We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Gateway to Heaven!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed there for a night only but it was enough to feel the wonder of this place. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable, staff is extremely helpful and courteous and guided me well for my onward trip to Kollam the next morning.

This was my first trip to Kerala though the property is quite far away from the Airport but next to the beach and offers exquisite views of the marine drive and the sea. The restaurants serves extremely well done food helped & backed by their super staff! Would surely love to stay there for a longer period in future. It is also well priced!

Very well recommended!

Room Tip: Everything about the Gateway seems wonderful! Anyway, you can ask for a room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountcleverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us.I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and that you very much enjoyed our culinary offerings. We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them. Apart from Bubble we have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese, Japanese & Thai options.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    465
    110
    36
    11
See reviews for
352
227
78
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I found the Gateway to be a very good choice. I had stayed at the other Taj previously and this was a good contrast. I stayed for six nights and rarely ate out due to the night standard of the restaurants within the Gateway. The support staff were very good they booked me a train journey to Trivandrum and helped with the flight to Sri Lanka. I will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor, it is a pleasure to read your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all levels .I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and that you very much enjoyed your meal experience.I once again thank you for your patronage with the Taj Hotels & Palaces.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhansi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Visited cochin in july . Taj has nice hospitability . They asked us the purpose in cochin . We told them we r on honeymoon trip.. now story start we went for some local shopping & found our room decorated .. 10 mins later a bell rang ....& a hostess was with wedding cake.. next morning we found surprised free buffet breakfast .. breakfast was delicious.. room service outstanding .. location on sea was magnificent. . Sea view room on higher floor was great.. we both much impressed by taj .if in cochin always in the taj

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saurabhgupta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mr Gupta,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us. We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them. Apart from Bubble we have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese, Japanese & Thai options.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and was just blown away by their hospitality.
More than the location, sea view, food, rooms etc., our stay was amazing becoz of their hospitality.
From Aswathi at reception with her warm smile to Debasish, Ashok and others in Bubble cafe. Everyone were really warm.
If not for prior plans, we would have extended our stay here.
Thank you for making Cochin trip memorable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RiniMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us.I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful . We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them. Apart from Bubble we have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "Sian" which offers a unique oriental experience of Chinese, Japanese & Thai options.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Had dinner at the bubble cafe. The service was very poor. They would not even give enough menus for the 4 of us. We were expected to share. They did not have many of the drink selections in the menu. They did not have enough staff to serve - so had to call and argue each time to get anything. Food was ok. Overall was not a good experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldtravellerKNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback for our hotel on the Trip Advisor. I request you to kindly share your contact number or email with us to able to communicate with you directly.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I am an Ex-Taj employee of Taj after a long gap I came here for dinner with my family and relatives at the Bubble Cafe

The Warm welcome and the hospitality from the GM to all my ex-colleagues were superb, splendid and I was speechless. The gesture of everyone made me so proud in front of my people.

" Made the day very special, enchanting and memorable"

Thank you for the delightful service and Yammy food. Taj is Taj the “Unbeatable”!

Warm Regards,

Nirmala

Room Tip: Lovely view of the backwaters, heart of the city centrally located
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all levels .Overall thank you for leaving such positive comments regarding the service and accommodations.

We wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were visiting family in Cochin so we chose this hotel due to its central location. Service was professional and yet personalized (we were traveling with a child). The front desk staff was always very efficient, attentive, and helpful. They were prompt to fulfill our requests. The grounds are well-maintained, clean and beautiful. The room was spacious and quiet, the bed was comfortable. Upon returning to our impeccably made room every night, we always found beautiful towel sculptures and flower arrangements. Toiletries were plenty. The Bubble Cafe staff was just as hospitable and very attentive. The food was delicious and the breakfast buffet selection was varied and pleasing. The also hotel offers complimentary boat trips in the afternoon and we enjoyed taking walks in the adjacent marina. We look forward to our next visit, since the hotel proved to be fit for family stays. No complimentary internet, though.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway e, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful . Please do come back to stay with us the next time in Kochi, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards

Suju Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
4.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
833 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,948 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#3 of 29 in Ernakulam
882 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Property: The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing