We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only gets Better!”
Review of Jbay Zebra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jbay Zebra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Only gets Better!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit with didier and Florbela at jbay Zebra Lodge. Once again, we arrive stressed and in need of a time out and leave completely relaxed. The Hospitality and food seems to improve everytime! We cant wait for our next visit. Thank you so much.....

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear customers,
it was really a pleasure to have you for the 3rd time and always apreciating your stay with us.

We always try to provide to our customers with exceptional service, it is part of our culture.

More our customers are satisfied more we want to give them.
Thank you very much our your loyalty. Hope to see you again
With my kind regards
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
101
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a fabulous place to stay, made extra special by the 2 wonderful people Didier and Florbella who own and run it with a passion. Peace and tranquility at it's best. Thank you for a perfect stay and hope to return one day.
Amanda and Andy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORBELA D, Propriétaire at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guests,
We really appreciate to meet you at our place and spend a nice evening together.
Hope you had a good trip back, enjoy your Easter season and Europe Summer is coming soon. Hope to see you again. Thanks a lot Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was not expecting THIS.....
If ever there was a 'find' then this has to be it.
First and foremost, location, location, location.... panoramic view over the sea - the sunsets are spectacular from this high point - the sun setting into the ocean.
Secondly, easy to get to, close to home....perfect for us locals to enjoy a quick getaway.
And the most impressive is the 5+ Star luxury at prices that will have you Happy dancing' on the spot !
I kid you not.... the amazing decor details, special touches, genuine 'Out Of Africa' feel, everywhere you look - a feast for the eyes...
Lastly, it is perfectly situated to explore Jeffreys Bay, Port Elizabeth and the Gamtoos Valley & surrounds - although I'm not sure how one would tear oneself away from this property ! :)
My husband really enjoyed the well layed out mountain bike trails on the property.

Room Tip: Loved the safari tents which overlook a vast. expanse of natural bush, giraffe in the distance and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeshaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you very much for the your beautiful review,
We are very proud that our guests are enjoying our place.
Our main goal is giving the best service to our clients by offering them the most memorable stay they ever had.

Thank you so much for the nice words.
Hope to see you again,
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenswaard
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Didier and Florbela will make your stay an unforgettable one!!
This lovely couple will also provide you with excellent meals. View from any room is fantastic ,looking over mountains and you can see the sea in the far distance.
You will most certainly meet the zebras ; probably on your front lawn !!
If you are in to mountainbiking Didier is the guy to talk to ; this place has excellent terrain for this wonderful sport.
Almost forgot the jacuzzi.....they have a professional jacuzzi in their garden that you just have to try !!

So it;s luxury luxury luxury.....the Swiss way....the perfect way........

Merci Didier et Florbellea ;cétait vraiment formidable chez vous !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest, we would like to thank you very much for you nice comments.
We were very pleased having you at our place during your South African holidays.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our Jbay Zebra Lodge, and hope to see you again on your next visit. Enjoy the rest of your holidays, take care.
With my kind regards
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corfu
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife chose this place for the zebras, but more importantly the lodges are extremely comfortable, the owners Didier and Florbella (Swiss and Portugeuse) were exceptionally friendly, the food was superb and the situation magnificent (on top of a hill looking 4km out to sea). The whole place is purpose built and stylish and the zebras did join us for breakfast, big pluses all round, a brilliant place.

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have canvas walls, check the weather before booking those
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you very much for having stayed with us and by postingthis nice review. We are always very happy to receive guests advises that can help other potential clients.

Our Luxury Safari tents (2) are built with a hard canvas fabric specially done for this kind of exclusive accommodation. This kind of Unit are very much appreciated by our foreigner guests, as the subtle African touch and the outside thatched shower overlooking the Indian Ocean, gives them a really African feeling.
Hope to see you again, with my kind regards
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We got to spend 3 days over Christmas at the JBay Zebra Lodge and I must say we definitely weren't disappointed. It is the perfect place if you're looking for a laid-back, relaxed holiday on your Garden Route trip.

We stayed in the colonial tent and as Europeans, we particularly enjoyed the African touch to this charming & romantic room (outside shower, loved it!!).
And how special sighting a giraffe from our bed in the far background !!

Florbela & Didier made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and paid attention to every detail. Food was excellent, champagne in the Jacuzzi a nice treat as well, what else...?
Cherry on the cake, we even got to see the zebras and our last day!

All in all, we can only recommend this swiss-standard quality Lodge !

Room Tip: for Europeans, definitely go for the Colonial Tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear guests,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Do hope, we will be able to welcome you next time you will visit South Africa.
Merci de votre visite
Au plaisir de vous revoir
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had just one night at J Bay Zebra Lodge and wished we had booked more. The whole experience was perfect - accommodation, food, hospitality, pool and hot tub, setting and of course, the zebras. Florbela and Didier have made this a very special place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier D, Manager at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your brillant review.

Even if you just stay for 1 night, we wanted to make it as a memorable stay.
It is always our main objectif to have our guests happy and enjoying our place.
.
Thank you so much, and thank you for the zebras photos.
Hope to see you again
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
2.0 mi away
Intle Game Lodge
Intle Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Loerie
21 reviews
13.3 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
23.6 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Sea Otters Lodge
Sea Otters Lodge
#18 of 74 in Port Elizabeth
35 reviews
21.2 mi away
Kragga Kamma Game Park
Kragga Kamma Game Park
#8 of 74 in Port Elizabeth
58 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pabala Game Farm
Pabala Game Farm
#3 of 3 in Loerie
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jbay Zebra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jbay Zebra Lodge

Property: Jbay Zebra Lodge
Address: Strandfontein 442 | PO Box 156, Near Jeffreys Bay, Thornhill 6375, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Thornhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jbay Zebra Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is perfectly positioned on the top of a hill, with 360° views overlooking the Indian Ocean, the indigenous bush and the mountains. We invite you to stay in one of our outstanding Theme rooms, discretely positioned to ensure privacy and tranquility. Alternatively you can relax in the utmost of comfort in our luxury suite accommodation. Take the opportunity to swim or relax at the Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jbay Zebra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing