We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the Glass Wall!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beware the Glass Wall!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

A business hotel with great views, a small pool and a large restaurant. The main feature of our (smallish) room was a glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom - just why would you? At least there is a blind that could be operated electronically between the two sheets of glass. The rooms are also equipped with home cinemas (luckily neither of our neighbours availed themselves of this facility).

The staff here are extremely solicitous and keen to practice their English. Chatting to one of them revealed that they offered a complimentary sunset cruise around the harbour, which was well worth doing, even if it did take more like two hours than the one suggested.

A good spot for a touch of high end luxury.

Room Tip: Try and get a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bignickandlittleted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    454
    110
    35
    11
See reviews for
344
223
76
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Right smack on the marine drive in Kochi, we had a short but memorable stay here. The untrammelled view of the Arabian Sea was magnificient. Rooms were compact, but very clean and smart. Good dining options too. Staff were courteous and went out of their way to provide assitance and at the same time respected our privacy. Typical Taj, and better than most Vivantas I have stayed at. Definitely has good repeat value, and I would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinodShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

A beautiful hotel with large,well appointed and comfortable rooms which has the best customer care I have ever encountered. Our room (Sea view, Queen) had a fantastic view over Kochi harbour. We were treated one night to a spectacular storm and spent hours watching the power of nature displayed before us.
Staff could not have been more helpful in every way, from the smiling and ever cheerful Daisy and Francis at the entrance to all management,they could not be faulted.
Food was good, especially the lunch buffets. Only slight let down was the pool which was very shallow and quite cold. Otherwise, first class.

Room Tip: Worth the little extra for a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannyannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

On a business trip to Cochin stayed here. On arrival got a welcome drink with the evergreen Taj warmth but did prefer a glass of water. The room was a bay view. The small balcony was real awesome to stand and watch the sodium vapor lamps from the port. The marine drive adjacent to the hotel is a "must do activity", took a walk along the promenade. There is a short cut to the marine drive through a small gate which was opened with a smile. The breakfast menu was a mix of Indian and Western offerings and was really awesome. The best part is the view from the restaurant. Overall a fantastic stay. Will recommend strongly.
The only negative was the TV - most of the channels were blocked as I wanted to desperately tune in as there was some issue back in Mumbai. It was reported and corrected.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUDIPBASU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Very warm welcome on arrival by Guest Relations executives ( GRE's) Jayashree and Chinju.They also looked after our needs during our stay and were always friendly and courteous.Room allocated was very good on 1st floor but due to noisy huge extractor fan operating outside above kitchen just below our room it was not comfortable on first night but they promptly change to a better room at a higher level .Room was spacious very very good ammenities.

As it was my wife's birthday during our stay Jayashree and rest of the team organised a surprise birthday cake for her and we were very greatful for this extra effort they put in to help us celebrate this special occassion.We are very thanful to the whole team in Gateway.

The Bubbel cafe was very modern and food was good but expensive.As we were vegetarians we had to make special requests for our meals and at times chefs were were very polite and said they would provide the meal requested but when brought out iit was different to what was requested.Staff in the restuarant were helpful but at times they lacked attentiveness.and had to request for items that should have been provided as part of the meals.Catering manager Deepak was helpful and looked after our needs as best as nhe could.

The whole team at Gateway were very helpful and made our stay there very comfortable and pleasant and we would certainly go there again.Our sincere thanks to GRE's Jayashree,Chinju and Reema.Also duty manager Mithun,Karthika in cafe,and all service staff

Room Tip: Rooms at higher level on the left facing the sea are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rameshchandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

It was an extremely pleasant experience staying at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam. The trident staff are amazing and prepaired to go the little bit extra to make you stay as perfect as possible. the rooms were clean the facilties clean and the food was fantastic. We ordered breakfast to be packed and the chef who prepared it for us did it with "Patience" and one of the most delicious sandwich we had and Club sandwich is one of my favorite wherever I travel and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We prebooked this hotel via, hotels.com and drove down from alleppey. From check-in till checkout everything was handled with promptness and efficiency. housekeepers, restaurant personnel and front office- every one seems to be taking that extra mile to make us comfortable. it was very important to us as we were travelling with our baby boy who was 3 months old then. the only itch on this hitch was non-availability of baby sitter when ever we requested for one. however while we were having our breakfast the restaurant hostess offerd to take care of him which we politely refused. food is delicious. the breakfast buffet could use some sausages and waffles and pancakes. (i wonder why they were missing)

Room Tip: we paid for sea view, but they all are harbour view except a few. so choose carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lekshmi_sita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
4.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#3 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Property: The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing