We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, warm staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Location, warm staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Had been to this hotel for a conference. The staff is quite warm and friendly, and willing to help with a smile. The location of the hotel is nice, right beside the sea, sometimes the harbour can get a bit noisy, but not bothersome. The rooms are well maintained and well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chintan_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    438
    105
    34
    10
See reviews for
330
211
74
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The main attraction is, we never have to search for anything. Once we enter to the main lounge, the men in charge will reach us for the assistance. Hassle free room election and enrolling. The hotel crew NEVER SAY 'you cant'. We are welcome all over the place. Nice, clean place with comfortable atmosphere.
There is also a boat ride through the periyar lake, starting from Taj's own boat jetty It is awesome especially at night.
And i will say, if you want a decent comfort and greenish atmosphere.. Its an Excellent place for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Dont miss the party if there is one while visiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadeemismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The stay at this hotel was fantastic. The quality of the staff is remarkable - friendly and helpful. The rooms are also good - clean and spacious. The way they greet you at the check-in with coconut water is truly traditional and hence much appreciated. Clearly value for money stay for anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prateek2kin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at The Gateway for 8 nights whilst holidaying through India with my parents. We had requested and were given interconnecting rooms which was perfect for us as it allowed us our own privacy but still felt like we were staying together. The bathrooms had obviously been recently renovated and the room itself was quite large by western standards. The room next to ours also seemed to have a separate sitting area/lounge and was larger than either of the two we had.

Never having been to Cochin before we picked this hotel because it seemed to be very centrally located and we were right. The location was excellent – just a short walk to the central shopping street, a convenience store, a good food court in the nearby Bay Pride Mall and the ferry terminal where you can easily catch a ferry to Fort Kochi, Vypeen or Willingdon Island.

The hotel staff were very friendly and happily answered any queries we had. The security staff at the front gates deserve a special mention. As we travelled in late April the weather was quite warm and we would often go out for a couple of hours in the morning, return to the hotel for a break, head out again in the afternoon and also at night for dinner. This meant entering and exiting the gates facing the promenade numerous times each day and the security staff would always run over from the main gate to let us either in or out and always with a smile and a warm hello.

Breakfast was a highlight – one of the best we experienced during our travels. There was a nice mix of Indian and western choices. Bacon and eggs were not part of the pre-cooked buffet but were always happily cooked to order. The surprise at breakfast was the roast chicken or beef in pepper gravy, fresh steamed vegetables and crispy potato wedges so you could make yourself a roast dinner to rival any home-cooked meal. Now we wouldn’t normally have a roast dinner for breakfast but it was just too good to pass by.

The only downside was probably the pool. We didn’t mind that it was across the carpark on the other side of the hotel, although that did seem a bit odd. It was that it was only 4ft at the deep end. None of us are particularly tall but being able to kneel in the deep end was just weird. Also meant that you couldn’t swim laps very successfully. The overpowering smell of chlorine and discolouring of our silver jewellery also meant that the chemical mix needed some adjustment.

The location, staff and breakfast mean that we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a view of the harbour - fabulous sunset
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jork71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I had stayed here earlier also and because of the old good experience I had , I have repeated my stay. The hotel is in good location both for business and leisure. The staff is good and the support by manager Mr. Unnikrishnan can not be compared. Only issue here is the limited parking and because of this sometimes there will be delay because one has to park somewhere outside. Overall experience is great.

Room Tip: Try to get sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel has excellent location (adjacent to Waterfront), calm & quiet, impeccably maintained, along with strong Customer Service orientation one would expect from any Taj group property - we had a short stay over one and a half days in May 2012 - we were extremely satisfied. The 24x7 restaurant at the lobby level has some excellent 'health oriented' food options in the menu - over and above regular buffet spread (at breakfast), they honored my request to 'custom make' some North Indian Parantha!! The hotel is very close to convenience stores & market center - all at walking distance. The hotel has a nice bakery/confectionery store as well.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay view rooms while checking in - we were allotted one such room, it had wonderful view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantanuGanguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The last time I stayed here several years ago, this hotel was known as the Taj Residency. Re-branding and renovation by the Taj group has clearly had the desired impact - the rooms and lobby are smarter and trendy, the restaurants more spacious and better laid out. The hotel overlooks the harbor and I savored the experience of watching a large tanker sail into port while sitting on the balcony in the morning sipping my cup of tea. For a business trip, where I arrived fairly late in the night and had an early start, this was a soothing rest stop that went a long way in recharging my batteries.

Room Tip: One with a sea view. Of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
4.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#4 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Property: The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing