We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Top Notch, Fantastic - The Taj Gateway, Cochin :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Simply Top Notch, Fantastic - The Taj Gateway, Cochin :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Wow! simply fantastic. The Taj Gateway Hotel is a must place to stay at Cochin for all. The marine drive walking area and view of backwater side is fabulous. I'm enjoying really. Room size is pretty big with nice balcony, sofa and bed is really comfy, toilet and bathroom is separated by glass with plenty of toiletries, safety locker is there, drinking water, tea/ coffee making facilities with plenty of tea/ coffee bags with sugar is free and available upon request. Nevertheless, one can ask for an additional toiletries which is free of cost. Breakfast is simply great with huge selections of continental, indian and american dishes. The breakfast area is just one step back of marine drive so one can enjoy his/ her breakfast with nice scenic view of the backwater peacefully - really love this area of the hotel. They've a drinking lounge and food lounge also where one can get Chinese, Thai and Japanese food on order. Price is little bit on a higher side but worthy in terms of quality of food and service. I met a Bengali waitress named Pragati there who has served at her best - thanks to her. Sorry! guys they don't have any discotheque but bar lounge is there where one need to depend on luck to meet with freelancer :-P. Plenty of shopping and food stores are in walking distance. One can also get all kind of tour from tour desk. As a 5* Hotel under Taj Group/ Corporate link WIFI shouldn't be chargeable as it's necessity now a day and this sort of service is really appreciable. Altogether, Gateway hotel is bit expensive but simply spotless and top notch. Thanks to the team Gateway :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shohagepyllion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us.
Also noted the point to point feedback with regard to Bar Lounge, Sian Restaurant and the wonderful pathway of Marine drive. Thank you so much for the mention about room size.

Me and my team look forward to welcome you back to the gateway hotel, Marine drive ernakulam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    449
    110
    35
    11
See reviews for
338
220
76
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed in this tour. Best location just on marine drive and next to boat jetty to catch boat to mattencherry, wellingdon,fort kochi. As we reached the hotel at 5 pm one complimentary boat trip was arranged by taj gateway people shivh was a good trip. Hospitality of courtsy tea coffee cookies before start of boat tour was rejuvinating. The staff is extremely helpful and accomodating. My request for late checkin and late checkout was well accepted . The location of the hotel is excellent on marine drive and mg road shopping just 10 min by auto. Rooms are very clean and ambience is fantastic . A need of sirport shittle is indeed required. Overall A great hotel and recommend strongly for stay in kochi.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank DRMANAVVERMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us.
Also noted the point to point feedback with regard to sunset cruise and also request for your late check out.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Decided to treat ourselves to a 5 star hotel to end our holiday and went for the Gateway being close to the center of Ernakulam. However this place is a complete money taking establishment, the rooms are pretty expensive relative to India yet the restaurants there are overpriced, charging 95 rupees plus tax for a bottel of water!!! You have to pay for internet 150 rupees plus tax for 30 mins!!! Our room was Okay, however certainly not to the standard you would expect of a high star hotel. The staff are friendly enough, however you feel they just want to be tipped all the time. I would stay there again but just be mindful that there are good eateries just minutes away on foot from the hotel. Lastly the facilities are okay at best, the pool is nothing special nor are the steam room and gym etc. They do give you 1 thing for free, that is a fruit juice when you arrive and i advise you to drink it all as everything else you'll be paying through the nose for!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your TripAdvisor review.We apologies for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay at Gateway Hotel Ernakulam .We understand the feedback mentioned by you must have been annoying. We assure you that we will definitely resolve the issues mentioned by you.

Me & my Team look forward to welcome you back soon at Gateway Ernakulam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Good hotel, perfect location and very helpfull and friendly staff specialy the reception and conceirge. No complains except the carpets on the floor lobbies requires cleaning.

The room and the food were of high standard and the service wsas exeptional.

Room Tip: take a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us. Apart from Bubble we have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese, Japanese & Thai options. We have noted your feedback on the carpets & are doing the needful.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Property by Taj located at Marine drive which offer a beautiful walk in morning and evenings. Have a good coffee shop which server excellent spread of Breakfast. However room service was a disaster, especially on day of my stay as there was a banquet downstairs and hotel offered room on each floor to guest, each room and corridor on floor was loaded with outside guest drinking merrily and making lot of noise. Room service took over an hour to serve the snacks.
Other then that experience the property is decent esp. if you have business in the city.

Room Tip: Try to take a room facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogichoudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your TripAdvisor review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Although we are delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay at Gateway Ernakulam.We apologies for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay at Gateway Hotel Ernakulam ., We understand the feedback mentioned by you must have been annoying. We assure you that we will definitely resolve the issues mentioned by you.

Me & my Team look forward to welcome you back soon at Gateway Ernakulam.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is a very expensive hotel to stay in and the staff can be very unhelpful at times. This does not apply to all staff and mainly refers to reception / travel desk staff. Be warned, your stay will cost a lot more if you eat in the hotel, drink in the bar, use the Wi Fi, have laundry done or get them to arrange a taxi.

The Bubble Café is advertised in guide books as the only 24 hr café in Cochin but when I tried to get a cup of tea at 2am (jet lag), it was closed.

The hotel is in a good location on Marine Drive and it is a short walk from the main Ernakulum ferry terminal and a range of shops and restaurants. There is a good outdoor swimming pool with changing facilities and very helpful staff. However you are visible from Marine Drive to all walking past and various smells do tend to impact on your enjoyment in this area.

The hotel room was cramped and was in average condition. The bathroom had a large picture window into the bedroom which meant that every time someone used the bath or toilet they had to shut the blind. Also this large window was not fitted with safety glass and is was right next to the bath where it would be easy to slip and fall against it.

Although we had booked and paid for an extra bed this was not available when we arrived after 16 hours of travelling, and it took reception at least 1 hour to resolve the issue.

Although we booked and paid through Expedia for two adults and a child, the hotel sent a number of emails, prior to our arrival, trying to charge extra for the third bed and this took some time to resolve.

My advise if you are staying here is to get out as much as possible and eat in some of the excellent hotels / restaurants in Ernakulam, buy your drinks and provisions at the supermarket in the Bay Pride Mall, rent a Wi Fi dongle or get a local Sim card, and what ever you do, don't book a taxi through the hotel.

The hotel initially quoted as about Rs 1,700 to pick us up from the airport when we booked, but subsequently inflated this price to over Rs 2,000. We cancelled this and booked a A/C taxi in the arrival hall at Cochin International Airport for a third of this price.

If you walk outside the hotel Tuk Tuk's are easy available and very cheap (don't pay more than Rs30 anywhere locally, and there is a parking area opposite the hotel where taxis sometimes park. We took a Tuk Tuk all the way to Fort Cochin although you might be better using a taxi.

Room Tip: This is a business hotel so can be noisy but it is worth trying to get a room with a view of the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor, it is a pleasure to read your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all levels .We take our guest comments positively as it gives us a feedback were to improve. I once again thank you for your patronage with the Taj Hotels & Palaces.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

A very good overall experience be it room, service, food. The sea view room was not available at the time of booking but we we were surprised by the view as soon as we entered as they offered us a sea view room. The service was the best part. It was not just quick but also very personalized. My car broke down and the hotel managed to call and deal with the Hyundai service personal whereas we were free to roam around in the city. The hotel restaurant bubble cafe' was superb too. The location can't be better, right on the coast and we took a jetty right behind the hotel to go to Fort Kochi. The Travel desk person as well helped and guided us on various options for Alleppey house boats even though their own facilities were already booked.
A vacation to remember.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoop_KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us. We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them.Apart from Bubble we have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese , Japanese & Thai options.
Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
4.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#3 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Property: The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing