We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but terrible experience with customers service and front desk staff”
Review of The Avenue Regent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avenue Regent
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

stayed here for 4 nights with family and friends in 2 rooms in ealry may. rooms are pretty much decent but slightly dated for my taste. was expecting much more as hotel website and pictures on booking websites were quite nice. having said that we could not complain much abouit the room only that its showing its age and the toilets definitely need to be redone soon. our bath tub was stuck for the last 2 nites and it took almost 8 hours for the water to recede. facilities wise also quire jaded apart from the bar and restaurant which is pretty alright. now the worst part is the attitude of the fornt desk staff who tend to treat foreigners like criminals. There is a lack of respect shown to us especially when we wanted to check out early in the morning and had problems with our taxi. The staff on duty refused to even acknowledge our problem and could not even be bothered to help us. His only reply was that there was no taxi available here at this hour. This was at 4 am and we neeeded to be at the airport by 6. despite numerous complaints at the reception desk he did not even bother to help us , we still had to use our own mobile to try to call taxi operators at our own expense while he continued with his own work at the desk. until we threatened to call the management and owners, then he made a lame attempt to help us which came to nothing. Mind you this is in a foreign country where we dont speak the language, the least you expect a hotel staff is to help us out and not stand there not bothered. To top it all off we were not allowed to make local calls until we wanted to call the management. Then magically we could use the phone.

Terrible let down which almost made us miss the flight. in the end we sorted the problem ourselves without any help from this hotel. I will defintiely avoid this hotel on my visits to Kochi. not recommended unless you are a local.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be same but try higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krish9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueRegent, Front Office Manager at The Avenue Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Avenue Regent!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Many thanks for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. We are extremely concerned to know that your overall stay with us was not up to the expectation. We have noted your review very seriously, and would like to clarify the following. The airport drop as you know, you have arranged a taxi from outside travel agency and not from the hotel. Unfortunately your driver refused to accommodate your huge luggage and your 06 team members in his cab, and finally he left the hotel. At the last moment you have requested our front desk staff to arrange a taxi as per your specifications, but failed, as this is happening at early morning 4.o’clock. If you have arranged the taxi with our travel desk or communicated on time with our front desk person, definitely they would have met your requirement, and all these problems could have been avoided.
Many thanks for your review; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Bijoy P.R
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed avenue regent last week it was a good place to stay ....
The all department was very nice which I used .. Especially reception people was very nice and elegant in their work and have a good helping mentality , they help me for site seeing in kochi and which is the nice place for buy good things and all .. They upgraded to a higher category room also . The food @ restaurant was very nice and tasty worth-full the room service should be speedy .. House keeping should be more efficient and keep more amenities in room ... Really applicable to reception staff and restaurant staff and both managers too . Keep it up ....

Room Tip: 6th floor and road side is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirankk1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had stayed at this hotel from 30th April to 4th May 2014 and occupied 2 rooms with 3 beds in each room. I had booked the hotel via agoda.com. On our checkin we had asked for extra keycards as the rooms would not be used at the same time and the front desk said that they had run out of cards! This is a 4 star hotel apparently! The rooms are nice except the bathrooms need some major renovations which include changing the toilet seats and upgrading the bathtubs. The hot water shower is also very slow. Room service is fast and efficient. The front desk travel assistance service was managed by a lady who doesn't smile at all and her service in renting vehicles and suggestions where to go and eat or for tourists sites is very poor. She basically does not bother to assist. On our checkout we had requested for the front desk assistance in calling a cab and the person on duty Ajay/Ashok refused to stop what he was doing and attend to us. This was around 4am and there were no other customers around. When we demanded to see the manager, he said that manager was not around and continued his own work. After demanding a few times he finally started to assist by giving us numbers to call from our foreign handphones and would incur global rates! He didn't even bother to allow us to use the hotel phone to call local numbers for cabs. No assistance what so ever! Beers in the bar and sent to the room are not cold and need to be chilled more. Overall I would not return to this hotel as the service quality is very bad compared to the top dollar being paid. There is another hotel called Excelsior just behind and that is a much better hotel with the staff being friendlier as we had some of our meals there instead as it was more reasonable and had variety. This hotel forced us to have the buffet at INR600 per head and said the ala carte menu was not available but to room service it was which was very strange but suppose this is how they force people to have the buffet.

Room Tip: High floor 6th floor and above is best. Non smoking rooms. Facing MG road has a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kolavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueRegent, Front Office Manager at The Avenue Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Avenue Regent!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Many thanks for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. We are extremely concerned to know that your overall stay with us was not up to the expectation. We have noted your review very seriously, and would like to clarify the following. The airport drop as you know, you have arranged a taxi from outside travel agency and not from the hotel. Unfortunately your driver refused to accommodate your huge luggage and your 06 team members in his cab, and finally he left the hotel. At the last moment you have requested our front desk staff to arrange a taxi as per your specifications, but failed, as this is happening at early morning 4.o’clock. If you have arranged the taxi with our travel desk or communicated on time with our front desk person, definitely they would have met your requirement, and all these problems could have been avoided.
Many thanks for your review; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

BIJOY P.R
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The room provided was clean, neat and well designed. The room service was of excellent grade. Always take benefit of the restaurant, bar and the coffee shop. The Coffee shop is equipped with mouth watering pastries and lot of magazines.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Anupaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

nice place clean central to everything good food nice staff especially the lady on the tour desk very honest and helpful would stay again,the backwaters tour by boat was relaxing we did the full day but i would have done they half day in hindsight lovely lunch

Room Tip: ask to see the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruth216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We reached this hotel early morning before sunrise, 1 hour before the informed time. The reception was happy to accommodate us and give a room quickly. The rooms and common areas are very clean and well maintained. If I am wrong, they have door to door news paper delivery in the morning. The breakfast was a good Indian spread including North Indian and Kerala style cuisine. The hotel is around 1km form the Ernakulam Railway station and next to the popular MG Road of Ernakulam. You can get some shopping areas nearby. Fort Kochi and Center of Cochin is around 10 to 14 kms. The cost is on a bit higher side, otherwise, I liked this hotel a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandipanBhatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

the hotel is in the middle of ernakulum/cochin business area, right on MG road, 5 min walk from the railway station. The rooms are reasonably priced and aptly furnished. The buffet lunch is excellent with plenty of varieties to choose from. Only problem is parking, sometimes it gets too crowded.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kranthikpebbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Cochin
Grand Hotel Cochin
#7 of 30 in Ernakulam
397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
268 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Regent

Address: M.G. Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range: £49 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Avenue Regent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Avenue Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avenue Regent Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Regent Kochi
Regent Hotel Kochi
Kochi Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing