We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in downtown Brunswick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in downtown Brunswick”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This Inn/hotel offers a wonderful location to everything in downtown Brunswick - and the rooms are both clean and comfortable, offering terrific amenities! The Tavern was a great choice for breakfast and they also had a good dinner menu. I noticed the staff were mostly young, which was really great and they were all professional and super friendly too!

Green Features: I was impressed that they had separate trash and recycling containers in the room and plenty of signage encouraging guest to share in their environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    101
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
82
110
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Not only is it clean and comfortable, but it is also stylish and well appointed. It is located right in town, and within walking distance to restaurants and Bowdoin College campus, with its excellent art museum, which is open to the public. Beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Large room, kept very clean and with plenty of parking. it is well located in Brunswick and convenient to the college and railway station. If you wish to go downtown it is an easy and pleasant walk. Convenient to distance to Portland and and the seacoast of Bath and Boothbay Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have to say the hotel was immaculate! I was really impressed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we stayed two days to use the old eastern railroad to Rockland, a real treat. We had live music one night which was very good, a shame we couldn't have stayed longer as we didn't get a proper look around Brunswick, what we saw was really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent a week here while visiting family. Normally we stay at the Daniel Stone Inn, but wanted to try this new property. One warning, despite the fact that their website and email reservation acknowledgement states that for special advance purchase rates, 50% of the rate for the total stay would be due up front ( for stays 2 nights or greater), I was charged100%. When I called to call their attention to their error I was treated rudely (by Tarja) & told I was in error. I pointed out that this was their policy as stated in writing & was still told I was in error, but that they would refund half the amount until check-in. They did...great. Everything after that (room, cleanliness, service) was great...except the lobby had removed its coffee service in the lobby a few minutes before we were ready to leave for the day. My husband went to the coffee urn in their restaurant to get a cup (as we'd seen other guests do) and was told that he couldn't have a cup, because it was for restaurant patrons (keep in mind we patronized the restaurant at least twice a day during our stay). He let it go, but the next time we went to the restaurant we asked our server who they guy was & she said she wasn't sure... She apologized profusely & confirmed that he was wrong.
Other than that, our stay was great. It's a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here with my family (2 adults and 2 children under 12) in June. We needed to catch an early morning train and couldn't beat the Inn for convenience. It is literally across the street from the Amtrak station.

We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant--kids fare was fine. The adults' dinners were ok--nothing to crow about. We would have liked to have tried some of the other cuisines in Brunswick--there's Thai, German, Chinese, Irish and countless other kinds of restaurants within walking distance of the Inn. The kids liked the ice cream stand just outside the hotel.

Our corner room was nicely appointed. Relatively new furnishings. Very clean--spotlessly so. Air conditioning works well and works silently. Bathroom is spacious.

Within a 5-minute walk from the hotel is a Hannfords supermarket. We stopped in early, before our train departure, to buy a few snacks for our long train ride. Again, very convenient.

All of that convenience of the hotel's location makes it a great choice in Brunswick. Now, if the train only ran on time . . . .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offthewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My son and I had a lovely stay at the Inn July, 2013. We were visiting colleges in the area and chose the Inn because of the location. The staff were friendly. Bathroom was quite large. Bed was super comfortable. Room was very clean. A really lovely stay. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
7.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Property: The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Address: 4 Noble St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2410 (Formerly The Inn at Brunswick Station)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly adjacent to Bowdoin College and steps away from the lively downtown, The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern perfectly positions guests to take advantage of all this college town and the state's picturesque Mid-Coast region have to offer. Handsomely appointed guest rooms feature a mix of heavenly king and queen beds, spacious workstations and sleekly stylish baths. Flat screen televisions, complimentary internet access and in-room coffee add to the comfort and enjoyment. Connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brunswick Station Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Hotel And Tavern Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing