We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cochin
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
England, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A hotel with style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel is a fantastic place to stay in Ernakulam. It is not too far away from the airport, and you can walk into the city centre. The whole hotel has been around a while but it has been well looked after. The room appeared to have been recently refurbished with modern switches, but the designers have made sure to keep its retro charm with classy art deco furniture.

The staff are courteous, and the room was always kept clean. The main drawback was the breakfast buffet, which was surprisngly average considering the dinner menu is sublime. If we ever go back to Kochi we would definitely stop off here again. It may not have as many facilities as a luxury hotel, but it has far more character.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLuckyDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    176
    73
    8
    11
See reviews for
114
75
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I can recommend this place just for the food alone. The fish curry and beef fry we had couldn't have been cooked better at our home .The restaurant is highly crowded and room service is highly advisable. Me and my wife stayed for I night at an executive room which is very spacious. The wooden flooring gives the room a touch of elegance and antiquity. However the antiquity also extends to an old CRD television, a creaking bed and a broken wall mounted soap holder in the bathroom. Toilet accessories like toothpaste, comb, hair conditioner which are usually taken for granted in a hotel of this class were conspicuous by their absence. As the stay was only for a night, there was too little time to assess the quality of service. Overall, a good hotel in a very good location with an excellent restaurant( Kerala food) with some need for renovation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirangnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodaikanal, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is really a restaurant with rooms. Folks come here for the amazing Kerala Cuisine the restaurant offers to its guests. While the location is central and much retail therapy is possible close to the hotel, the best thing about this stay is the restaurant and its high quality of food.
The service is efficient and the staff are generally genial. The room was clean and the bathroom, though done up in black granite and fluorescent lighting ( imagine that?) was more than adequate for our stay.

Room Tip: Since it is located on the main drag, do not expect to find any beautiful scenery from out your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingsnwheels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was a decent place to be in. Located right in the center of the city, this place is at approachable distances to all the major tourist attractions. The rooms and toilets are well maintained though not very spacious. I would not say value for money. The best part of this place is the food. We really enjoyed the traditional Kerala food. Since our stay at Kochi was a short one, I would definitely recommend this place to those who go for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirudha2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The first time i visited GH was in the early 2000's & i was happy with the overall ambience, food & setting. This time when i went on vacation again to kochi i decided to stay at the hotel as we all assumably "know" the hotel well.

We paid & entered but were realy disappointed, i must say, by the condition of the rooms. The bathroom had an odd stench & the rooms had a damp moist odour as well. The TV wasnt set already so we had to call in the boy to set the tv stations right.

We stayed over for 4 days before we proceeded to delhi & I must agree with what a fellow traveller has blogged about the food experience.... The same pathetic breakfast everyday - appam , stew, eggcurry & some veggies... really bored of seeing the same like back in college hostel days !

We chose not to eat bfast from there as the kids didnt enjoy the food & there were cheaper, better food available at places nearby.

Don't opt for GH if you wish to stay over for 3-4 days . Better options would be travancore court, bth sarovaram or wyte fort to stay . However the food at GH (bearing the bfast) is really good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancerian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I like this place for the value for money you get here. Every time I took the room with balcony which are extraordinary spacious.

Again, this is not a luxury hotel. The nice beds, central location and the definately -must see- fine bar are pros.

Use their travel agent only when he is physically in the hotel; the reception staff can book stuff for you but will almost certainly mess up. Order an Innova with AC and you will get an Indica without...

Take a tour to the old part of Cochin; visit the Dutch residence/museum and the various spice markets. Don't forget to take time and negotiate...

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huuronzecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

A group of 21 of us stayed in the Grand Cochin sometime in February. We chose this hotel based on the reviews in trip advisor. The hotel is located strategically and the ala carte menu is awesome. However, they could improve further on their breakfast spread. We stayed for 3 days and we practically ate the same food for breakfast!!! The reception staff could be more friendlier - my personal opinion!!!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay in Cochin and more in The Grand Cochin.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.3 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travancore Court Hotel
Travancore Court Hotel
#7 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cochin

Property: Grand Hotel Cochin
Address: M.G. Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Cochin 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing