We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, warm and quiet retreat.”
Review of Sunrise Cottages

Sunrise Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooksville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunrise Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Brooksville B&B and Inns
Durham, NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful, warm and quiet retreat.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed three nights and had a wonderful time. Fred and Shirley are indeed great hosts...but not in your way at all. The breakfast is a perfect start for the day. It is a bit away from everything, which for us was a delight. We would spend out days exploring, eating (lobster) etc. And then have a nice stash of food and wine from the Blue Hill Co-op for an easy and light evening meal. Make sure to check out Nervous Nellies in Deer Isle while there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleybull, Owner at Sunrise Cottages, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for the great review. We too enjoyed having you stay with us and learn about places you have visited and where you live. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

In mid-June we spent four nights and five days in a classy summer cottage set in a meadow surrounded by tall conifers. Accommodations were excellent and breakfasts of tasty omelets and French toast were first rate -- a great start to a summer's day.

Hosts Shirley and Fred went a delight and made completely sure that our stay was as comfortable as could be.

A 25 minute drive to beautiful seaside Stonington, Sunrise Cottages are also a short drive from excellent restaurants in Blue Hills and Brooksville.

Another plus: Only seven scenic miles from Eliot Coleman's Four Season Farm -- a must see for aspiring gardeners and experienced growers as well.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleybull, Owner at Sunrise Cottages, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for the great review and for staying with us. We enjoyed the gardening discussions. And, even more, the beets were delicious and the giant tomato great. Have a great summer and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our stay at Sunrise Cottages was wonderful. Very nice owners, very clean and private place, so clean and excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed for three nights to comfortable beds,great location,beautiful setting,simply simple. Breakfast cookEd to order included. Could use curtains over the Window blinds. Pretty!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosier49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at Sunrise Cottages for a week in mid-July. Our cottage was quite roomy and offered everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The location is perfect if you enjoy a quiet peaceful environment. Our hosts provided great service, outstanding breakfasts, information about local places of interest and pleasant company.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadlesstraveledVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury CT USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The cottages were a perfect size for two - it's rare to find this and often we've had to rent bigger places than we've wanted or needed in the past. They're neat and immaculately clean and organized and set up as a B&B model so include spectacular full breakfasts each morning, made to order up in the cozy breakfast shed. No cooking is allowed (which was fine with us!) still each cottage has a small refrigerator for snacks and drinks and is equipped with many things that we packed but never needed such as a corkscrew, 2 wineglasses and even a hairdryer.
Our 'hosts with the most', Shirley and Fred, always had wonderful suggestions as to where to go and what to do and we truly enjoyed their company as well as the peaceful, private setting of their Sunrise cottages.
We can't think of anything that we didn't like, except maybe having to leave.
Linda & Jonathan of Southbury, CT

Room Tip: Two cottages - both alike in size, set up etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stayed here while attending Outstanding in the Field dinner at nearby Four Seasons Farm. Loved our super-friendly and helpful hosts, Shirley and Fred, and the cozy (very clean) cottage. Beautiful quiet setting. The highlight was enjoying Fred's creative breafasts while relaxing and chatting with the locals. A true Maine experience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooksville
12.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
13.7 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
404 reviews
20.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
16.1 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
309 reviews
13.4 mi away
Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Cottages

Property: Sunrise Cottages
Address: 186 Varnumville Rd, Brooksville, ME 04617-3533
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Brooksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brooksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliness of a B&B with the privacy of your own cottage. Cottages accommodate 2 adults in either 2 twin beds or 1 king. A full breakfast is provided in our Breakfast Shed restaurant. We are located on the Blue Hill Peninsula, about 15 minutes to Blue Hill and 50 minutes to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunrise Cottages Maine/Brooksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing