We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“…loved our short stay in the Upper Nest…next...”
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Approaching the Nests from a small boat. The Nests through sun and fog!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Shore Lark by the Sea Nests!!
Approaching the Nests from a small boat.
The Nests through sun and fog!
ShoreLak by the Sea Nests
There's the Nests, right next to the fishing boats!
Whales frequently swim just outside the harbour mouth.
Hello! And welcome!
Looking out the harbour from the Upper Nest.
One of the views from your Nest kitchen, looking up the harbour.
Looking out the harbour from the Upper Nest deck.
You can buy them on the wharf...15 minutes from ocean to table!
Your key to a relaxing holiday!
Upper Nest, open concept living room and kitchen.
The harbour is at your door…
Bright and spacious. (Upper Nest)
A fully equipped 'Martha Stewart' kitchen. (Upper Nest)
Everything you need. (Upper Nest)
Tea, coffee, spices, all the basics will be there for you.
A comfy chaise longue to stretch out on.  (Upper Nest)
Guides, maps, whats on where and how to get there!
A warm throw for a cool evening. (Upper Nest)
A comfy queen size bed and memory foam mattress.  (Upper Nest)
Fall asleep to the sound of the waves… (Upper Nest)
And wake up to them too! (Upper Nest)
Fresh sea air all around you… (Upper Nest)
One of the views from the Nest bedrooms.
You can pick blueberries just outside your bedroom!
It's there for when you need it!
A full-size washer and dryer are are there for you too! (Upper Nest)
Luxurious towels, soaps, and even bath salts! (Upper Nest)
You can see whales all the time!
Kitchen and living room. (Lower Nest)
Location is everything! (Upper Nest)
Spacious and bright. (Lower Nest)
The harbour is just outside the door… (Lower Nest)
Perfect after a long hike: a queen sized, memory foam mattress!  (Lower Nest)
People always ask us 'Where did you get that light?! (Lower Nest)
Wardrobe, mirror, towels and soaps, it's all there. (Lower Nest)
Full size washer and dryer! Perfect!  (Lower Nest)
(Lower Nest)
Location is everything! (Lower Nest)
ShoreLark Guest House is located just a couple of minutes walk from the harbour.
You can keep an eye on what's happening down in the harbour… (Guest House)
The Guest House has a commanding view of the harbour.
Sit back and relax…after your hike! (Guest House)
Sit back and relax…after your hike, and watch the activities down in the harbour. (Guest House)
Guest House: Step into your home away from home!
Guest House: Welcome!
Your keys to a relaxing holiday!
Guest House: There's 1400 sq. ft. for you to relax in!
Guest House: Fully equipped kitchen with all the pots & pans, dinnerware, etc. you need. Spices too!
Guest House: Detail is everything!!
Guest House: To help you get going in the morning...
Guest House: Some of the sites you can see on your trip.
Stroll down to the harbour and buy a few fresh-caught lobsters on the wharf…
Guest House: Both kitchen & living room are open. Lots of room and no tripping over each other!
Guest House: Open concept kitchen & living room–perfect for two couples to relax in.
Guest House: spacious open concept to relax in after a busy day.
Guest House: Welcome aboard!!
Guest House: some eclectic reading as well as warm blankets for sitting outside on a cooler evening.
Guest House: Sit and watch some TV with a nice 'fire' going.
Guest House: A fireplace for romance in the Harbour Room!
Guest House: The Harbour Room–you can see the harbour from your window.
Guest House: The Harbour Room.
Guest House: The Harbour Room...small details add to your comfort.
Guest House: The Harbour Room is bright and spacious.
Guest House: The Harbour Room has a memory foam queen size mattress, soft linens, and full wardrobe.
Guest House: a large bathroom with soaker tub, and fluffy towels for four!
Guest House: Lots of space for your stuff!
Guest House: There's even Epsom salts for the bath!
Guest House
Guest House
Yes, why not a chandelier in the bathroom?!
Guest House: down the hall are the laundry room, bathroom and the Sandy Hill Room. Lots of privacy!
Our 2 bedroom Guest House : Sandy Hill room! Soothing sleeps!
Sandy Hill room.
Sandy Hill room.
Guest House: The Sandy Hill Room–the small touches make a difference.
Guest House: You'll appreciate the full size washer & dryer if you've been on the road for a while.
Boone's Head. And yes, you can hike to the top! (Guest House)
The view from the hilltop behind the Guest House.
Whales surfacing in Bay Bulls, just a short drive from Shorelark by the Sea.
A calm summer evening.
Brightly coloured netting and a crabpot.
That's not Photoshop!
Rope, highflyers and bright floats on the wharf.
A humpback whale surfaces while feeding. Sometimes they swim just outside the harbour mouth.
Buoy or buoy!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Petty Harbour, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
James B
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“…loved our short stay in the Upper Nest…next visit to St. John’s will not be complete without staying there.”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in May 2015

Hi Karen, We were glad we were finally able to meet with you before our trip came to an end. We absolutely loved our short stay in the Upper Nest. Our next visit to St. John’s will not be complete without staying there. You have thought about all the little things that one doesn’t really think about while away from home. Petty Harbour is a beautiful spot, with small town charm and only a short drive to the city. Everything you could ask for. The view is amazing from the deck, and when the wind is blowing, not bad from inside either. We are looking forward to another trip to Twillingate next year, and we are trying to find any excuse to stay in the city, even for a night. Until next time…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving to go back to the real world
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2016
Thanks so much James! Twingingate is sooo nice - you will enjoy it for sure ...and of course - we would love for you to stay at Shorelark again! Happy New Year to you both!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andpets
Lucknow
2 reviews
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015

We spent 3 nights here. It was so relaxing. They truly thought of everything! Such a beautiful location looking over the harbour. Great location for sightseeing, close to St. John's and to whalewatching! Great little restaurant just down the road, marine museum across the road and nice little store across the harbour. Everyone was so friendly. The Shorelark had everthing you could think of, right down to laundry in the unit. Bar-b-q, awesome deck, well stocke kitchen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just how relaxing it was!
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2016
Thanks guys! So happy that your son recommended us to you! Wonderful to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! Cheers K&D!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEREMY S
GRAND RAPIDS
1 review
“Once again this place has taken my breath away”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in April 2015

Thanks again for another great time here. It’s such a wonderful area and truly one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. The trails surrounding Petty Harbour are incredible. Once again this place has taken my breath away.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2016
Hi Jeremy! It was such good news when we heard all you guys were coming to Petty Harbour again! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. All the best in 2016 - K&D!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We want to stay again”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My partner and I had a fun time staying here. We made the most of our nature-oriented trip to NFLD. We stayed on the first floor nest for 4 nights and did not buy a single meal out. We were able to make all our meals in the kitchen and on the BBQ on our patio.
The pictures speak 1000 words, the property and apt was emasculate. The design was so well thought out; you can tell it is loved. We were welcomed by our hosts, who were always just a quick e-mail away (with superman response-times).
Aside from the stay itself, the surrounding areas offer something for everyone. We went hiking, walking, climbing, and on boat rides. If you want, there is also ATV rentals, Skidoo rentals, and zip lining in nearby communities.
Enjoy! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Hi Emma,

Very glad you enjoyed your stay at ShoreLark so much, and that you took full advantage of the kitchen and BBQ and, of course, the deck! Thank you for the lovely review, we’re always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves. (Be sure to like us on Facebook!) We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy or...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Accommodations we're amazing, everything that their website said was true. Very clean and comfortable. I wish I could have stayed at Shorelark for our entire stay in Newfoundland. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Front deck with a view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Hello Cathy and Mark,

That you wish you could have stayed at ShoreLark for your whole trip is great to hear–and of course, next time you can!! Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bfly327
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a wonderful way to be introduced to Newfoundland! Thank you Karen and David for providing such a lovely "home away from home"! Pristine and everything you could need plus more! We loved sitting on the Upper Nest deck after a day of hiking and visiting St John's ( a very short drive into the city) . My words could not do justice to our experience, so let me just say I highly recommend this unit to anyone (lots of stairs but so worth it folks!!) . It was an "I wish we had just one more day" vacations....grateful!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Hello

”It was an "I wish we had just one more day" vacation”. We know just what you mean! We do have the best decks in the Harbour! Glad to know you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Canada
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thank you so much guys!!! Your daughter is a part of a big thing here in Petty Harbour! They had over 19,000 visits during the 2014 season - fantastic!!! Hope to see you both again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing