We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great appartment in a great setting”
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Approaching the Nests from a small boat. The Nests through sun and fog!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Approaching the Nests from a small boat.
The Nests through sun and fog!
ShoreLak by the Sea Nests
There's the Nests, right next to the fishing boats!
Whales frequently swim just outside the harbour mouth.
Hello! And welcome!
Looking out the harbour from the Upper Nest.
One of the views from your Nest kitchen, looking up the harbour.
Looking out the harbour from the Upper Nest deck.
You can buy them on the wharf...15 minutes from ocean to table!
Your key to a relaxing holiday!
Upper Nest, open concept living room and kitchen.
The harbour is at your door…
Bright and spacious. (Upper Nest)
A fully equipped 'Martha Stewart' kitchen. (Upper Nest)
Everything you need. (Upper Nest)
Tea, coffee, spices, all the basics will be there for you.
A comfy chaise longue to stretch out on.  (Upper Nest)
Guides, maps, whats on where and how to get there!
A warm throw for a cool evening. (Upper Nest)
A comfy queen size bed and memory foam mattress.  (Upper Nest)
Fall asleep to the sound of the waves… (Upper Nest)
And wake up to them too! (Upper Nest)
Fresh sea air all around you… (Upper Nest)
One of the views from the Nest bedrooms.
You can pick blueberries just outside your bedroom!
It's there for when you need it!
A full-size washer and dryer are are there for you too! (Upper Nest)
Luxurious towels, soaps, and even bath salts! (Upper Nest)
You can see whales all the time!
Kitchen and living room. (Lower Nest)
Location is everything! (Upper Nest)
Spacious and bright. (Lower Nest)
The harbour is just outside the door… (Lower Nest)
Perfect after a long hike: a queen sized, memory foam mattress!  (Lower Nest)
People always ask us 'Where did you get that light?! (Lower Nest)
Wardrobe, mirror, towels and soaps, it's all there. (Lower Nest)
Full size washer and dryer! Perfect!  (Lower Nest)
(Lower Nest)
Location is everything! (Lower Nest)
ShoreLark Guest House is located just a couple of minutes walk from the harbour.
You can keep an eye on what's happening down in the harbour… (Guest House)
The Guest House has a commanding view of the harbour.
Sit back and relax…after your hike! (Guest House)
Sit back and relax…after your hike, and watch the activities down in the harbour. (Guest House)
Guest House: Step into your home away from home!
Guest House: Welcome!
Your keys to a relaxing holiday!
Guest House: There's 1400 sq. ft. for you to relax in!
Guest House: Fully equipped kitchen with all the pots & pans, dinnerware, etc. you need. Spices too!
Guest House: Detail is everything!!
Guest House: To help you get going in the morning...
Guest House: Some of the sites you can see on your trip.
Stroll down to the harbour and buy a few fresh-caught lobsters on the wharf…
Guest House: Both kitchen & living room are open. Lots of room and no tripping over each other!
Guest House: Open concept kitchen & living room–perfect for two couples to relax in.
Guest House: spacious open concept to relax in after a busy day.
Guest House: Welcome aboard!!
Guest House: some eclectic reading as well as warm blankets for sitting outside on a cooler evening.
Guest House: Sit and watch some TV with a nice 'fire' going.
Guest House: A fireplace for romance in the Harbour Room!
Guest House: The Harbour Room–you can see the harbour from your window.
Guest House: The Harbour Room.
Guest House: The Harbour Room...small details add to your comfort.
Guest House: The Harbour Room is bright and spacious.
Guest House: The Harbour Room has a memory foam queen size mattress, soft linens, and full wardrobe.
Guest House: a large bathroom with soaker tub, and fluffy towels for four!
Guest House: Lots of space for your stuff!
Guest House: There's even Epsom salts for the bath!
Guest House
Guest House
Yes, why not a chandelier in the bathroom?!
Guest House: down the hall are the laundry room, bathroom and the Sandy Hill Room. Lots of privacy!
Our 2 bedroom Guest House : Sandy Hill room! Soothing sleeps!
Sandy Hill room.
Sandy Hill room.
Guest House: The Sandy Hill Room–the small touches make a difference.
Guest House: You'll appreciate the full size washer & dryer if you've been on the road for a while.
Boone's Head. And yes, you can hike to the top! (Guest House)
The view from the hilltop behind the Guest House.
Whales surfacing in Bay Bulls, just a short drive from Shorelark by the Sea.
A calm summer evening.
Brightly coloured netting and a crabpot.
That's not Photoshop!
Rope, highflyers and bright floats on the wharf.
A humpback whale surfaces while feeding. Sometimes they swim just outside the harbour mouth.
Buoy or buoy!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Petty Harbour, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Guilleret
Renews, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great appartment in a great setting”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013

I spent two days at the Shorelark by the sea in early July 2013 (normally, it is at least 3 days but they had a hole of two days in their schedule). I was in the middle of my hike along the East Coast Trail. The appartment and Petty Harbour were certainly one of the highlights of my three-week stay in Newfoundland. The appartment is very cute (even better than the pictures show). It is very simple but very practical, comfortable, and with stunning views from all windows (on four sides) and the balcony. And Karen was very welcoming. I recommend the appartment I had, on the upper (and last) floor. Petty Harbour is also a plus. It is still a fishing village. There is nice hiking right from the village. And there is a good restaurant right in the middle of the village. In short, if you go to the east coast of Newfoundland, do not miss Petty Harbour and the Shorelark by the sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2014
Thanks so much Gisele! It was very nice chatting with you. Glad you enjoyed your hike and the time contemplating life on your Upper Nest deck ;) !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Wow Lauri!! You should come back to stay at ShoreLark........and write a book! Such a lovely way with words! All the best to you and your family...we certainly hope to see you again. K&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Md USA
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thanks Holly! Nice to see you saved the best til last ;)!
We are so happy you stayed with us! Take care, K&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Hi Susan,
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Petty Harbour and that you had everything you needed in your little Nest!

Take care, K&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Happyviki...
Scarborough, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Major chillout”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Wanted a place to chill out, relax after a very busy few weeks working over here. Couldn't have found a better spot and hosts. Absolutely superb. Shame I never found this place earlier and a shame to have to leave and head to the real world.
The hosts were very ameniable and full of very helpfull advice, David certainely knows his quality beers.
The accomodation was clean and in very good condition with a well equiped kitchen. There is a large bathroom and good views up the hills at the back from the bedroom.
Great to sit on the balcony with a beer and feel the world go by.
There is a small store in the village itself and a supermarket only a short drive away.
Very good access to this section of the East Coast Path.
Only thing missing is a decent waterside pub in the village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole chilled ambiance of the area
Liked least: A waterside pub in the village would have been good
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
Hi James....well we certainly look forward to seeing you again...and maybe having a pint too!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S-709
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Back in December, I was feeling a little overwhelmed by the Christmas rush and really needed to escape from the city for a while! I was looking for something within driving distance of St. John's, but someplace quiet, where I could forget about busy shopping malls and noisy traffic.

ShoreLark by the Sea was the perfect place! My partner and I stayed in the Upper Nest. When we arrived, we saw that the owners, Karen and David, had ensured that we would have a warm welcome. The Nest was already heated, and they had even decorated it for the holidays for us! We immediately felt at home, and were blown away by the attention the owners had given to furnishing and decorating the Nest. There were cozy quilts on the bed, bath salts and candles for the deep soaker tub, etc. We took advantage of the fully equipped kitchen and enjoyed a lovely supper overlooking peaceful Petty Harbour. The view was incredible. We had such a wonderful experience that we didn't want to leave!

We would definitely recommend ShoreLark by the Sea! It's modern, yet quaint. A beautiful seaside retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! We were so happy to be able to do this for you guys! It made OUR spirits bright...knowing that we could help provide a bit of "peace on earth"for a little while!
K&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$124
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing