but couldn't do much about it - noted that this payment wasn't mentioned at the time of booking! We turned up at 7.30 as suggested and entered a dark room with seats around the outside (a bit like a school disco). The entertainment were still setting up doing sound checks and no-one manning the 'all-inclusive bar', so we sat there waiting.....! People started arriving around 8pm onwards and then there was mad dash for drinks. There was nowhere near enough seats for the amount of people - strange as they should have known how many people were turning up and catered accordingly. The staff started to come around with nibbles etc, the buffet finally opened around 10 pm, but as it was still dark in the room it was difficult to see what was in each of the containers. The live entertainment sang mainly slow songs, not the type of music you would expect to get a New Year celebration underway. The disco livened things up a bit, but this was definitely geared towards the Indian rather than foreign guests. The evening was Nothing like we'd been expecting to give us what we'd imagine a typical Indian New Year to be like. We decided to gate crash the roof party at 11.30 as we'd heard there would be fireworks over the city - this was easier than we thought, but not surprising as it was chaos up there! We watched the fireworks and saw in 2014, then headed back to our room thinking the partying would go on for hours. The music stopped about 1.30 apart then from some voices in the corridors and slamming of doors everything quietened down. Definitely a different New Year's Eve experience for us! The next day, the pool area was carnage, even late afternoon when we arrived back from a walk - I would have expected that the management would have made the effort to clean this up so guests could use it.

Outside, turn right out of the hotel and right again, there are plenty places to eat, many are vegetarian so don't sell beer. Food is cheap and tasty, with plenty of choice. Ernakulum itself we felt doesn't have much to offer, once you've walked up MG road and Marine Road, a few places tucked away will be of interest to some travellers, but you have to deal with the noise and traffic. As 'tourists' we attracted a great deal of unwanted and often rude attention - something we haven't really experienced in other parts of Asia. It made me very uncomfortable and put a real dampner on our trip.

We ordered a taxi to take us to the airport for our domestic flight to Trivandrum. On checkout, we were surprised to see that our bill contained a whole raft of additional charges which had been added for room service, bar bill etc (service tax, luxury tax, plan, etc) which I have to admit was disappointing as this wasn't really made clear at the time of booking.

The driver back to the airport was far more considerate than the airport taxi and so our return journey to the airport wasn't anywhere near as hair raising as our first experience.

Would we stay here again, probably not. We'd suggest that tourists would be better staying over in Fort Kochin or Matancherry as they seem more amenable to tourists there. We picked up a local ferry which cost 4rupees and they run every 20 minutes or so, be prepared for queues though during weekends and holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the generator. Worth upgrading if you're a family for extra space.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mythos_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews