We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint and comfortable inn”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have stayed here on several visits over the years my daughter attended Bowdoin a College. Such a convenient spot, and a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. The beds are great. Most rooms are very large , though there are a few smaller- so be aware to ask if you are counting on the space. An ice machine would be a nice addition- as you have it get ice in the tavern during their hours. Nicely furnished, with adorable polar bear photos on walls. The food in the tavern is always perfectly prepared. The service is not fast, but as long as you are not in a hurry, it is nice and allows you to slow down and appreciate the ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    101
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
81
110
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Found Myself in Need of Peaceful Quiet Local to Take my mind away. I ended up Here. To my surprise, for a small coastal town, they offered Many Modern Conveniences of Big City Life. Every Creature Comfort was available.

The rooms were warm & welcoming, clean. The Staff were beyond accommodating. The Food from the Tavern was very tasty & filling.

My only complaint, is that corner room have WiFi Connectivity issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiMiLavette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrunswickHTL, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am delighted to hear that you found your peaceful quiet getaway location. We are centrally located in a region that offers something for everyone. Whether it is quiet solitude, outdoor adventure, a shopping experience, or a romantic getaway The Brunswick Hotel & Tavern is the ideal location to stay and experience it all. We have a great new Wi-Fi system that allows us to add access points as needed and will test the corner rooms to be sure we have better coverage. Thanks for commenting. Rick Martin – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights using the amazon local vouchers. Overall hotel was nice- no mini fridge but room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and bar and restaurant staff very nice. The issue came at checkout-voucher included 2 drinks per voucher but front desk gave us a hard time as we drank three cocktails sat. Afternoon and one at breakfast the next day. Four total-right? Clerk at checkout said two of the cocktails were supposed to be for Friday night. (We got in after ten pm due to traffic- not even sure tavern was still open). She claimed voucher called them "welcome cocktails" although I read voucher details several times and it did not say this- she eventually took one off the bill and I left with a confusing bill- one bill for each night-only to see we still paid $10.for the fourth drink! Very disappointing- I just wanted what we paid for. Be careful when using these type of vouchers here-

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarall0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrunswickHTL, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty with your billing. We had two Amazon voucher’s at the time for both 1 & 2 nights, with a 2 night stay the billing should have automatically taken care of your charges. The staff should have been able to easily rectify this and I will speak with them and use this as a learning opportunity. Thank you for providing your feedback. Rick Martin – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

You'd be hard pressed to find a more quintessential main street than the one in Brunswick, and this little hotel puts you right at its head.

The room I had was, by far, the largest non-suite hotel room I've ever had. I mean, it was gigantic. Everything was clean and comfortable - including the homemade whoopie pies they leave on the nightstand.

I didn't eat in the restaurant, but it looked decent. Breakfast was the usual fare. Pub gets traffic in the evening and is a nice place to have a few beers.

For the value, you won't find a better spot in Brunswick (I'm betting).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrunswickHTL, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We couldn’t agree with you more; Brunswick, named one of the “Top 20 best small towns” by Smithsonian magazine in 2012 was also designated a Main street community; as part of the National Main Street Center initiative and the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The Hotel is ideally located at the top of Maine Street and is also an ideal location when starting a trip of Maine’s Mid Coast region. Thanks for your comments; we look forward to your return visit. Rick Martin – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern was the perfect spot for our recent Board of Director’s Retreat, the location was ideal as we had folks coming from both the north and south. A great deal of planning went into the retreat and could not have been possible without the help of Brandon Hussey, the Director of Sales & Marketing. Brandon happily and quickly answered every question and inquiry regarding planning and logistics for the event. With any meeting or event, there are quite a few moving parts: meals, setup, room confirmations, etc. Brandon was extremely helpful in securing all the details to make everything happen seamlessly.

The hotel itself is extremely stunning and modern, yet still has that Maine feel with beautiful dark woods and rustic accents. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful – No request went unsatisfied. It is strikingly apparent customer service is paramount at the hotel. After my check-in, I headed to my room, which was extremely large with a king-size bed; it was incredibly comfortable and lavish. The entire building was spotless and looks brand new – Truly a great spot.

Our group had dinner in the Tavern on our first night and it was delicious. We had a pre-fixed menu with different options; however, almost everyone ordered the sirloin which was outstanding. Dessert was tasty as well; I had the gelato from a local company that was almost too good! The service was excellent; the Tavern staff made us feel welcome and were very attentive to our needs.

On the second day, our group was located in a private function room which was lovely. Again, the food and the staff were excellent. Overall, an amazing experience for our group! I would absolutely, hands-down recommend The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern. A must stay if you are visiting or holding an event!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maine_Girl_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrunswickHTL, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased your Board Retreat was such a success. We have a dedicated team that strives to exceed all of our guest’s needs. Brandon, our Chef, and entire F&B team try to make it as seamless of an experience as possible for you when planning your function. Centrally located, and adjacent to Brunswick Station and the new addition of the Amtrak train, makes us truly an ideal location for companies which have multiple locations across the State of Maine. Just a 2.5 hour train ride from Boston makes for a more focused business retreat. Maybe next time we could arrange a 2 day boat building program with our business partner, The Maine Maritime Museum. Warm Regards, Rick Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Brunswick Hotel (formerly the Inn at Brunswick Station) is a quaint hotel in the center of town next to Bowdoin College. It's location allows for walking to most locations in Brunswick. Brunswick has been in need of a hotel of the calliber for many years. We stayed 3 nights to explore the hotel as a location for our sons up coming wedding. The staff is all top notch, they care and go out of their way to make sure your visit is a pleasant one. The rooms are not the largest but they have everything you need, the beds are some of the best and the sheets some of the softest.

Rates are high, but all rates in this area are high depending on season.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel near Maine Street has the best views but also the most noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatBrunswickStatio, Director of Sales at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
TheWanders,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brunswick to further explore and also look forward to your son's wedding. Please let us know how we can help with anything in the future.

Regards,
Brandon Hussey
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kullavik
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Second time here and this time with a pretty big Swedish/Danish group. What I like with this place is that they are flexible and try the outmost to arrange things for you. When you arrive quite late with a big group it's nice that everything is prepared and that people have some food after a whole days travel. Great that this can be arranged ! So thanks to Brandon and his team for great work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrunswickHTL, Director of Sales at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Mikael,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We always look forward to welcoming your group to Brunswick! We hope to see you in the near future.

Regards,
Brandon Hussey
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
7.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Property: The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Address: 4 Noble St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2410 (Formerly The Inn at Brunswick Station)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly adjacent to Bowdoin College and steps away from the lively downtown, The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern perfectly positions guests to take advantage of all this college town and the state's picturesque Mid-Coast region have to offer. Handsomely appointed guest rooms feature a mix of heavenly king and queen beds, spacious workstations and sleekly stylish baths. Flat screen televisions, complimentary internet access and in-room coffee add to the comfort and enjoyment. Connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brunswick Station Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Hotel And Tavern Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing