We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't ask for a more beautiful place to stay...”
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Approaching the Nests from a small boat. The Nests through sun and fog!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Approaching the Nests from a small boat.
The Nests through sun and fog!
ShoreLak by the Sea Nests
There's the Nests, right next to the fishing boats!
Whales frequently swim just outside the harbour mouth.
Hello! And welcome!
Looking out the harbour from the Upper Nest.
One of the views from your Nest kitchen, looking up the harbour.
Looking out the harbour from the Upper Nest deck.
You can buy them on the wharf...15 minutes from ocean to table!
Your key to a relaxing holiday!
Upper Nest, open concept living room and kitchen.
The harbour is at your door…
Bright and spacious. (Upper Nest)
A fully equipped 'Martha Stewart' kitchen. (Upper Nest)
Everything you need. (Upper Nest)
Tea, coffee, spices, all the basics will be there for you.
A comfy chaise longue to stretch out on.  (Upper Nest)
Guides, maps, whats on where and how to get there!
A warm throw for a cool evening. (Upper Nest)
A comfy queen size bed and memory foam mattress.  (Upper Nest)
Fall asleep to the sound of the waves… (Upper Nest)
And wake up to them too! (Upper Nest)
Fresh sea air all around you… (Upper Nest)
One of the views from the Nest bedrooms.
You can pick blueberries just outside your bedroom!
It's there for when you need it!
A full-size washer and dryer are are there for you too! (Upper Nest)
Luxurious towels, soaps, and even bath salts! (Upper Nest)
You can see whales all the time!
Kitchen and living room. (Lower Nest)
Location is everything! (Upper Nest)
Spacious and bright. (Lower Nest)
The harbour is just outside the door… (Lower Nest)
Perfect after a long hike: a queen sized, memory foam mattress!  (Lower Nest)
People always ask us 'Where did you get that light?! (Lower Nest)
Wardrobe, mirror, towels and soaps, it's all there. (Lower Nest)
Full size washer and dryer! Perfect!  (Lower Nest)
(Lower Nest)
Location is everything! (Lower Nest)
ShoreLark Guest House is located just a couple of minutes walk from the harbour.
You can keep an eye on what's happening down in the harbour… (Guest House)
The Guest House has a commanding view of the harbour.
Sit back and relax…after your hike! (Guest House)
Sit back and relax…after your hike, and watch the activities down in the harbour. (Guest House)
Guest House: Step into your home away from home!
Guest House: Welcome!
Your keys to a relaxing holiday!
Guest House: There's 1400 sq. ft. for you to relax in!
Guest House: Fully equipped kitchen with all the pots & pans, dinnerware, etc. you need. Spices too!
Guest House: Detail is everything!!
Guest House: To help you get going in the morning...
Guest House: Some of the sites you can see on your trip.
Stroll down to the harbour and buy a few fresh-caught lobsters on the wharf…
Guest House: Both kitchen & living room are open. Lots of room and no tripping over each other!
Guest House: Open concept kitchen & living room–perfect for two couples to relax in.
Guest House: spacious open concept to relax in after a busy day.
Guest House: Welcome aboard!!
Guest House: some eclectic reading as well as warm blankets for sitting outside on a cooler evening.
Guest House: Sit and watch some TV with a nice 'fire' going.
Guest House: A fireplace for romance in the Harbour Room!
Guest House: The Harbour Room–you can see the harbour from your window.
Guest House: The Harbour Room.
Guest House: The Harbour Room...small details add to your comfort.
Guest House: The Harbour Room is bright and spacious.
Guest House: The Harbour Room has a memory foam queen size mattress, soft linens, and full wardrobe.
Guest House: a large bathroom with soaker tub, and fluffy towels for four!
Guest House: Lots of space for your stuff!
Guest House: There's even Epsom salts for the bath!
Guest House
Guest House
Yes, why not a chandelier in the bathroom?!
Guest House: down the hall are the laundry room, bathroom and the Sandy Hill Room. Lots of privacy!
Our 2 bedroom Guest House : Sandy Hill room! Soothing sleeps!
Sandy Hill room.
Sandy Hill room.
Guest House: The Sandy Hill Room–the small touches make a difference.
Guest House: You'll appreciate the full size washer & dryer if you've been on the road for a while.
Boone's Head. And yes, you can hike to the top! (Guest House)
The view from the hilltop behind the Guest House.
Whales surfacing in Bay Bulls, just a short drive from Shorelark by the Sea.
A calm summer evening.
Brightly coloured netting and a crabpot.
That's not Photoshop!
Rope, highflyers and bright floats on the wharf.
A humpback whale surfaces while feeding. Sometimes they swim just outside the harbour mouth.
Buoy or buoy!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Petty Harbour, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
SuzieHega...
Cherry Valley, Canada
2 reviews
“Couldn't ask for a more beautiful place to stay in Newfoundland!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My husband and I decided to make our first trip together (and my husband's first trip ever) to Newfoundland. When I found ShoreLark by the sea I gave Karen a call, and just from our short conversation I knew I wanted to rent from her. The two of us were so pleased when we arrived at our cozy little nest. Karen had provided us with a breakfast package I pre-ordered from her so we could wake up the next morning and have a lovely meal. I can't express how nice it was to have a couple who take such pride in their rentals, you would have thought we were the first couple to stay in the place! It was spotless, and so nicely decorated. When we decide to travel out east again, we know that our first thought will be to book with ShoreLark by the sea. I don't think our stay would have been so incredible if it weren't for the incredible hospitality, wonderful accommodations, and beautiful scenery ShoreLark by the sea gave us. Thanks again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2013
Thanks you for the kind words Suzi! We were so happy to have you and Josh spend some much deserved R&R with ShoreLark! It was wonderful to meet you...have a Merry Christmas with your little girls and all the best in 2014!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Hi Adrienne! Thank you for your review! So happy you guys enjoyed your stay - it was lovely chatting with you from time to time! All the best to you both...we hope you come back to ShoreLark too!!

K&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birdmanof...
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top of the Rock”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

ShoreLark by the Sea Nests was our home for one night this past week while on a week long tour of Newfoundland. It was 150% of what we wanted. Situated on one of the best lots in famous Petty Harbour, this two story gem has some of the best views in town. We stayed on the upper level of the two available suites, the front deck has spectacular 180 degree vistas to the ocean with icebergs and whales, and back into town overlooking the beautiful homes and fishing boats.

Inside was awesome. The one bedroom layout has been cleverly designed to offer windows that allow one to capture the ocean and harbour views from every room. The kitchen and livingroom face the ocean and the bedroom & bathroom are super bright and airy too. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, with washer dryer, is big and roomy.

The suite is well furnished with clean and fresh selections and nothing is missing. The fully equipped kitchen had everything we needed, including the often needed spices and staples for a home cooked meal.....right down to the ziplock bags for the leftovers.

Karen and David, proud builders and owners, dropped by for a visit to make sure we were happy and comfortable, and it was very evident that they take tremendous pride in this property and were very helpful with offering their knowledge on Petty Harbour and the area in general.

We will stay there again when we return to Newfoundland, and will be super happy to visit the SeaNest again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the home and the construction.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2013
WOW, David....we are thrilled that you had such a positive experience and really "got" what we are offering our guests - in every way!! We really enjoyed meeting you and Elenor and were so blown away when we saw Elenor's painting she did of the Nests!!! What talent! Please come back again -next time for longer! Take care and all the best!

K&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ON
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2012
Hi L & J....We were so happy to be able to get you guys in so you could have a little break from your camping. Please come and stay again...a little longer!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Whiteway
Reviewed 14 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2012
Thank you for this! We are so glad you were able to spend a little time with us and that you enjoyed your view in the Upper Nest. We hope your "me time" was everything you needed it to be! We can all use some every now and then ;) !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matz1969
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Hallo Mats,

Danke für die schöne Kritik, wir sind froh, dass Sie sich hier wieder in Petty Harbour genießen. Sie sind die ersten Gäste in allen drei Einheiten waren! Es war toll, Sie beide wieder zu sehen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris461
Val d'Or, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Merci Beaucoup Doris!! Thanks for staying with Shorelark - we are so glad you enjoyed your Nest and had everything you needed! Hope to see you again! K & D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing