We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive shops with anything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maine Street

Maine Street
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This downtown main street has restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
645 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Attractive shops with anything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

So much nicer than ugly shopping malls - many unusual stores, less chain and more independent. Worth browsing and a walk on the campus too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A broad and historic main street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Maine Street in Brunswick is the widest main street for a smallish town that I know. It leads from the Androscoggin River - fast flowing over a dam when water is high -- and a historic mill building with interesting businesses including an antique shop -- at the north end, to a green mall, the historic First Parish Church and Bowdoin College (and beyond) at the south. There are restaurants almost beyond counting! The First Parish Church -- of very intricate wooden construction -- is where supposedly Harriet Beecher Stowe was inspired to write "Uncle Tom's Cabin."

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired-engineer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Train Rides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Take the train from Brunswick to Rockland Maine. A great trip along the coast and through the countryside. You can see lots by rail that you cannot see by car. Take the trip north along the coast, have lunch in Rockland and then return to points south. Or stay a night or two and take the train back after a little rest and relaxation. www.maineeasternrailroad.com

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If your looking for a lovely New England street to stroll/shop/eat this is a great choice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Lots of restaurants, quaint stores, and lovely architecture.

While the stores are not open late, some do seem to stay open later than in the surrounding towns.

They have surprising number of international restaurants, and best of all, I don't remember seeing any chain restaurants!

The amount of time you'll want to send here will depend entirely on how much shopping and eating you want to do. I imagine we could have walked the street and back in 30 minutes, if we wanted to. But we spent an evening there and only made it into two stores and two restaurants (pizza and gelato), before everything started to close for the night. Next time we will go earlier and allow ourselves more time for browsing through the stores.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun stores to explore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Maine Street is about 1/2 mile long and has interesting stores and restaurants on both sides of the street. We just window shopped as we were only in Brunswick for one day, but wished we had had a couple of days.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maine Street also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
 

Been to Maine Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing