We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience for whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Slot Car Junction

Slot Car Junction
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience for whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a wonderful surprise. Kids will love this. Our 7 and 9 year old girls had a great time. For adults, it's a walk down memory lane for anyone who experienced the thrill of slot car racing back in the 1970s. A great, quick, cheap entertainment. 30 minutes is all you need for loads of fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
381 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS THE BOAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Although we're talking cars. Slot cars to be exact. (Unless you're also there for AN AMAZING SELECTION OF TOYS FOR ALL AGES!!! AT FASCINATION STATION). I make it a point to drop in at least once a month - with family, with friends, alone... - to pit my skills (no pun intended...well, maybe) against other racers (everyone from 8 to 80, and everything in between) AND I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYONE WALK OUT OF HERE WITH LESS THAN A HUGE SMILE ON THEIR FACE! And whether you're 8 or 80 the "pit crew" is always present, always pleasant, and always so patient (particularly with younger racers) and always there to make sure you walk out with that huge smile.

The best thing is families of all ages can race together - I know, I do it and have seen countless others do the same (ALL with glee in their eyes) - and there's no better feeling (on the cheap; in the best sense of the word) than that.

One last thing: I've been to other slot car tracks and Slot Car Junction wins (by a long shot) in my opinion, hands down!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
381 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Let's get this straight and right off the bat: Slot Car Junction and Fascination Station are one and the same. Slot Car Junction - now with a much bigger (and much better) track - used to be downstairs and moved upstairs now over a year ago and opened Fascination Station. When I say they have something for everyone, I really mean: EVERYONE. Young, old, and in between! I had friends visiting from out of town last weekend - a lovely couple with two small children - and not only did everyone walk out happy but everyone bought and walked out with something special....including huge smiles! You name it, they got it. I especially enjoyed watching my thirty-something friend "race" slot cars with his 5. Year old daughter....priceless!

Helpful?
1 Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slot Car Racing is great for a family outing -- we're newbies but had fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We've never been slot car racing and didn't know what to expect...found a very welcoming store front in the Tontine Mall off Maine Street with a racing car track of electric cars that you race around a 20' long track with lots of twists and turns. $5 for 10 minutes of $10 for 30 minutes -- the four of us (Mom, Dad, and 2 kids 10 and 13) raced little electric cars to see who had the most nerves of steel using the electric racing controls. My car kept flying off the track since I was trying to win. The owner was very nice and get us some lessons. If you can 45 minutes stop on in for some old fashioned fun.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ijamsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
381 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“BIGGER, BETTER, AND TONS MORE FUN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Slot Car Junction has just expanded and moved to more spacious quarters - still in the Tontine Mall but now upstairs across from Wild Oats Bakery - not only with a much bigger and more challenging track (fantastic!) but have also opened Fascination Station with toys, toys, and more toys. And not just any toys but many educational ones too From toys which make you think (from all over the world) to stuffed animals which come with story books, the selection of items, and prices, at Slot Car Junction/Fascination Station can't be beat and i could spend hours here, which i have! Great place for children (and adults) of all ages. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slot Car Junction also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Slot Car Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing