We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand !!”
Review of Grand Hotel Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cochin
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Amazing food menu and pretty decent rooms. Worth every rupee. The restaurant and bar has a wonderful ambience with excellent service. Try diff fish dishes as they are authentic Kerala style. Biryani is also superb. Recommend for family and solo travellers. Very close to the railway station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacobeasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

If you want to taste good kerala food then Grand hotel is the best place to eat
It's neat clean and has very good service
At grand you should try out the fish and prawns for the non veg
For veg there is the regular kerala thali which has all varieties
For clean neat and good service you should visit grand next time u are in cochin

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank anilk1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Been to cochin on 2nd week of April 2014. A foodie friend of mine recomended Grand Hotel. We were the first to arrive at the restaurant at 12. Wanted to taste the biryani, Meen pollichathu and prawns curry. The restaurant was full within 30 min. The biryani was not yet ready so we had to wait. The biryani made of small rice, and lots of masala like the one in Thalassery. The masala was different but, tasty. The meen pollichathu was 'PATHETIC'. The whole portion was cut into two piece but made to look like one, well packed in banana leaf. One piece was good and the other one was atleast an year old. When taled to a manager he abrupted us saying " we serve only fresh fish". I called up and elderly looking waiter and explained him the situation. He took the fish to the chef, and apologized for what happened (excluded from bill amount). The prawns naadan curry was one of the best i ever had in a hotel. The flavour of kodampuli ( Malabar Tamarind, Fish Tamarind) ruled the dish. except for the cheap DRAMA on meen pollichathu i would recommend this hotel for Kerala food. These guys really know how to cook well, but they also know business a bit better.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank VishnuBoseSreekovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel restaurant serves good food but the service is very very slow. The service in the bar is even worse - 45 minute wait to get a cocktail! The hotel location is ok but not great for visiting Fort Cochin as it takes 40 minutes to get there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Though I have reviewed Grand Hotel a few years back and had stayed there for more than half a dozen times, I am writing a review on the hotel again as I feel this hotel which was one best when there were no 5 star hotels in Kochi because of its location, ambience and great food needs some improvement to keep with the changing times. Overall even now I will give it very good for the warm and friendly staff but I regret to say the food quality has come down and something needs to be done urgently to bring the same to old world glory. The food, especially sea food was only reason I used to stay in Grand. But last March I had stayed for 3 days and I feel the food is nothing to talk about and its quiet the same you get anywhere in Kochi. The buffet breakfast has become just a ritual and is provided as all other hotels do the same. Hope the management take note of the fall quality and arrest the same so that a good old hotel can rise to its glorious past.

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside are peaceful and away from the noise of main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maheshshivam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Old hotel....heritage feeling once u step in.renovared interiors.food....i will never forget...tasted sea foods,best gents beauty salon in the hotel.very friendly staff,ample car parking area.right in heart of the city.near railway station.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Ambience - 8/10
Location - 8/10
Complimentary breakfast -5/10
Food - Very expensive

Not suited for mid-range travellers. Other than being centrally located, nothing is grand. Breakfast at 9 was cold, puris were like papads.

Try other hotels in same category.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mob29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.3 mi away
The Avenue Regent
The Avenue Regent
#6 of 30 in Ernakulam
345 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 30 in Ernakulam
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cochin

Address: M.G. Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range: £41 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Cochin 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing