We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best view from the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“best view from the hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

stayed for 2 days last november(2013)---the room was upgraded to sea view overlooking the harbour -the surprise was a 1 hour complementary cruise in the evening on the arabian sea .The room was spacious ,neat and clean and environmental friendly-no plastic bottles but glass bottles.The food at Bubble Cafe was delicious and enjoyed the kerala cuisines.The staff were helpful,smooth checkin and while checking out was given a souvenir-a woodcarved houseboat so famous in the backwaters of kerala. The cruise on the Arabian Sea during evening with the setting sun was enchanting and beautiful

Room Tip: take the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sourav g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor, it is a pleasure to read your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all levels .I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful,we take our guest comments positively as it gives us a feedback were to improve. I once again thank you for your patronage with the Taj Hotels & Palaces.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    476
    116
    37
    11
See reviews for
365
232
81
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We, group of eleven family members stayed for four nights in five rooms during the last week of June 2014. Rooms were neat, clean and spacious and bed very comfortable. Bubble Café food were delicious especially the breakfasts. We relished the delicacies of Kerala there. Our special thanks to the Restaurant manager Nayak and his staff for their wonderful hospitality. Security staff ensured that our stay was safe. We also enjoyed the afternoon stroll through the Marine Drive Walkway, which is adjacent to the hotel. All the hotel employees were very courteous and we enjoyed their smile.

Room Tip: Room with Sea View and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gphilip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mr Philip,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us. We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them. Apart from Bubble we have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese, Japanese & Thai options. I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and will certainly communicate at all levels .

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is in the heart of the city. And the service is really good. The staff are helpful, room service is quick and I had no problem unwinding after a long day.
It the Taj so the rooms are spotless and everything works.
Maybe they should have included shoe polish as it was a business hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kool_anil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful . Please do come back to stay with us the next time in Kochi, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nice location. it was very pleasant stay in above hotel. the entire staff was very co-operative and helpful. the service was excellent at the restaurant. the ambiance in the hotel was also very nice. the location of hotel is just in front of back water sea which gives excellent view of sea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Dayanand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mr Garg,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us. We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them. Apart from Bubble we have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese, Japanese & Thai options.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Gateway. It is very well connected with a busy market area adjacent to it. We just were looking for a short stay to refresh and continue our journey to Munnar the following day. The hotel pleasantly surprised us by exceeding in all expectations of Service, food, very friendly caring staff. They offer an evening sunset cruise at no additional cost which was very beautiful.
Must try Thai at Sian- great food at both Sian and bubble Cafe.! Keep up the good work and thanks!

Room Tip: try water facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarvjeetk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Ms Kaur,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Ernakulam!

This has reference to your feedback pertaining to your stay at the hotel .At the outset, I would like to thank you for your patronage of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.

Me & my Team look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious with a serene view. Food at the bubble cafe is good and the view from the coffee shop is beautiful in the mornings. Their oriental restaurant Sian is a must try. Their seafood teppan grill platter is one of the best I have had in India.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harshavardhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and that you very much enjoyed your meal at the SIAN.

Please do come back to stay with us the next time in Kochi, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Really good hotel.Truly value for money.Nice location. Good rooms and bathrooms. Very good staff.Restaurant is very good with good menu.At most care is taken to keep hotel neat and clean.Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anil4169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor, it is a pleasure to read your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all levels .We take our guest comments positively as it gives us a feedback were to improve. I once again thank you for your patronage with the Taj Hotels & Palaces.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,998 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
870 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#18 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
424 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
899 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Property: The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing