We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Presidency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Presidency
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Presidency a few months ago and was bitterly disappointed with my experience. For starters, none of the photos of the bedroom in their website is similar to the real deal. The hotel rates itself 4 stars but from personal experience, it barely looks even 3 stars. I stayed in 2 different rooms with my family. The first room did not have proper air conditioning hence the room was constantly warm. Air conditioner was also leaking into the wardrobe. The room was filled with mosquitoes. The next morning, breakfast was cold. We then got our room changed to a 'better' one. This time we faced the problem of no hot water services (we brought this up with the manager and was told this was due to the high occupancy rate of the hotel and nothing could be done about it!), the electrical plug points in the bathroom was not working and again breakfast the next day was cold and food was not sufficient to accommodate all hotel guests. The hotel rooms look nothing like the website photos- the photos portray new rooms, however on arrival- the rooms had a musky odor, furnitures were really old and their linen smelled. Never again will I set foot in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
general manager... h, General Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear sir

we thank you for choosing Hotel Presidency for your stay. we have gone through the suggestions and comments you have made. we will try to meet the referred points very soon. At the same time we would like to bring few points to your notice that our hotel is 26 year old, our regular guest choose this property just because of our continued commitment in the hospitality for the last 26 years. it was our dedication and commitment that make us still exist our hotel even after 26 years. in between we have renovated the hotel many times and this is a four star classified hotel. we have got re-classification from 3rd December 2012, after the a very strong inspection from the ministry of tourism and concerned authorities.

we will definitely look into the matter which you pointed out about the cold breakfast, buffet and lack of cold water during a peak season some time we may not have met these things , but as soon as it is been noticed we have taken the corrective steps .

my sincere request is not generalize these mistakes and please do not make a such wrong impression about the property, as we are there in the industry meeting all the guest needs for such a long years.

we are always committed to offer our customers the maximum guest satisfation

regards

T J SINSON
GM-OPERATIONS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    82
    53
    17
    20
See reviews for
81
36
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this Hotel in Dec 2012 in a Deluxe room at Rs.3000 per night. Everything looks very old and dull in the room and for that price the room is small. The AC is centralized.
The facilities in-room are also not much to speak about - they provide an old fashioned small TV while most hotels provide a Flat Panel TV at this price. Even the towels provided seemed to be worn out from long use. The breakfast was included but the options offered was average. The location of the hotel is convenient and it is quite close to Marine Drive. I would not recommend this hotel at all at the price they are quoting - the overall experience was more in line with something that is 1/3rd the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikram404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
general manager... h, General Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
dear sir,

we thank you for choosing hotel presidency cochin for your stay. we have gone through all the comments you have made. we value your suggestions, at the same time I would like bring few of the points to your kind attention. In all your comments in a many areas I saw you mentioning about the price. bu we request you also to consider the huge tax amount which is included in the amount you paid, also please kindly consider the cost of raw materials and and electricity which is increasing into 200% . sir you also have to consider we had suite and superior rooms available at the hotel. if you are ready spend more money we can offer you more better rooms. we value your money and we always try to offer you the best service for what we charge you. in all the areas. as a customer you always have the power to ask more discount but we git certain limitations to offer you more discounts .

any way we look forward to see you again

with regards

T J SINSON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ernakulam hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed for a night, Room was really big, bathroom was decent and was with bath tub and nice amenities. Early morning they had a fault in hotel and there was no power while we were trying to get ready. The Breakfast place was very busy and less staff to manage the rush. All tables were dirty and food was very cold. Variety of the food was fine but service was very very slow. Reception mentioned that the room service is 24 hours, but when we tried to order food at 2330hrs they said that only a sandwich can be served and that too was with stale bread (very bad quality of club sandwich and very small portion for the price in the menu. Resident Manager Mr. Prince was good to talk with and he apologized for all the inconveniences.

Room Tip: Call manager straight away, if you face any problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinhotel, General Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Sir
we thank for being with us as our valued guest, we really apologise for the inconvenience caused , Actually that one of the main fuse in the main panel board got burned and we were not in a position to provide either the electricity or the generator supply to the rooms for two hours, the problem was rectified and corrected only after the fuse was replaced, same like it was very busy in the restaurant , what actually happened was that all the guest came to the restaurant at a time for the breakfast due to the power problem by 9 AM ( some of them was little late due to there was no power) which make the things went out of our planning. We really apologise for all the troubles, but we would like to bring your notice that we are committed to offer you the best service in the industry and we had already taken the necessary steps to improve our service .
More than anything we value your opinions; we are working hard to offer you the best services in the next visit

With regards
T J SINSON
GM-OPERATIONS
gm@presidencyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I went with family on a vacation and we stayed 1 day in this hotel in November 2012.

The hotel entrance was grand, Hotel staff were well mannered, hotel rooms and environment was hygiene, but the hotel rooms are very small and congested. They don't have the AC controls installed in rooms so you are left with only one choice switch between On/Off to control the room temperature, this was horrible. Hotel services like Restaurant, Laundry were very expensive. I don't suggest this hotel to anyone. You will get better services and rooms at the rates Presidency charges.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SangamRavindhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinhotel, General Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from hotel presidency Cochin...!!!

we thank you very much for being our valued guest, we have read and understood your suggestions, we will be doing all the necessary steps to offer you the best services in your next visit.
We will be at your service for your next visit with a different face to offer you one of the best services which hotel industry can offer

With regards

T J SINSON
GM-OPERATIONS
gm@presidencyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

very old property but clean rooms. double bed is very small and two people cant sleep on this bed. centralised AC which cannot be controlled from your room. You can either switch on or off the AC. Bathrrom is very small and furniture is very old. I booked this room for overnight stay at Rs 2800...later i realised you can get much better rooms at this price. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone even at rs 1000.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeep m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

We thank you for writing the review about your recent stay with us. We understand that we did not meet your expectation and fell below par. I assure you that the lapses you felt are noted & are being actioned.

Once again thank you for the feedback. I certainly hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were total 10 in the group and booked 4 rooms on 9-Nov-12. Good rooms and overall nice hotel. Hotel staff was very co-operative and service oriented. Food quality was not excellent but reasonable. I suggest this hotel for staying in Kochi.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niravbhavsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

Thank you for the valuable review. I have shared your feedback to our Executive Chef & F&B Manager about the quality of food you experienced. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests.

Once again thank you for the feedback. I certainly hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Overall a slightly older property, but very well kept rooms and well groomed staff.
- Very clean and big size rooms
- Good views from higher floors
- Bathtub in room
- Pool is clean as well
- Excellent dining options, the bar overlooks the city skyline towards to coast - good place to unwind after a long day
- Good pit stop before moving onwards to back waters
- Walking distance from railway station

Even better if:
- Should have a better non-veg spread in breakfast buffet

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iVizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

Thank you very much for such a kind and detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence. We assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality, which we Presidency is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the feedback. We look forward to serving you again.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
2.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travancore Court Hotel
Travancore Court Hotel
#8 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.4 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
3.1 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidency

Property: Hotel Presidency
Address: Paramara Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Presidency 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidency Hotel, Cochin is the closest Business class hotel to Ernakulam Railway station and International Airport with 114 Luxuriously appointed guest rooms and 9 conference halls The shopping Mecca of Ernakulam "M G Road" is within walking distance along with an array of dining options and boutique shops. Historic Fort Cochin, Jew Town, the picturesque canals of Alleppey, Kerala Spice Plantations, Munnar Tea Estates, Cherai and Marari Beaches and Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary are all within a short drive. Presidency Hotel 's flawless design is inherent in its 108 deluxe rooms, 5 tower suites and 1 presidential suite. Apart from 114 Rooms, all of the 9 meeting rooms are built to provide ultimate comfort . Superior technical infrastructure and sizes between 300 sq ft and 4000 sq ft, make our meeting rooms suitable for your business meetings, training seminars and conferences. 6 of our meeting rooms are designed to receive sunlight in order to ensure a relaxing work environment. Presidency Hotel 's restaurant Tokyo Bay is the first Japanese restaurant in Kerala by Japanese celebrity chef Nishioka San, Our city view lounge bar with American pool table is open for lunch and dinner and is surrounded by the unique view of the cochin harbour and cityscape.Our Lotus and Fish Market restaurants serve unique delicacies for all our guests. And with our Fitness Center, SPA and an outdoor swimming pool, you can relieve yourself from daily stresses. Presidency Hotel Ernakulam- Cochin's new face. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Presidency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing