We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Brunswick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brunswick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Brunswick Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Brunswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The place to stay in Brunswick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We enjoyed two lovely nights last week at the Brunswick Inn (not to be confused with the Brunswick Hotel & Tavern) in connection with the International Music Festival at Bowdoin. What a relaxing, welcoming place to stay! The owner, Eileen, and hostess, Anna, were extremely cordial and warm. We were served a delicious breakfast both mornings. Our room was very attractive while still feeling homey and comfortable. The location is central in the town, providing access both to Bowdoin as well as the commercial strip in the opposite direction. Eileen provided excellent suggestions for places to eat as well as for good hiking options. We would certainly return to this inn.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in,Room 2, was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    33
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
74
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I often have out of town family visiting now that we have a young child, so we stopped at the Brunswick Inn to check it out and see if it's a place we should recommend. Anne was so thoughtful and accommodating. We had drinks on their deck and she was kind of enough to bring us a couple things to munch on and a wonderful muffin for our daughter. The Inn was lovely and clean, and the view from the deck is perfect as it looks right out on the town mall. A perfect place to stay for an event, or just to relax and watch the world go by. We have recommended this inn to family and know they will be happy and very comfortable staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerMaine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My sister and I were in the area looking for property and decided to stay at the inn. We were kindly greeted by two young women and they were very helpful in suggesting places to eat dinner. We stayed in room 8, a suite with a queen bed and 2 twin beds. The bathroom was nicely decorated and the rooms were clean and inviting.The breakfast was delicious...scrambled eggs with spinach and feta and also blueberry pancakes. There was also fresh fruit, muffins and yogurt with yummy granola on a buffet table to help yourself. The inn keeper was very nice.. talking to us at breakfast. We had a nice experience at this inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband has begun joking that all our vacations are planned according to the savings I find on various websites that offer discounted vouchers. Though we were saving money, we were treated as welcome guests and given gracious, professional service throughout our three day weekend stay. We stayed in the Main House, rooms 4 and 5, and found both comfortable with all the amenities you need, though the bathroom in the 'Red Room' was more charming and spacious. Wendy was our go-to person for local advice and her effervescent personality made conversations enormously fun. The entire staff was warm, friendly and totally accommodating to any request we had.
Breakfasts were amazing. The first morning we served ourselves the fresh fruit, homemade muffins, juice and coffee that we assumed was the buffet breakfast only to discover that there were several made to order breakfast choices that changed daily.

We visited Brunswick during their Music Festival and were completely charmed by the sounds of musical rehearsals emitting from other rooms in the Inn. Joshua Chamberlain's house is a quick walk from the Inn; so is the Peary-MacMillan ArcticMuseum at Hubbard Hall in Bowdoin College. A stroll down Maine Street, across the village green, and you encounter unique shops with all things Mainiac (Check out the chocolate shop and Cool Moose). Finally, the Cabot Mill Antique Mall is also just a short walk from the Brunswick but take your car for your visit because you will certainly find a bunch of stuff to fill up your backseat.
We would most certainly recommend this lovely Inn to Maine visitors and plan to make it our destination again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 5, listed as the least expensive and cozy room, is quiet, charming and very suitable for a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolnurseJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, OH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on July 5th. Our room was very comfortable--especially the bed. Hostess was very welcoming and explained all the features of the inn. Great location on green within walking distance of Bowdoin College and many restaurants. Breakfast offered a choice of a sweet or savory entree as well as eggs any way. Fruit, granola, baked goods, etc completed the meal. They also have a bar which is nice for an afternoon drink if desired.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked The Brunswick Inn for a 50th anniversary celebration...It could not have been more perfect. Our party of 20 enjoyed cocktails and appetizers out on the front porch and in the garden area. The private dining room which was also the bar area was just the right size for our 2 tables of 10. The owner Eileen, catering manager Alane and staff were wonderful to work with and accomodated every wish from the family to make the celebration special. Although it is not open to the public for dinner - all of our dinners came out in a timely fashion and the food was excellent! It truly made the anniversary special to have such a place to accommodate our group.We did not have a chance to see the rooms but I heard they were wonderful from guests that were staying there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieann60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petitcodiac, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive and found the inn very inviting and lovely. We were greeted and taken to our room, on the third floor but it was very, very hot. After the A/C was turned on it did eventually cool down by the next morning.

The breakfasts were delicious and the staff were all very pleasant.

The few issues we did have were rectified quite quickly by the owner.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
0.4 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Inn

Property: The Brunswick Inn
Address: 165 Park Row, Brunswick, ME 04011-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Brunswick Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunswick Inn is located in the charming New England town of Brunswick, Maine, 20 minutes north of Portland and 2 hours north of Boston. Situated on the picturesque village green, the Inn is just steps away from Bowdoin College and the town’s wonderful array of shops and restaurants. Boasting the charm of Federal-style architecture, the rooms also have all the appointments and conveniences that the modern, discerning traveler expects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brunswick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brunswick Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing