We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience in a hotel of a 4 * rating.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Cochin
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
kajang.malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad experience in a hotel of a 4 * rating.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The room does not have a simple coffee/tea +hot water boiling jug . No free wifi service in the lobby . The bathroom looks so empty. No shampoo and insufficient soap. The towels looks okay. The breakfast menu was the same for my 3 nights stay there. The lunch was
good and had lots of variety of dishes.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vejayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    176
    73
    8
    11
See reviews for
114
75
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Grand hotel has always been my favourite in Cochin, be it for the stay or the food they serve in their restaurant. The hotel is located on the MG road, a very convenient location. Rooms are of good quality and good value for money.

Must try their restaurant and have some authentic Kerala cuisine. Couchyn, their lounge bar is a great place to chill.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathewsVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have been a regular visitor to Cochin for my short business trips for the past 2yrs,
I almost stay at that place every time reason,
1) the place is quiet well placed with proximity to ernakulam south Stn, Market, tourist spots like Fort Cochin, Marine drive.
2) The rooms are quiet spacious with Woden finish which gives a traditional look, the rooms are well maintained with good bedding & linen.
3) the staff is quiet courteous & always there for help with a smile.
4) the food at the restuarent is quiet good, I Normally have breakfast there.
5) it's a true value for money with corporate discount.

Room Tip: Ask for executive deluxe room I normally stay at Room no 101, which is quiet big & we'll mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sameeuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is a renovated hotel and it's very good(it's all white n big windows and traditional furniture). The staff team is very helpful.
It's value for money.

The restaurant grand pavilion is very popular at lunch hours it's packed with guests. Their local meals is good.

The location is good shops near by and u believe it's the center of the city kochin.

The travel around kochin by cab is expensive. So, planning is very important. It's like 150rs per hour. During or waiting.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshanthaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a very good hotel located right in the heart of the city (Ernakulam), within short distance of tourist spots like Fort Cochin, Marine Drive, etc. and commercial spots like markets, malls, etc.

The rooms are very spacious and clean though the building itself seems to have seen quite a bit of wear and tear! All modern amenities expected of such a class of hotel are available. The staff are friendly and helpful (though the service is not very quick!). However, the major USP of this hotel is its restaurant - the food (especially sea food) is just awesome. The restaurant can get quite crowded but the wait is well worth it - Don't miss it!!

Room Tip: The executive rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indianand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for six nights in late December 2013. I really enjoyed my stay and I am glad that I decided to stay in Ernakulam rather than Fort Cochi.

The hotel has a retro 1960s feel, but has all modern amenities. My room was large, had twin beds and a sofa. The bathroom was all marble and modern with reliable hot water.

The staff was nice but not intrusive. The travel desk was helpful in pointing out some things that I could do within walking distance of the hotel and helped arrange a good driver to take me to some sites outside of town.

I found the room service to be excellent and a very good reason to stay at this hotel. The restaurant is very popular and there is usually a wait for a table - but room service allows you to by-pass the wait for a table and eat in your room.

The only negatives would be:
1. The person who takes the room service orders by phone does not speak English very well, so it can be a challenge to place an order - but I generally managed to get what I wanted.
2. The staff at breakfast seem very distracted and not helpful - I think there are too many staff and they end up talking to each other and forget about the guests.
These negatives again were minor issues and I would be happy to stay here again.

This was my first trip to this area of India and I really was not sure if I should stay in Ernakulam or Forth Cochi - I think Ernakulam was the best choice for me. From this hotel you can walk to the ferry that takes you to Fort Cochin. I found Fort Cochin a little too touristy and it is hard to find a place not crawling with European tourists, however, when I would take the ferry back to Ernakulam I found the area much less touristy with no touts. So, Ernakulam allows you easy access to Fort Cochi so you can enjoy the place, but escape at the end of the day.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor. One night there was a wedding on the roof and it was hard to get to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The PROS:
I have been to the Grand hotel cohin twice and i must say i love the food there .. Among all the restaurants in Kochi - i found the food served here the yummiest .. Makes you definitely come back for more .all the dishes taste the same everytime - amazingly consistent .must try the prawns( naadan style) ,fish fry and fish curry all taste yum everytime you go there:-)


The CONS:
The service is absolutely miserable...PATHETIC is an understatement! The waiters at Grand hotel just dont care about the cusomer as they know the restaurant already has a name here - so customers will keep flowing no matter wat.be ready to keep waiting and signalling for attention until these agorrant waiters take their own sweet time to serve you . infact the last time i even remember waiting 15 minute for our bill!
Send these waiters to the GULF & they ll be working their butts out for some freaky Arabs:P

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rishma1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.3 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travancore Court Hotel
Travancore Court Hotel
#8 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cochin

Property: Grand Hotel Cochin
Address: M.G. Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Cochin 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing