We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable B&B”
Review of The Brunswick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brunswick Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Brunswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Adorable B&B”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was only here for one night, but what a lovely B&B! The staff was incredibly friendly and allowed me to switch to a room with two beds on very late notice. Room itself was *enormous* and very comfy. The morning breakfast was good and the staff were accommodating of my vegan diet. I really appreciated how friendly and welcoming the staff were, would love to come back in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynGretel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    33
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
76
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkins, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Brunswick Inn (not to be confused with the Inn at Brunswick Station) several times per year, for the past four years that my daughter has been playing sports at Bowdoin College.When our adult children joined us, we gathered in the living room for wine and conversation in front of the fire, or enjoyed breakfast together, also in front of the cozy fireplace. The beautiful artwork gracing the walls, the unique historical setting of the home, the excellent breakfast offerings, and the warm hospitality of the Innkeeper all combine to provide a most enjoyable experience for the patrons.
Hopefully this review will encourage others to enjoy this gem in midcoast Maine!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you are visiting Brunswick, Maine, you need look no further than The Brunswick Inn for a comfortable and centrally located spot. It is in the heart of downtown and near Bowdoin College and the train station. The inn is set back apart from the main street by beautiful park. Lots of great magazines and books to peruse in the living room, made more cozy by the fire made by the excellent proprietor Eileen. Despite our booking for the wrong dates we were quickly accommodated in an excellent room. Breakfast was very good. Everyone we met was pleasant and helpful. If we find ourselves in the area, we know where to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllstonHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The wifi is fast, the place is close to nice restaurants, they leave you alone, lots of privacy and comfortable rooms. The breakfast is wonderful as well. No complaints. Will keep going back. Brunswick is a good central place to stay in Maine.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank babel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I can't believe I haven't written a review for this wonderful B&B yet! We have stayed there twice, once when we got engaged and then again as part of our honeymoon. Our first stay was in Room 3 which was just wonderful and overlooked the park. On our second stay we were in Room 4 which was a lot smaller. To give the staff credit they heard we were there as part of our honeymoon and offered to upgrade us to a carriage house suite. We preferred to stay in the main house so we declined their gracious offer. It should be noted that the carriage house is steps away, it's just our preference to stay in the main house.

The staff is beyond welcoming and gracious without being obtrusive. The inn is directly across the street from the park where there are food trucks, farmers markets and it gets flooded in the winter for skating. It is also blocks away from fantastic restaurants. We love Henry and Marty and cute wine bar Enoteca Athena (on our next trip we will try their parent restaurant Trattoria Athena).

Cute little shops line the street. We spent a whole day just walking around and had plenty to do. At the end of the day we found ourselves on their cute porch sipping a glass of wine. Perfect!

PS - please do not confuse this inn with the Inn at Brunswick Station which seems nice but is a hotel and does not compare.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneC470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I highly recommend Brunswick Inn. In the middle of downtown Brunswick, friendly and helpful staff, and a cozy house with lots of character. The carriage house is perfect for the cold season, since it has been recently renovated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdaviekess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are repeat guests at this fine Inn in what may become a traditional visit to this terrific town and these wonderful accommodations. We had stayed here last year and had such a great time that we decided to make a repeat stay and bring up some additional friends to experience this little bit of New England. This is a beautiful historic Inn, nicely appointed and well situated on the green in a quiet neighborhood. The house is just a pleasure to behold and is such a nice, warm friendly place to stay. The staff is exemplary in there attention to detail and in making your stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible. We have stayed some B&B's in New England and this is by far the best. One of the things I like best is the fact that this is a true Inn with large rooms and many warm and enticing fire places, which during a cool New England evening are such a pleasure to be around. The guest rooms are nicely furnished and the linens first rate, and the breakfast is some of the best I could ever wish for.
If you have the chance, be sure to walk around Brunswick's main street and the beautiful Bowdoin Campus. Make a point of visiting the Joshua Chamberlain House; home of a former Bowdoin Professor and President, a Governor of Maine and a true American Hero. In a world so bereft of admirable leadership, Joshua Chamberlain stands out as a shining example of courage and noble character. The Brunswick Inn and town is a must for anyone looking for a true New England/Down /East experience

Room Tip: Talk to Eileen the Inn Keeper about the type of room and your expectations. I am sure she will do e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
0.4 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#2 of 11 in Brunswick
238 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Inn

Property: The Brunswick Inn
Address: 165 Park Row, Brunswick, ME 04011-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Brunswick Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunswick Inn is located in the charming New England town of Brunswick, Maine, 20 minutes north of Portland and 2 hours north of Boston. Situated on the picturesque village green, the Inn is just steps away from Bowdoin College and the town’s wonderful array of shops and restaurants. Boasting the charm of Federal-style architecture, the rooms also have all the appointments and conveniences that the modern, discerning traveler expects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brunswick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brunswick Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing