We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“world class comfort hospitality.Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“world class comfort hospitality.Great Location”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We and my friend's family stayed from 15th to 17th Nov'13 at this hotel. We were driving from Munnar and requested for early check in which was smilingly accepted. Evening cruise arranged by hotel was breath taking. Next day we wanted to visit alleppy for back water. Hotel suggested another option of backwater @ 35 kms away from hotel in a smaller village. It was one of the best experience of our life. Very senene ,isolated place with narrow water canals .Experienced Toddy and local snacks and tea. The guide Peter was fantastic.Do visit this place rather than going to a bigger back water places.
Evening spent is a hotel restaurant. Bets serivce you could hope for, a tradition of Taj hotels. That is the reason I always like to stay at Taj property whenever possible. What is more, late check out was also allowed without any issue.

Great value for money and you live in a different world.

My compliments to the hotel management.

Bhalchandra Ogale/Meera Ogale

Room Tip: I suppose all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Mr Ogale

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us. We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them. Apart from Bubble we have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese, Japanese & Thai options.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    474
    113
    37
    11
See reviews for
360
228
81
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very warm and hospitable, the staff are truly customer-centric. I remember on my first visit here I found that there were no health faucets and made a request. From my next visit onwards I was given rooms fixed with health faucets. It was nice to see this effort being taken to satisfy guests.

The restaurant is pleasant with a lovely skylight that lets in the daylight and has a glassed in view of the harbour and Marine Drive. The restaurant staff are also very customer friendly and go out of their way to make me the dishes I ask for. The food is very good and the service excellent. The upholstery of the restaurant is however due for a change.

The rooms are cosy and well appointed and the harbour side ones have a great view of the harbour. The guest really feels well taken care of.

By far my favorite place to stay in Cochin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujeet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Mr Oommen ,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Ernakulam!

This has reference to your feedback pertaining to your stay at the hotel .At the outset, I would like to thank you for your patronage of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful.

Me & my team would love to see you again at the Gateway Ernakulam and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We received an extremely warm and memorable welcome upon arrival at The Gateway. However, the most outstanding thing about the hotel is their hospitality.

I stayed there for two nights and had made last-minute changes to my three-day itinerary. The staff went that extra mile to accommodate these changes. One lovely lady in particular, Reema, was just superb. She really went above and beyond with our numerous requests even after we’d checked out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiraBegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Ms Begum,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us. I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful & thank you for these word of encouragement.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great hotel. Good service and very secure .Breakfast and restaurant great with live music. Great location near to public pier. Rooms clean. Only one issue swimming pool appaling. If you are staying there complain about pool and they will boat you free to their posher hotel near fort cochin. But..I think they should just sort it out

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowdenkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Mr Bowden,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel.

We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us. We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them. Apart from Bubble were you had your breakfast we also have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese, Japanese & Thai options.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel the next time you are in Kochi.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,620 reviews
296 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Let us get the basic and the important out of the way first, so that in case this is of equal importance to you, then you do not waste your time with this or any other Taj Group hotels.

The Taj Group still functions with a 20th century mentality where they consider internet access to be a luxury and something from which to make money to enrich their bottom line. Bigger, better, smaller, independent, chain, international, all types of hotels have rebooted themselves to the 21st century and offer internet access the same way they offer electricity and water, i.e. no additional charge. But not the Taj Group. And if you read the responses from management on earlier reviews below, you will notice that the General manager does not even touch this issue with a barge pole. Even he is so embarrassed of his own bosses that he has no response to offer and prefers to keep silence. Shame on you Taj Group, and so long as you keep up with this, your ratings will always be dragged down by at least 2 or 3 stars. In fact, I would suggest to other readers, please stop patronizing the Taj Hotels, until they see the reality.

If it was not for this issue, this hotel would have rated a 4 star based upon its superlative service, excellent food, and good location. However, the rooms are small, the bathroom is even smaller, but overall very well furnished and equipped. In typical Taj marketing gimmickery, they characterize their higher floor rooms as Executive rooms, but they are no different in any way from the lower floors with no additional benefits either. It is just a gimmick to suggest that you have been 'upgraded' and also a means to fleece you of a higher rate.

The travel desk rates for taxis etc are as always very steep. You can find comparable cars and taxis online at about half the price, including airport pickup and drop. However the Ayurveda spa is surprisingly reasonably priced relative to the ambience and the quality of the treatments which are excellent. However, the shower panel is broken, and unless they fix it, you may have to go back to your room for a shower after the oily treatment.

The Marine Drive promenade is dirty and stinking, and stay away from it. However, the complimentary sunset cruise is a nice touch and do avail of it. The breakfast buffet, consistent with the Taj standards, is excellent, specially with a variety of Kerala specialities that one rarely finds elsewhere. Indulge in it to your heart's contents.

Lastly, the reason I have bumped up the rating from 1 to 2 stars is because this hotel has done something revolutionary! They have actually managed to go really 'green' by eliminating the plastic water bottles, and offering the water in glass sealed bottles! Hats off to the hotel for this wonderful initiative. I wonder if the incentive to do this was more to do with saving costs or really caring about the environment. I will give them the benefit of doubt on this one.

If they can allow themselves to move to the 21st century, this hotel has the potential to be a 5 star! Until then, boycott it.

Room Tip: Book the least expensive room. They are all the same, and the views from the higher floor are not wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Mr. Darooka,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the inconvenience caused to you .

Your feedback with regard to the complimentary internet charges is being addressed and as discussed will revert to you shortly.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel, Ernakulam.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you look at the property closely, its no better then most 4star/5star properties. What's sets this one apart though, is that the staff here is very humble, hospitable and supportive to all your needs and makes your stay quite pleasurable and comfortable.

Room Tip: Certainly sea (back-water) facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirit15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor, it is a pleasure to read your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all levels .We take our guest comments positively as it gives us a feedback were to improve. I once again thank you for your patronage with the Taj Hotels & Palaces. You comment will certainly our staff.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent 2 Night 3 days at ernakulam and the room was clean and neat.Fish tawa fry was tasty.
enjoed music in the room with HIGH BOSS CD SYSTEM . Staff was very friendly and evening boating was very attractive.there was NO PUB which kept us depressed.but overall stay was excellent and great classic.food was very good and made as per our choice of aroma. good place for family to reach shoping malls and old kochi fort. room no 601 was a good choice sea view side.thanks to the receptionist.

Room Tip: if you are couples, please ask the front desk specificly ROOM NO 601
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satish325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Mr Prabhu

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Ernakulam!

This has reference to your feedback pertaining to your stay at the hotel .At the outset, I would like to thank you for your patronage of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.

Me & my Team look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,975 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
852 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
892 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Property: The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing