We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was really a short stay at Fern, I checked in around 9 PM and checked out 9 AM. First of all It was very difficult to locate it. Although quite near to MG road but surrounding is not good. The hospital staff was very good. Hassle free check in and warm welcome in addition to this I was upgraded to suite room and it was fantastic. It is unjustified if I should not admire the interior of room. It was equipped with all modern facilities. The breakfast was well spread. Over all verdict is very good hotel to stay if you are least concern with surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMor_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hard to locate esplly as the local population speaks only malayalam and hardly any hindi or english. had to make the cabbie speak to the hotel for directions each time. Once we reached the hotel is clean and pretty, i got upgraded and the suite was beautiful , large and had two wash rooms! Rooms have very nice modern fittings. Breakfast is sumptuous. Book online for a good cost. However the girl at the spa has limited english vocabulary and was late tp show up, she told me clearly that each of the massages costed rs 1750 including taxes except the last special one which was rs 2000 including taxes. I went in for the ayurvedic massage for 1750 , the rate list gives the cost without mentioning including or excluding taxes. Such miscommunication cd be avoided if the rate list indicates in writing if it is including/excluding taxes and the staff are clear abt the rates too. I will give a 4.5 star rating for the room but 3 star for the spa staff communication and the location. The massage itself was average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ganga D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff. Also we noted your concerns about our Spa.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Though this hotel is located not much next to a happening area, everything else is just good enough for the place. The rooms are well appointed and good. There are a few issues here and there, be it the housekeeping or the restaurant service. Also is a let down to the service levels of a 5 star property. In short, good for a day or two of business travel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickySam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Nice hotel but the location is a let down. . For people traveling by train this would be a good locations as it is just a stone throw away from Ernakulam Junction Station. But for a 5 star hotel the location may not be apt, the road approach is also narrow.

The staff were great and helpful at reception, restaurant, housekeeping and banquets !! The security staff though seem uninterested and sleepy.

Some special mention of people who were helpful staff were Abhishek, Robin & Shahul.

Main let down was that they dont have inhouse laundry service and when asked for some pressing of clothes they just flatly said that they get it done from outside and will take one day to return. Promptly an iron-box and iron table was given in room.

Shortage of staff was very evident and most of the service took its own time. At one instant they had just forgotten to clean the room and was done once i called and complained at the housekeeping.

Basic supply like shampoo was provided each day on request only and not kept as a part of daily supplies.

The bathroom did not have a basic soap stand, which when was reported to the manager, he just said that none of their rooms had such a facility so you have to keep the soap and shampoo on the floor !!

The ambiance at restaurant was spoilt by the service staff shouting at each other at the room next to the restaurant and was heard at the restaurant. Frictions and discussions between staff were evident in the restaurant.

Overall an average hotel . . Ok for a 3 star . . definitely not a 5 star !!

Room Tip: Look at it as a 3 star hotel and you will be happy . . Look at it as a 5 star and you ll be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srikant_Rajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I Stayed at this place in Jan 2014 for a business visit in Kochi. I was told that this place is close to MG road so i decided to take the plunge via my corp booking. 1st thing not many know this place as i was told this place was re done a while ago. This place is well tucked inside the streets and this looked to be a lonely place it was tough even for the localities to recognize or locate this property.

The check in was fine and rooms were pretty decent. The lobby doesn have an air-con and it looks raw and un-finished. The amenities inside the rooms were just about alright. The pool is really small and so was their fitness center. I did try my hand on their food and it was ok nothing great to rave about it. The Buffet breakfast was also just about ok. In all a decent place to stay if you donot expect much of fringe benefits and it is worth the price.

I will certainly stay at this place in-case if i do not want to move of the property after my work.

Room Tip: Take the rooms that are at the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

What a pleasant surprise!” Lovely looking hotel. Grand lobby. Nice staff. the staff were excellent, tried so hard to give us a five star experience! Good Food & a King size Breakfast ..a few signs of tiredness but nothing bad.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amruts_Sapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked this hotel expecting a 5 start category hotel after looking at the pictures of rooms on-line. The rooms are exactly as expected but apart from that, there was nothing like 5 star.

The quality and varieties for buffet dinner was very limited and not at all tasty. Very limited items for vegetarians. The location of hotel is also a negative as it take alot of time travelling to and from the hotel because its located near railway stations with narrow roads. Due to heavy traffic entire Kochi city has traffic problem. Its better to book hotel very close to where you have to visit, rather than booking any hotel.

The Ayurvedic spa in hotel is good and offers great discount on listed price. Do negotiate the price.

Room Tip: Don't expect 5 star quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanny_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
1.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#11 of 30 in Ernakulam
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Cochin
Grand Hotel Cochin
#7 of 30 in Ernakulam
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Travancore Court
Hotel Travancore Court
#8 of 30 in Ernakulam
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel

Address: Vivekananda Lane | off M G Road, near South Junction, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range: £35 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUMONDE The Fern - First 5 star Ecotel hotel in Kochi boasts 70 aesthetically designed environmentally friendly rooms, 2 dining options – Cilantro (Multi Cuisine Restaurant) & Gravity (The First Resto Bar in the City), Modernized equipped Health Club, Infinity Swimming pool with prodigious entire city view. The property is equipped with eco-friendly toiletries and amenities, energy-saving lights and panels. The spacious air-conditioned rooms at the hotel come with a 32-inch flat-screen TV, a Minibar, an electronic safe, Iron and Iron Board, Weighing Scale, Powder Room, an elegant bathroom equipped with a hairdryer and magnifying mirrors. An executive Fern Club to enjoy club lounge access and benefits like internet access and dining. Beaumonde The Fern Hotel is located about 35 km from Cochin International Airport and 5 km from Vallarpadam Container Terminal. Kochi Infopark is about 8 km away. The hotel has a travel desk and a business centre, 2 conference halls to take care of your business needs. The Cilantro, the hotel’s all-day dining Multi Cuisine Restaurant serves a selection of international dishes with Indian specialties. Gravity The Restobar with inbuilt live kitchen serves grilled foods and a wide variety of selection of beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing