We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grand experience !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cochin
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A grand experience !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I hav been thre many times. Especially the restaurant is very nice and the service too.On the parking side , enough space is thre .Service rendered was nice and pleasant .
Cuisines variety is also thre and altogether ambiance is remarkable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandurx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    176
    73
    8
    11
See reviews for
115
75
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The best class services, people, atmosphere, ambience, smell, hygiene all put together makes a good hotel. And if I have to rate which factor plays the most important role in making and breaking a hotel, I would say it is the people and the services rendered by them. The hotel is in a business of hospitality, which means being the best with the guest, who are the ones who patronage your Hotel. I have visited and stayed in Grand and have been recommending this hotel to all my business partners. Whenever my business travel demanded Cochin trip, I would make my stay arrangement in Grand, but this recent visit have forced me to change my opinion.
I am extremely surprise to see that a great hotel like Grand, who have been in existence since 1963, half century old can appoint Managers at the Front Office, who doesn’t have the basic of hospitality….

This trip to Hotel Grand has been one of the most insulting & humiliating one… I have never been treated with this disrespectful behaviour by any person in hospitality service industry ever. Would not shy away to name Mr. Jeevaraj P.K., who is the worst manager a hotel can employ. I would recommend to please disclose his name, because this view is not in regards to the Hotel, but the behaviour of the manager who is employed in this hotel… To brief you in short his body language was atrociously rude and so were his choice of words. A confirm booking was thrown out and was told to vacate the room all that I requested is to change the room. Worst is I was shown on my face, holding the placard of "Right To Admission Reserved" (Sic) it is indirectly abusing a customer, by not actually using the abusive words. On asking to speak to the higher authority he arrogantly said "I am the highest authority and you will have to deal with me" (Sic). I DONT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL ANYMORE AS IT IS AGEING BADLY.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShabbirKapasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelCochin, Manager at Grand Hotel Cochin, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Above Guest, checked in room number 109 with the Registration card 84559 on 24/09/2013 according to the reservation made by mail. later we observed that he insulted other travel partners of the hotel to spoil the reputation and violated the hotel policies continuously, which made Front Office Manager to cancel his room and cheked out to avoid more serious consequences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you have to stay in Ernakulam, this is a clean, comfortable, quiet oasis on bustling MG Road. Room was large and well appointed. I was surprised it was not more expensive. MG Road is a good location to shop for saris or gold jewelry.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our first hotel in India (we were touring Kerala). Its old fashioned atmosphere and furniture were wonderful. Its restaurant attracted lunch-time crowds and it was easy to see why: the food was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuddersfieldNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottesmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

A hotel I have been to 4 times over the years and it still keeps it high standard and very reasonable prices.
It is always full of people, many Indians but also many from different countries. I loved the atmosphere and watching the world go by.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsw0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Grand grows on u.the place the people the food the ambience is a good mix of making ones stay comfortable.no doubt it has had a make over of the interiors but overall its been untouched.huge rooms,spacious toilets,clean linen,old world furniture mixed with the average new and a noisy ac makes one feel at home away from home.the restaurant is always packed as it dishes out good food and the seafood is by far the best there.expensive but can't be helped tho.a decent bar with a well stocked bar,noisy and rumbuctious.definitely not to be missed as its a good place in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Whenever I go to Kochi, though I search for various news options available to stay, finally I invariably end up at Grand Hotel, mainly because of the location advantage being at center of MG Road and city. In addition all the staff there are welcoming who have been there for so many years.
But the most important reason I stay at Grand is for the food. Their restaurant has some of most amazing sea food available at Kochi at a decent price. They authentic Kerala food cooked in the traditional way and is mouth watering. All in all it was pleasant and comfortable stay.
However, I have few suggestions for the hotel, like they should provide in room coffee/tea maker and also provide bathing cubicle in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Though road facing room gives a good view, the room on the back side is very silent and give comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maheshshivam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.3 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Avenue Regent
The Avenue Regent
#6 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cochin

Property: Grand Hotel Cochin
Address: M.G. Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Cochin 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing